Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

gernon wrote: »
    Have an awful feeling tonight will make up Suarez mind to move if Real come calling, he was gutted
    anyone else think we may have seen his last away match for us ?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Augmerson wrote: »
    I don't want to see Johnson play for us again. He faffed about all night.

He can bring Lucas with him, contributes nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Knex. wrote: »
    **** it, we'll see how Wednesday night goes, I suppose.

**** it is right !

I want some distraction please

I say we need Pandas , or how about some monkeys that be nice .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Its like being kicked in the dick and simultaneously shitting out the second coming of Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I think they did that on purpose to make sunday super tense.

Jamie talking a lot of sense here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Have an awful feeling tonight will make up Suarez mind to move if Real come calling, he was gutted

It showed me how much this club means to him. I think he will double his efforts if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

**** it, we'll see how Wednesday night goes, I suppose.

If this week is anything to go by, then City draw but we can win 15-0 against Newcastle :rolleyes:

If there is one saving grace (and I don't think there is !!), if we were 3-0 up on Sunday with a win giving us the league and did that, I'd actually emigrate or some ****ing thing. And I have a wife and new kid.

Saying that, some stupid comments on here all week about winning the league on GD and some ****ing Pool morons in the pub celebrating Palace's first goal first goal cos they backed 3-1. There was fifteen minutes left ye ****ing twats.

I've watched my last game of this season's premier league. Can't handle any more than that. 2nd place and CL next season, would have taken it at the start so it will have to do now.

****ing SIGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,791 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Well yeah, that was devastating. Ripped my heart out, etc. But that's what being a sports fan is. Things in your life that have the potential or capacity to bring great joy will always be capable of subjecting you to merciless pain.

We will kick off the final game of the league season with an outside chance of winning the league. I'd have snapped your hand off for that at the start of the season - we finished 7th last year.

Of course I desperately wanted a different outcome from the past two games but that truly is life. Sport remains the most magical, dramatic and exhilarating thing there is in this world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

rarnes1 wrote: »

I don't remember Jamie carrying this warning during the Stoke/Cardiff type games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,188 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Skrtel and Flanagan are the only defenders I want to see back next season. Skrtel has made mistakes but he hasn't had a good partner all season.

We aren't going to wither away back to 7th. Our attack is young and nowhere near it's peak. A top midfielder and re haul of the defence will have us challenging again next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I think he will be gone unfortunately. Real always want and usually get the best current player which after ronaldo (who they already have) and Messi (who they are not going to get) is Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,452 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Jez, I just checked the final scores there, last I heard on RTE News Pool were 3 up.

Talk about bottling it in the last few weeks.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

rarnes1 wrote: »

Post up a summary please. I turned off as soon as the final whistle went, couldn't bear to listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

No. If anything it's moments like tonight that make teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Stargate wrote: »
    **** it is right !

Just go and have a biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig ****.....and I'm not being funny either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kildare75

lads for gods sake..... remember where we have come from...last season!!!!
    the pain will ease....
    but think and be honest...would you be happy to be top with one game to go? if offered back in august...
    don't get me wrong im typing with tears...genuinely...but that's sport!!!
    and these are the same players who have gotten us to this position.........
    its not totally gone....
    its a massive kick in the you know where....
    but we have survived worse..
    Chins up ...come on..we go again.....and villa a victory would be appreciated
    regards Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Felexicon

kildare75 wrote: »
    for the love and honour...we have gone from 7th to top....
    if we loose the league, it will be to a team who have spent millions....
    tonight is a sickener for sure...but lets be honest. And forget all the fecking comments...we know our club...we know where we have come from, we still will finish at least 2nd, and we will learn.................... we will learn from this season....
    with the right investments we will improve...don't let the haters get you down...they only hate cause we are top! and that's a fact as a wise man once said,
    we probably wont finish top now alas, and I tip my hat to city if they win it.....but feck it....don't bite with the hatred coming from we all know who....
    still top of the league...YNWA

Oh the cringe is strong in this one.
    Even got a Rafa reference in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oh goodie Match of the Day is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Carragher and Neville are spot on ... but people need to remember something - you take Gerard out of that team and there's not alot of players on the field that have real experience in dealing with these types of situations. Would Chelsea have dropped those type of goals? NO. They have enough cool heads to deal with this type of pressure. Unfortunately we live and die by the sword of attacking football, not seen since the Kevin Keegan era.

We looked far more patient than we did against Chelsea, we learned from that experience, We were excellent for 70 odd minutes. But the pressure is something completely different when you begin to slip. A little naive too ... Neville spotted it immediately ... Coutinho should have kicked the legs off Balaisse as soon as he was getting away.

Its a sickener, one that will take a while to recover from. But it is also a learning experience. Still been a great season lads ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭flanzer

8lfmz.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I've never been more happy to see beer in my fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kildare75

Felexicon wrote: »
    Oh the cringe is strong in this one.
    Even got a Rafa reference in

no cringe..just truth...look at table mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Augmerson wrote: »
    I don't want to see Johnson play for us again. He faffed about all night.

Was excellent for 70 odd minutes. He was sharp and looked like he identified the threat of Bolaisse early on and was enjoying a battle with him. but of course therein lies the problem with Glen and the team itself - like a rolls royce going forward at times and his cutting edge was really sharp tonight, but going towards his own goal in the last 20 he was everything you do not want to see in a defender ... defend first, go forward second. Amazing to think that England will have him playing as first choice in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭flanzer

I've never been more happy to see beer in my fridge.

I'm on some Double IPA, 8.9% alc. It's easing the pain I tell ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭brevity

5starpool wrote: »
    Post up a summary please. I turned off as soon as the final whistle went, couldn't bear to listen to it.

No communication between Sahko, Ming and Skrtel.
    Sahko and Skrtel don't move out from defence fast enough and invite teams onto them.

I know Jamie said he didn't want to be a sub this year but would have been nice to have him around with all this knowledge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Our defence hasn't been good enough all year. We are where are we are because of our midfield & strikers, our defense is second rate.

Some cheerleaders in here refused to accept it during the season & have just wanted more goals etc, but our defending is just appalling and was always likely to cost us the league title.

First part of your post is bang on, second part needlessly inflames by citing "cheer Leaders" like as if you've been the sole voice of reason all year in the face of the lunatic fringe.

Who were the these defensive cheerleaders you speak of , there might have been the odd post bigging up individual defensive performances by Skrtel or Sakho in the face of some unfair criticism but I struggle to remember anyone saying they were happy with the defense as a whole.

If you cut out the point scoring crap every time we slip up you'd get a lot less static in here Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,108 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

flanzer wrote: »
    I'm on some Double IPA, 8.9% alc. It's easing the pain I tell ya!

I've a very long 4 hours left at work to muddle through :-/

meme_don__t_let_them_see_you_cry_old_boy_png_by_mfsyrcm-d58vriu.png

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Stargate wrote: »
    **** it is right !

qI1CIwp.gif?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

No. If anything it's moments like tonight that make teams.

I agree with you its games like this when you see the emotion on his face makes you think he will stay