Ordering a pint of milk with your lunch/dinner - Unusual?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

jimgoose wrote: »
    Do most publicans and their staff not consider Selling More Stuff == Good Thing?? That'd explain a fair bit! :pac:

well would you rather sell milk which has a small margin of a few percent or a soft drink/beer which has a far bigger margin?
    Bar staff certainly don't care about selling more stuff, they just want to get paid at the end of every week :pac:

maguic24 wrote: »
    I love brown sauce!!!!! It has to be chef but I'll have HP every now and again!!

No, no, no! It has to be YR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Water (pronounced waw-her as I'm from Laois)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

well would you rather sell milk which has a small margin of a few percent or a soft drink/beer which has a far bigger margin?
    Bar staff certainly don't care about selling more stuff, they just want to get paid at the end of every week :pac:

Versus selling fúck-all, which has a margin of... :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

No, me no likes YR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

I love brown sauce!!!!! It has to be chef but I'll have HP every now and again!!
    I love milkshakes too! Is that you, me?

Jesus your freakin me out now - milkshakes and brown sauce - chances of that !?!?!:D

We were out on Sunday night and on the way home pulled in for a curry chip, they had a sign up stating "NEW banana milkshakes!!". Well if you'd heard me to the OH, "I am deffffiiiinnnaately coming down tomorrow for a banana milkshake.....DEFINITELY", he was looking at me going "why not just get one now, if you want it so much", "oh no" says I, "tomorrow".

So I wake up the next morning, turn to himself and say, come on, lets go for banana milkshake! Giddy as a goat heading down the road, into the chipper, order my milkshake, away she goes..... waiting..... waiting..... waiting.... Himself manages to win me a teddy from one of those machines that sing "I'm the king of the swingers ooooh the jungles VIP", you know the ones, I get more silly and giddy... then I realize its been about 7 minutes and NO banana milkshake. At this point I'm starting to get a bit dizzy and tired and cranky. He's nearly wetting himself laughing at me standing there with my teddy in an awful way over the wait for my banana milkshake. Back herself comes "sorry pet, the machines broke, can I get you a mineral?" I couldn't even answer, himself had to take me out, the devastation. The effects of alcohol and unavailable banana milkshakes are a strange thing.

:o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I went to college with a kerryman who always had milk with his dinner and always had a spud and milk moustache afterwards :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Have never tried YR, always chef, we got a bottle of HP a couple of months back and I just couldn't get into it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Del Rios on Marlborough St, nice big fry up with chips and a pint of milk, used to love it!

The stink of grease off ya tho when you left :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Last grown adult that I have seen drinking a glass of milk with a meal was actually swedish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Its not just a culchie thing I got asked for it a lot in a pub I worked in previously. I also order it myself most times when im out for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

I work in a Dublin pub, and a pint of milk with lunch/dinner is pretty common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I love milk with my dinner. It's perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Ice cold milk and a ham sandwich with super fresh white bread and proper butter.... nyom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

Glass of milk with dinner and breakfast every single day.
    Its delicious.

Ireland has the best milk in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm having milk at the moment. I have a touch of heartburn so drinking milk is fairly soothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

did it ever day for six years in secondary school. A turkey roll and a pint of milk. I went to school in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

I love milk and often would have a glass of milk with my dinner. I don't like it with bread for some reason.

But I've never asked for milk when out for a meal. Don't know why, I would just never think of it. :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭conor_ie

I would do it in most places, and I've had no problems. Can't beat an ice cold pint of milk with a huge fry up after a session the night before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

It's odd because most people know that milk is not required as a source of calcium once you are a fully grown adult.
    If you just eat some cheese, the odd yogurt etc you're getting more than enough calcium, having too much in your system can lead to health problems so you shouldn't really be drinking milk as a full grown adult.

It's weird to ask for it in pubs because pubs only stock milk to go with. teas/coffees, so most barmen will be thinking he's gonna run out of milk if someone asks for a whole pint.

that is one of those sad theories best to ignore. bones need calcium. milk is high protein and skimmed is low fat.

most hospitals offer milk to drink every day. lovely stuff so please dont try to be a killjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

It's odd because most people know that milk is not required as a source of calcium once you are a fully grown adult.
    If you just eat some cheese, the odd yogurt etc you're getting more than enough calcium, having too much in your system can lead to health problems so you shouldn't really be drinking milk as a full grown adult.

It's weird to ask for it in pubs because pubs only stock milk to go with teas/coffees, so most barmen will be thinking he's gonna run out of milk if someone asks for a whole pint.

Lots of things aren't required as such, but people still consume a lot of them: soft drinks, coffee, alcohol, sweets, desserts, cigarettes. I'd guess milk is a hell of a lot healthier than any of the above.

Besides, don't women (in particular) need more calcium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Not at all unusual, I've done it occasionally. As already mentioned, cow juice* is good for soothing the stomach, and has load of calcium.

* well, it is what you get when you squeeze a cow, isn't it?

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Yoghurt87

oak5548 wrote: »
    Glass of milk with dinner and breakfast every single day.
    Its delicious.

Ireland has the best milk in the world!

It has the second best milk. Irish milk is great but Jersey milk is divine. I would drink it by the gallon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Im from Dublin inner city and always drank milk with my dinner when growing up. I love it. I have about 2 litres a day at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

The last time i drank a glass of milk was about 3 or 4 years ago. I was never a fan of any dairy apart from yoghurt. Even if I'm eating a bowl of cereal now id use almond milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

There's an awful lot of hairy babies around for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

iDave wrote: »
    Actually I find milk does wonders for a hangover. Its much better at rehydration than its given credit for.

I'm going to get very drunk tomorrow night just to test your theory. If I get away with no hangover I'll try again Saturday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

i like to milk the system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

MMMMM a pint of cow puss with your dinner..

Delightful.

Anyone tried almond milk? Dat sh1t be bangin'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper