Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I literally have no idea wtf ye are talking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

OSI wrote: »
    You know, if I had a decent size yard, I wouldn't mind owning a MG F/TF for the weekends

There a lovely car. We had a 1.8vvc 145bhp a 98 one as a weekend car a few years ago and it was lovely. But unless you get the 1.8vvc 145 or 160 bhp your wasting your time. The 1.6 engine is inferior in everyway not as reliable or powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

My list:

M4 CQB
    M249 SAW Para
    M14 EBR

2 x Glock 17's. Glock O' Clock.

I'd love a 249 :)

On the whole rof thing, I rather single fire so I like mad response. Hi torque motors and serious gearing for an instant shot.
    An m4 running a lipo is hardly the end of the world MM :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I literally have no idea wtf ye are talking about

Cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

So are Haynes manuals worth getting nowdays if you wish to do your own servicing ect? Or is everything in them basically on the internet already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

The law states that if you use an airsoft gun with the same intent and manner as a real gun then it will be considered a real gun and you will be prosecuted as such.

Which is why if I ever have the need, I'll use one of my shotguns.......do the job right;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

My list:

M4 CQB
    M249 SAW Para
    M14 EBR

2 x Glock 17's. Glock O' Clock.

Lanber under and over,
    Beretta semi auto.

None of the air soft lads want to play guns with me:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Right, just bought an Alpine CD53 E46 radio :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    I'd love a 249 :)

On the whole rof thing, I rather single fire so I like mad response. Hi torque motors and serious gearing for an instant shot.
    An m4 running a lipo is hardly the end of the world MM :)

The 249 is out of action at the moment, hop is acting very weird. It was to be expected though. I rather single too but the auto is handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Soooooooooooooooooooo........

Cars eh?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Soooooooooooooooooooo........

Cars eh?? :pac:

Go on... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

GvidoR wrote: »

AUTO BOXES!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »

I like cars :pac:

I also got my tax today :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I like cars :pac:

I also got my tax today :(

Got my tax reminder today :(

I have tax until 31/06/2014 :P

Hopefully I'll have the Colt sold and an awesomesauce VW parked at my house instead by the time it runs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I have my NCT on Thursday in Castlerea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

pred racer wrote: »
    Lanber under and over,
    Beretta semi auto.

None of the air soft lads want to play guns with me:p

Marui HK45s arriving next week at a certain airsoft retailer *cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I find my car runs fine without tax :pac:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I find my car runs fine without tax :pac:

Ah Jaysus no, sure what would the neighbors say if they saw you had no tax?

Kaiser D wrote: »

Umm... give him thumbs up? :pac:

Kaiser D wrote: »

Neighbors? I live in the middle of nowhere! Once you avoid the main roads you're golden :P

Oh, I'd love that. Having neighbors is such a nuisance. There'd be no end to the amount of cars I'd have if this was the case.

Years ago I was driving a old post van(you know the green citreon ones) I was pulled up at the side of a road and heading into a site with my tool box. The van was about 20 meters away and I looked back some bítch of an aul wan looking at my vans windscreen to check all the details. I was just about to shout to her mind your fúcking buisness. I often regret not saying anything to her. The cheek like. Everything was in order anyway but it was just the principle of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

My tax is up this month. :(

So if planning to keep a car a few years, there is no advanatage to not paying tax right? The only reason to possibly not pay tax nowdays is if you are selling it soon ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I have my NCT on Thursday in Castlerea.

Don't do what i did and see the centre ahead in the distance and tear towards it only to go through a mart yard with five million potholes :p

nd wrote: »
    So if planning to keep a car a few years, there is no advanatage to not paying tax right? The only reason to possibly not pay tax nowdays is if you are selling it soon ?

Well I have a friend who has a Mk4 GTI. He bought it about a year ago and has driven it on and off since then. There is (from what we can find) no record of it ever being taxed! We assume it was at least once when it was brand new… He's been pulled over a couple of times and never really had any hassle. At the same time I have been paying my tax like a chump so I decided to not pay it as nothing happened to him.

Don't do what i did and see the centre ahead in the distance and tear towards it only to go through a mart yard with five million potholes :p

I seen it is near the mart alright. Checked it up on google maps. Hopefully they have them filled by now. I noticed today they filled all the potholes on the road from Claremorris to near my parents place.

Well I have a friend who has a Mk4 GTI. He bought it about a year ago and has driven it on and off since then. There is (from what we can find) no record of it ever being taxed! We assume it was at least once when it was brand new… He's been pulled over a couple of times and never really had any hassle. At the same time I have been paying my tax like a chump so I decided to not pay it as nothing happened to him.

You will get a fine and maybe a court appearance depending the garda and how far they want to push it.
    I got fined for not displaying a tax disc before. It was the next day after I bought the car. I told her as well and she still issued the fine.

i don't know if there are penalty points for not having tax, but regardless I've my license a few months and would be too freaked out about losing it to not have everything in order. And my tax bill isn;t big enough yet to risk any points ect :)