If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

mad about running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

snailsong wrote: »
    Yes, very happy. Would have liked another few seconds off for a pb but thats sufficient to give me some confidence before Limerick in 2 weks.

What s the target in Limerick? And you need you own log!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

SamforMayo wrote: »
    What s the target in Limerick? And you need you own log!

I'll go with the 3:15 pace group and if I feel good I'll push on at some point to try and get a little off that. 3:12:xx would be a pb but it might be asking a lot.

I've thought about starting a log. I don't seem to have the discipline to keep my own paper training diary updated so it wouldn't be easy. Maybe for DCM this year.

Anyway, when I've something to brag about I can just post it in someone else's log. :-).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

mon 21th april
    4mile recovery jog.
    lovely evening for a nice enjoyable run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Went well today. Started off grand with a nice flat 1k and from about 2k mark to the 6k mark was a slight climb all the way but still felt strong as we pasted the 5k mark. Splits--4.19 4.18 4.25 4.34 4.38. I was beginning to notice that my pace was slowing but i put that down to the pull over the last number of k but i felt that once i turned at the hairpin just after the 6k mark i would pick the pace up again. Sadly this did not happen. I had used up so much energy early on trying to keep my pace up that i was really beginning to struggle. Kept plugging on an crossed the line in 46.32. splits 4.45 4.39 4.50 5.02 5.02. Happy with the run considering i have missed so much training over the past few weeks. Its my second fastest 10k so happy with that.I strapped up the knee before the race and it felt grand during the race so hopefully it stays that way. Lovely course and well organised. Second time running this as i ran it last year in 59.47 so a huge improvement has been made in a year. Onwards to the Run For Boylo next sunday and then try and do the Moy Half Marathon.

A great improvement on last year John, well done.. Regarding your splits, do you think you might have went out a bit to fast or do you think the missed training was the cause of the pace dropping? (not having a go at you, still a superb result)
    Good luck next Sunday, and mind that knee :)

martyboy48 wrote: »
    A great improvement on last year John, well done.. Regarding your splits, do you think you might have went out a bit to fast or do you think the missed training was the cause of the pace dropping? (not having a go at you, still a superb result)
    Good luck next Sunday, and mind that knee :)
    I probably did run the first few k too fast and that left me tired over the last few. Gonna take it steadier on sunday. Maybe go out at 4.40\k and increase the pace gradually. I did that a few weeks ago in a 10k race and ran a sub 45. I probably got carried away a bit on saturday. Its easy to get brought along by the crowd. Regarding the knee im doing the necessary stretches to help with the ITB issue i have. If i wrap the knee and run im fine but if i dont wrap the knee i can only last about 4k before i have to stop. Its not ideal and if it doesnt improve soon i will have to take a few weeks off and rest it. Thats a senario im not looking forward too. :(

wed 23th april
    11k 1hr 2mins
    lovely run. very enjoyable.Knee felt ok. its not 100% or anything but i will keep doing the stretches and see how it goes

wed 23th april
    11k 1hr 2mins
    lovely run. very enjoyable.Knee felt ok. its not 100% or anything but i will keep doing the stretches and see how it goes

Have you looked at Ososlo s log and the link to the AIS exercises there, I find those stretches good. Also have you tried a physio, there is a lady in Ballina, very experienced ultra marathon runner herself who might be worth a try.

Thanx sam.will take a look at that log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Not giving medical advice here but I think fdoam rolling is usually prescribed for ITB issues. Have you tried that? It was a big help to me.

Good luck on Sunday, give it socks.:pac:

snailsong wrote: »
    Not giving medical advice here but I think fdoam rolling is usually prescribed for ITB issues. Have you tried that? It was a big help to me.

Good luck on Sunday, give it socks.:pac:[/IQUOTE] i have been foam rolling it alright. it seems to be helping a lot. are you running the run for boylo

Good luck tomorrow john.

Thanks sam.Looking forward to it. I will focus on the half marathon in ballina from tomorrow. i need to do a few long runs

Best of luck John, have a good one.

27th april
    Run for boylo 10k
    46.16 pace 4.35/k

Started out with the idea of keeping it steady over the first 5k or so and thats how it went. Felt comfortable and strong and hit the 5k mark in 22.51. Splits--4.29 4.33 4.31 4.35 4.45. There was a few short hills after this but nothing to serious and upped the pace a bit up till the 8k mark where i started to become tired and i was beginning to feel the knee. I had it strapped up so it was'nt too bad. Ran on to the finish to cross in 46.16. Splits--4.36 4.24 4.33 4.43 4.45. Happy out as its 20 secs faster than Kilmovee 10k last saturday. No PB but thats for another day. Lovely course, plenty of marshals etc. The leg is a bit sore this evening but 2 races in 8 days is bound to have an effect me. Easy day or 2 and then onwards to the moy half in 3 weeks time.;);)

Well done John. Id say it was warm out there today. What have you got the LSR up to? What s the target for the Hm?

LSR up to 10 miles. will go for 11 this week. Plan is just to enjoy the half and get n under 2hrs. No point and setting a bigger goal with the amount of training missed and a nagging injury.It was very warm alrite but an enjoyable run

You wont have a problem with that target John, no bother to you.

Well done John, great result. On the knee issue though, have you got it looked at properly yet?? It's been nearly 3 weeks now and it's still niggling at you?? I haven't really looked back to much, maybe you have been to physio??

Well done anyway, as I said, a great result..

Brother is nearly qualified as a physio. Reckons ITB.Rest foam roll and stretches. I really need to take it easy for a few weeks so it looks like i will have to give the half marathon in ballina a.miss. Really disappointed as i was targeting this race since the new year.

That's a shame John, but your right to mind the knee. Do you intend doing Dublin this year?

Glad you're addressing it anyway. Handy having a brother going into that line of work :)

As the saying goes, there's plenty of other races..
    Hopefully it wont be to long before you're back at 100% :)

Dublin is still very much the main goal for the year so i will take the time out now and get this sorted.Better to do it now than to run tje half marathon and end up out for 3months

Sunday 4th may
    2mile jog
    First bit of running since last sunday.Really missed bern out running so glad to get out again. A little bit of discomfort in the knee but all in all happy enough. Will kerp fosming rolling and stretching it and do a light jog again on tuesday morning

Went for a swim with the wife and kids and got the brother to give the leg a rub. Its feels a lot better after that. He showed me a few stretches that will be a huge help.

Tues 6th may
    21.13 pace--5.18/k
    Didnt feel any discomfort or pain until the last k which had a long downhill in it. Any pain i felt was below the knee cap where the very end of the IT band is attached to the knee. I felt no pain on the outside of the knee so the stretches/foam rolling must be helping. Will continue with these and work on the knee area itself. Will get a rub done next weekend. I'm going to build the millage up very slowly to prevent any injury.

Thurs 8th may
    5 k jog
    Ran 3 loops of a local country estate. Very flat route with a good running surface. Felt very little pain throughout. First run in 10 days that i didnt have to stop with the pain and could have easily ran more but have to take it easy.

Thurs 8th may
    5 k jog
    Ran 3 loops of a local country estate. Very flat route with a good running surface. Felt very little pain throughout. First run in 10 days that i didnt have to stop with the pain and could have easily ran more but have to take it easy.
    That's good john, build up slowly and hopefully you will be back to full strength soon. I see there is a 10 km in Ballina on July 8 th and crossmolina in
    Mid July! I need to pick something to keep me motivated after the Hm.

those are 2 ideal races for you. I did the 2 of them last year. Will target them again. Are you doing DCM this year. Are you are set for the half on saturday week. 2 running mates of mine are doing it so will probably go and watch it.:(

As set as I will ever be John:D At the moment I don't think I will do DCM mainly cause I will struggle with getting the miles in but that could change. If I don't I will target the Athlone Half in Sept and do a few shorter races over the summer. What times are your mates aiming for?

If they stay together they will run about 1.55 but if not then one of the lads could run it in 1.45. First HM for both of them. Their 10k best would be around sub 45/46. I wish i was able to run the race. It was me who talked the 2 of them into running it.:mad: