Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Is it bad that I want a Toyota IQ? :o

Na I wanted one for ages, they were and still are a little too expensive though for me, the ones on donedeal never seem to sell either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I just washed my car using the old school, one bucket method:D
    I'm sure MM will be along shortly to admonish me:pac:
    There is more tar on my car than there is on some roads! The one plus of owning a black car, no detar necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Dord wrote: »
    It'll grow some hair on ye boy! :pac::P

I'm hairy enough a it is. :p
    I can drink rum and ages ales (30%+) no bother but there's something about whiskey that my mouth can't handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

So.. superb gone, e36 going later today hopefully (guy coming to look at it this evening).....

Looks like there may be another "cleveland's not rocket" thread soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Great man, hope you got a good price :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Great man, hope you got a good price :)

An acceptable price, above what I would have gotten for the 535d so all in all I came out well from my swap in January.

I'm looking to replace it now. Currently looking at cadillac STS's but there aren't all that many even in the UK.

An acceptable price, above what I would have gotten for the 535d so all in all I came out well from my swap in January.

I'm looking to replace it now. Currently looking at cadillac STS's but there aren't all that many even in the UK.

Great to hear :)

Cadillac STS, never heard of them. Looks like the CTS's little brother or something?

What about a Volvo AE/340/86?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

As posted yesterday. You all over dude. ;)

://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jeep-srt8-6-1-v8/6786952

Big Nasty wrote: »

stock-photo--man-running-out-trough-the-door-93931906.jpg

I presume he's already gone :D

Great to hear :)

Cadillac STS, never heard of them. Looks like the CTS's little brother or something?

What about a Volvo AE/340/86?
    These http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cadillac_sts
    CTS would be grand also, but that's fwd and the STS is rwd
    Like this: even though it is only a v6
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/cadillac-cts/6660300
    Big Nasty wrote: »

Looking to spend no more than 15-20% of the asking price of that tbh. Cool jeep though, ripe for commercial conversion!

Alan, your car pics with the new wheels is running 3rd in the most liked posts of the last 24hrs. So a fair few of us think it's a lovely motor :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

7Bq2w6.jpg

Heh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Alan, your car pics with the new wheels is running 3rd in the most liked posts of the last 24hrs. So a fair few of us think it's a lovely motor :)

Where do you find that out?

On the main page, alongside the latest posts tab.

There's trending, my threads etc. One is thanks.

It gives you the top thanked posts from the site on any day.

You've been missing out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

I think the wheels look like the car was attacked by Spiderman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Can't wait to get new wheels. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

for those who did not go to Cars and coffee today, here is some of the cars you missed.
    2014-05-04112908.jpg
    2014-05-04112334.jpg
    2014-05-04112223.jpg
    2014-05-04105156.jpg
    2014-05-04105150.jpg
    2014-05-04112916.jpg

Would have liked to see the GT, i've been meaning to go to one of these for a while.

I'm just too lazy to get of my ar$e on a sunday morning though till the soccer is on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'd have loved to have gone to that buuuut was too tired even to get up and do a bit of shooting...! :(

Still, snooker's on :cool:

In motoring news, Alfa you are a bunch of arses for not making a nice multi plug when removing the engine..... In fact what anus designed half the stuff in that engine bay!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I think I might have found a friend for you in Dublin dgt,
    10156040_721028547939372_4223612325227178321_n.jpg
    10173601_721028474606046_4019623495925460413_n.jpg
    Lancia Ypsilon, Thema, Fulvia x2, Alfa Guiletta, 156, Fiat 500, Punto

etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Family member was putting her baby (15 months) into the back of the car and the baby must have had the keys. Anyway baby was strapped in and the mother closes the door, baby then decides to mess with the keys and double lock the car, with only herself inside. About half an hour passes as the mother tries to coax the baby to press the unlock button to open the car :pac: (fat chance). Spare keys were at home about three hours away. They find a mechanic who tries to get a bit of wire in the door to pull up the clip, but no use. But he was able to grab the keys, which at this point the baby had dropped on the floor. Now don't ask me why or how, because I haven't seen the car yet, but the mechanic "bent the door so that he could get the keys out". If it was me, I would have smashed the glass in a window. Anyway, funny story :pac: Moral - keep hold of your keys at all times if ye have young children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Family member was putting her baby (15 months) into the back of the car and the baby must have had the keys. Anyway baby was strapped in and the mother closes the door, baby then decides to mess with the keys and double lock the car, with only herself inside. About half an hour passes as the mother tries to coax the baby to press the unlock button to open the car :pac: (fat chance). Spare keys were at home about three hours away. They find a mechanic who tries to get a bit of wire in the door to pull up the clip, but no use. But he was able to grab the keys, which at this point the baby had dropped on the floor. Now don't ask me why or how, because I haven't seen the car yet, but the mechanic "bent the door so that he could get the keys out". If it was me, I would have smashed the glass in a window. Anyway, funny story :pac: Moral - keep hold of your keys at all times if ye have young children!

Very easy to bend the door back. I done it loads of times on different cars. Not my own. I had a bit of a nack for doing it.

It'd be in with the window straight away if I was in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Where is that place with all the lancias...

I probably shouldn't say that here, so I'll PM u.

dgt wrote: »
    Well that was an interesting trip....! I managed to fill a bin full in the middle of the street after clearing my boot :D

One of the lads put a coffee cup on my towbar and despite getting knocked off over a speed bump in Athlone, I put it back and it's still on the hitch when I arrived home :cool:

I've been to Newry since along with various trips to and from Navan, it's still there! :D:D:D

It's a McDonalds cup btw :pac:

14126662313_f12efd27dc_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

You really like that cup, don't you? :P

GvidoR wrote: »
    You really like that cup, don't you? :P

It's a surprisingly clean, low mileage, mostly motorway cup :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Does she have a fill history? Any receipts?? I might be interested :pac:

Does it hold tay or coffee or is it one of these new "multifluid" cups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Any rust? whens the National Cup Test due? :pac: