Two men fight on the Tube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

How does removing a hat make somebody more or less of a threat?

It's indicitive, along with the lack of glasses and going from a standing to a seated position that he/the threat had been well and truly neutralised.

Listen, while we don't know what went on prior to the camera rolling, the old guy does look entirely in the wrong. But you're kidding yourself if you think the final knee to the face was a reasonable action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

It's indicitive, along with the lack of glasses and going from a standing to a seated position that he/the threat had been well and truly neutralised.

Listen, while we don't know what went on prior to the camera rolling, the old guy does look entirely in the wrong. But you're kidding yourself if you think the final knee to the face was a reasonable action.

But it was a reasonable action.

bumper234 wrote: »
    But it was a reasonable action.

It wasn't. It was excessive.

It was instinctive and understandable, but not reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Big over reaction even if he was wound up about being punched, he could have given him one dig then pushed him away and got away from the old fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Fecking class knee in the head in fairness!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

If you look at the first image before clicking play he has a pen in his hand and is clearly on the crossword page of his paper.
    4 across and then 1 down. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Not sure if anyone has seen this yet. Basically the old geezer hits a few digs on the younger lad. The younger lad then flips and hits a few digs back before delivering a knee to the face knocking the old guy unconscious. All the while the man who is filming it is shouting 'Leave it, calm down' :rolleyes:

I honestly am conflicted with this. On one hand the aul geezer done himself no favours but on the other hand he is an old geezer and to knock him unconscious ffs??!!.... He could be up for manslaughter had the aul guy died due to his injuries.
    Id like to think the young lad should have controlled himself but he did take a box in the stones.

Thoughts?

Whats a geezer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Whats a geezer?

Bob Hoskins was one :(

old_aussie wrote: »
    Was that Face kicker on the train?

No, a different legend called "Face Knee-er"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

One persons reasonable is another persons excessive.

enda1 wrote: »
    Bob Hoskins was one :(

Innit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I would love to know what was going on before the old man started throwing punches.

If you look at the first image before clicking play he has a pen in his hand and is clearly on the crossword page of his paper.

We don't know what caused the reaction from the old man it could well have been instigated by the younger guy...we don't have all the information to hand.

Whatever was going on was enough to alert cam guy that something was going to kick off as he had time to get phone out and start recording.

Perhaps it was a disagreement over the word for 7 across or something :pac:

Either way the old lad was a dope for a picking a fight with a guy twice his size and less than half his age. Young lad tries to get up and walk away and the old guy takes a few cheap shots at his crotch? Got what he deserved in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭heroics

Reminded me of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Understandable and instinctive pretty much means it wasn't excessive. You hit somebody there and reason can be overridden by a reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Remember that a kid in Dublin had a heart attack and fell into a coma after getting hit in the testicles.

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Whats a geezer?

Kieran McGeeney :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Even a flick to one of your balls is excruciating so for someone here saying it was only a tap and the next one was lower down either is female of has never had a slap to the balls.

From looking at the young lad the first thump to the nethers didn't really phase him but then the pain kicked in.

Not sure how I'd react but I'd be on the side of the young lad without context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The tube had come to a stop,the young guy was getting up to leave and the old guy kept on at him.Lesson learnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

kneemos wrote: »
    The tube had come to a stop,the young guy was getting up to leave and the old guy kept on at him.Lesson learnt.

apt username :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

It was enchanted with +12 strength

petes wrote: »

From looking at the young lad the first thump to the nethers didn't really phase him but then the pain kicked in.

Yep. He looked "winded" - classic sympthom of a punch in the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

He crossed the line with the knee to the face - absolutely scummy behaviour and neither warrented or required in the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The anyone call 'da amber lamps?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

young lad should of walked away, no need to be hitting oap's

Its this very attitude that irks me!!! He's an old man yes but he still instigated the violence and escalated it! He has to be held accountable for his behaviour, or should we give old codgers free reign to do as they please because they are old and youth should force you to take the high road. This reminds me very much of the 'would you ever punch a woman' thread. The idea that someone due to gender or age can freely assault an individual is utter bollox. In my eyes the old man started the fight and then tried to humiliate the young guy, this seemed to kick him into an instinctive response.
    As has been said, if the old man doled out the knee it'd be all high fives and Mr Miyagi bull****tery. The kid was attacked and incapacitated his attacker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

When I survey this heroic struggle for an arm rest I am put in mind of Patrick Kavanaghs poem Epic. Kavanagh sees the fight of two farmers over an acre of land as taking on the importance of the Legend of Troy or the 1939 Munich crisis.

On the tube here we see an old man drawing a line in the sand. He knows if he concedes the arm rest he might as well concede his soul. This is a battle for his very existence. When he strikes a blow to his adversaries ball sack he is in fact striking a blow for freedom. For oppressed people in every time and every place. He is saying to the universe "This is me"! "I am here" "and I am striking below the belt"

The victor is teaching the old man that might is right. It may as well be Friedrich Nietzsche himself on that carriage delivering the terminal knee to the face. The strenght and vigor of youth coupled with a ruthless amoralism hit the old man with the force of a locamotive. Deadman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Its this very attitude that irks me!!! He's an old man yes but he still instigated the violence and escalated it! He has to be held accountable for his behaviour, or should we give old codgers free reign to do as they please because they are old and youth should force you to take the high road. This reminds me very much of the 'would you ever punch a woman' thread. The idea that someone due to gender or age can freely assault an individual is utter bollox. In my eyes the old man started the fight and then tried to humiliate the young guy, this seemed to kick him into an instinctive response.
    As has been said, if the old man doled out the knee it'd be all high fives and Mr Miyagi bull****tery. The kid was attacked and incapacitated his attacker.

Fact is he disabled his opponent and then beat him unconscious. I think he had the right to defend himself and he did that with the elbow, the old guy was knocked back into a sitting position but he went beyond defending himself with the punch combination and the knee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

No sympathy for the aul lad to be honest.

Pair of fucking idiots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

The victor is teaching the old man that might is right. It may as well be Friedrich Nietzsche himself on that carriage delivering the terminal knee to the face. The strenght and vigor of youth coupled with a ruthless amoralism hit the old man with the force of a locamotive. Deadman.
    I think the auld fella taught himself that might is right. If he'd had gone for the nads he doesn't get sparked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

All the while the man who is filming it is shouting 'Leave it, calm down' :rolleyes:

Thoughts?

He should have shouted "Ah heyor!!! Leave it bleedin' ouuuu", that would have done the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

The only reason anyone is feeling sorry for the older man is because of his age. Think about it. If we replaced him with someone of 25 would there be anyone here lamenting his fate?