Do You Like Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭dockleaf

If you haven't been for a few years, it has changed!

Massive investment along the waterfront, it really is beautiful.

Yes, more needs to be done, but overall, I like Limerick.

You can't take one incident of a bad experience and allow it to taint your feeling for a city- I've had a few bad experiences in Galway ( mugged, car side mirror smashed off by vandals who decided to do every car on the street, and another time my car broken into and the steering column broken) but I still like Galway. I lived in Stoneybatter in Dublin before it became trendy if anyone remembers what that was like and I still like Dublin. And of course, Cork, Cork is gorgeous, went to college there and have great memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭leinsterdude

Want to.....but do not ......just a bit of a dull city.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Lived there for a few years, probably will move back there.

Lovely people, city is small enough that you can get around really easily. Some decent pubs and restaurants, and you are not too far away from some beautiful rural areas. Decent sport also, including my beloved Limerick FC. People's Park is lovely on a fine day too, with a free gallery beside it. Milk market is a nice place to wander through on a Saturday morning too.

All the shopping centres on the outskirts have hurt the city centre though. It needs a lot of investment, hopefully in the form of business moving back to the centre, generating more footfall. That would be a virtuous circle.

Thry could do more with the riverfront, especially where that old Dunnes is, and along the dock road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

The Chicken Hut....that's all you need to know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Boscoirl wrote: »
    The Chicken Hut....that's all you need to know

& donkey fords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Nice place, a great location on the Shannon and within a short drive of the ocean, mountains and Burren.

Btw, they are having a large festival this weekend: see http://www.limerick.ie/riverfest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I think people who slag off Limerick have not spent any time there.

While I haven't spent a lot of time there the times I've been I've loved it, and dare I say it ~ some of the best pubs of any Irish city I've visited.

When you're used to the sheer overwhelming about of knacker scum in Dublin city center then Limerick is a refreshing change.

However I'll add this, Limerick does 'run down slum' better than Calcutta lol.. When you find a run down area in Limerick it's really fecking run into the gutter.. That said I've enjoyed Limerick, really enjoyed it.

For some reason unknown to me the media has set about doing a proper good hatchet job on Limerick, its unfair & undeserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Costellos.

Sticky carpets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭4Dlolz

Haven't been to Limerick since I was a kid..

Is it worth traveling down from Dublin with a few mates for a piss up weekend?

4Dlolz wrote: »
    Haven't been to Limerick since I was a kid..

Is it worth traveling down from Dublin with a few mates for a piss up weekend?

It is actually. The green coach Dublincoaches.ie ) takes you there and back for €20, and the city center isn't teeming with knacker scum like you find in Dublin.

Hotels are cheap at the moment too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,187 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Was in Limerick for a few nights back in the 80's found it dull and drab then and didn't hold a candle to Galway at that time. Know a student who was there about 10 years ago and she wasn't impressed. Heard it has improved since and must go back to see..

saabsaab wrote: »
    Was in Limerick for a few nights back in the 80's found it dull and drab then and didn't hold a candle to Galway at that time. .

Oh yea, when you had to go to Salthill to find a club (in Galway) or even a decent bag of chips!.

Galway was a kip back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Spent 4 years in UL, there were things I liked and things I didn't like. Dublin is waaaay rougher in my opinion. I would not walk down Bachelor's Walk and I can't think of anywhere in Limerick that's that bad. Maybe by the train station but even there you don't get really hassled, except by Annie Fitz looking for chips!

Having said that I probably wouldn't ever move back. Had a tough old time in college and Limerick is kind of indelibly associated with that. Also, it's very small, and I much prefer the bigness of Dublin, it's a city city.

Limerick got a fair old doing in the recession and the city centre badly needs investment. Part of UL moving in the city centre is a fantastic idea.

People who say it's a **** hole with blanket judgement have no idea about it. Yes, there are bad areas but I really think Dublin and Cork are worse for social problems. There's some ****e that goes on in Cork which is hardly ever reported for some reason. Limerick got saddled with a name due to a minority and it's not all justified. It's not pretty like Galway and will always have to rely on the surrounding attractions (Bunratty, Adare) and rugby to draw visitors, a bit like Cardiff (which isn't a bad place either).

Also, to add, I met some of the most creative and talented people during my time in UL. Great Arts scene in the city.

I also lost a high heel due to Shtello's sticky carpets once :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I love Limerick - great place with great people - nothing in life is perfect, and Limerick is no different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

Best think about limerick is the people. Unique sense of humour that really gets me, rubber bandits would very limerick IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

If the Opera centre development takes place it should provide a bit of a boost to the city.

Annie fitz died the other week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Did she? I didn't hear- most of my mates have left Limerick now. Ah god love her!

I was about to add that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Good porn name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Had some memorable nights (even if I can't remember them :D) in The Blind Pig in Thomas Street, Limerick's a grand town IMHO

Good porn name.

You wouldn't want her for porn unless your porn revolved around can drinking old ladies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

No, I don't enjoy being stabbed.

Limerick is like most other cities, it has good spots and bad. The good spots match up to any other Irish city but the bad spots tend to exceed the worst in other places. It needs money, it's the air of neglect that's its biggest problem. The people are lovely even if the accent is a bit of a challenge. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I haven't been out sinking pints there so much,but I do love Walking around the city-from an architectural/historical perspective it is my favourite city and a very picturesque setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭bennyl10

BNMC wrote: »
    No, I don't enjoy being stabbed.

Come up with that all by yourself did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

You wouldn't want her for porn unless your porn revolved around can drinking old ladies

Sounds like a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I like Limerick, I go every year for the classic car show in Patrickswell. Nice georgian buildings, waterfront, the milk market and castle. People are friendly and pubs are good. Nice for a wander around on a fine day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It used to be a great city for shopping in and now the city centre is a dull and lacklustre place with very little choice. I'd go into the city centre 2 or 3 times a month and I really don't bother to hang around. Perhaps these rugby tourists that other posters have mentioned, staying in hotels in the city centre are hiring cars and travelling elsewhere, as frankly as far as the city centre goes, once you've seen the castle and the museum that's all there seems to be to do.

Limerick people can be lovely and the negative scumbag element gets more coverage that the positive elements of Limerick. It's great to see more festivals being added to increase tourism. But somethings are just ridiculous. We usually go to the same cafe in the city centre for the past few years as it's central and convenient, nothing special by any means. Now the menu isn't great so we'd usually get a toasted sandwich and a tuna melt with a couple of coffees, that's always been fine.

We went in after 11 yesterday morning and were told we couldn't have them until after 12. Well that's a new one. We could have it last week and any other time we went in of a morning. So they not only lost about 15 euro in business yesterday, they have lost our business permanently. It's a shame to see businesses adopting that kind of attitude. Jeez, I really miss Bewleys on Cruises street:(