Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ordering a pint of milk with your lunch/dinner - Unusual?

• 24-04-2014 2:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭

I am just wondering if people find this odd/unusual, as when I was in college I'd go to the student bar for lunch/dinner and order a pint of milk. The staff would always look at me as if I had two heads when I ordered a pint of milk. They never knew what to charge me and would have to go looking for milk.

A few of my friends in college also thought it was strange. I come from the sticks and grew up with an elderly relative. We would always have pints of milk with our dinner growing up. My uncles are the same, real farmers who always have pints of milk with their dinners.

Anyway, I was in Liverpool with my uncle over the weekend and when my uncle asked for a pint of milk, she made him repeat what he was saying about 3 times. Then she looked at him and laughed and said 'You want a pint of milk? Really?'.

Is this odd to some people? I always have a pint of milk with my dinner, always.

Is there something you eat that people think is weird, that is perfectly acceptable where you come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Only ever saw culchies do it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's a culchie thing, they wouldn't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

No

21/25

Gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

No, not at all. Mind you I had a robust, rural upbringing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

im from the city - and i do it all the time.

milk is delicious - especially when it's ice cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Did it growing up, used to do it in college too. Much better than a half litre of coke or similar.

[edit]Come to think of it, I'm fairly sure you could buy pint cartons of milk in the college canteen with your dinner.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I've done it a few times, no harm. But wouldn't generally go for it when it's obvious it's not expected to be stocked, like a small student canteen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

I only do it if I'm having a hearty lunch like a stew or a roast! Otherwise it's a bit weird. Stir fry and a glass of milk? Nah. Tomato soup and a glass of milk? Nooo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Gross.

Milk, I fricking love milk!! Om nom nom nom! Guzzle, guzzle, guzzle, guzzle, guzzle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Only ever saw culchies do it...

As a Culchie, I wouldn't order a pint of milk with dinner. And I wouldn't have it at home either.

That said, I have seen many people do it over the years, and not just Culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

I get the same reactions. I always have a pint of milk or a carton of milk with my lunch in college and people do look at me as if I am an alien.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's a culchie thing, they wouldn't understand.
    I'm a Dub and always get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Usually prefer water with my lunch but adore milk with a Full Irish.
    All things considered milk is fecking brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thats kinda disgusting. I think id vomit if I drank a whole pint of milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I find a pint of Heineken compliments a lunch very nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

By any chance when you say dinner, do you mean a plate of triangular ham sandwiches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I find a pint of Heineken compliments a lunch very nicely.

Depends on what you're eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Actually I find milk does wonders for a hangover. Its much better at rehydration than its given credit for.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I always ordered a pint of milk in a particular place I used to regularly go to for lunch. Their menu actually offered the choice of a glass or a pint of milk. And this was in Dublin city centre, as far from culchie territory as you could get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

It's nice with bacon and cabbage and a feed of spuds. Even better if giving out about 'jackeens' at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I also like milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,674 ✭✭✭elefant

I drink copious amounts of milk. Delicious.

maguic24 wrote: »
    Milk, I fricking love milk!! Om nom nom nom! Guzzle, guzzle, guzzle, guzzle, guzzle.

Ugh, you're just making it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Was brought up in Dublin and moved to country when I was 30. Living there about 35 years and when not having wine with my dinner (usually at home in the evening rather than 1.00 or 2.00 pm) I will invariably have milk. Maybe not a pint but a good glass. Better than any fizzy stuff or plain water imo.

Have asked for it in restaurants on numerous occasions and have not had the "two heads" look from any waiting staff.

It's nice with bacon and cabbage and a feed of spuds. Even better if giving out about 'jackeens' at the time.

I like to invite the little fella from a couple of doors down, so I can glower at him at the table and say things like "Sure whishkey is your dinner Bird, you little ferret! When was the lasht time you et a pound of beef?!?" :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Cant bate a cold pint a milk. Daycent tack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

You need to order a 'Jug of Porter' like a normal urbanite (It'll be Guinness in Dublin or Beamish in Cork (Don't order Murphy's in Cork, it's associated with farmers apparently).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Morpork

Was doing a GOMAD diet (Gallon of Milk a Day) for a couple of months in an effort to gain weight. So I had a pint of milk with everything. Might have been the best 2 months of my life. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Lovely cold milk delicious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I like a nice cold glass with a meat & 2 veg.

Anything else, glass of water or a nice Chianti ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I drink milk with my dinner at weekends, orange juice during the week. No idea why.

jester77 wrote: »
    By any chance when you say dinner, do you mean a plate of triangular ham sandwiches hang sangiches?

FYP

I do love ham, cheese and crisp sangiches but alas, no. Trying to watch the ol figure, you know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

I love milk, order it everywhere I eat, and yes I do often get a reaction. Funnily enough, I've gotten to know several girls from a few different restaurants because of meeting them out and they come up to me "Hey! You're the milk guy!" :P

I ordered a milk with ice once on holidays in Spain, they brought me a glass of (almost) boiling milk, another glass full of ice, and then stood back to watch what the hell I was going to do with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Morpork wrote: »
    Was doing a GOMAD diet (Gallon of Milk a Day) for a couple of months in an effort to gain weight. So I had a pint of milk with everything. Might have been the best 2 months of my life. :pac:

Without going into too much detail, what the hell must that have done to your 'movements'?!

Could be a lot worse. I initially mis-parsed that as the "GONAD" diet! :D

Morpork wrote: »

Oh, don't even say that to me!! I am constantly trying to lose weight but I am not giving up the milk!!! :P I drink pints of low fat, totally helps....NOT. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

I almost always have milk with my dinner at home, but when I'm in a restaurant not really. Probably because I'd get wine instead. I have ordered it in fast food places on numerous occasions though. Om nom nom

MadYaker wrote: »
    Thats kinda disgusting. I think id vomit if I drank a whole pint of milk.

Don't knock it til ya try it. ;)

I drink milk with my dinner at weekends, orange juice during the week. No idea why.
    Cause you're an oddball?

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Tilly wrote: »
    I'm a Dub and always get one.

I still think it's got the makings of a good meme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Milk is great after eating a hot Indian curry, no wonder the cow is sacred over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Nothing wrong with a pint of milk with the lunch. But pressing for it when it's not on the menu, that for me is a paddling.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I still think it's got the makings of a good meme.
    Got milk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If you're having a burger and chips in a chipper or cafe a pint of cold milk hits the spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

It's odd because most people know that milk is not required as a source of calcium once you are a fully grown adult.
    If you just eat some cheese, the odd yogurt etc you're getting more than enough calcium, having too much in your system can lead to health problems so you shouldn't really be drinking milk as a full grown adult.

It's weird to ask for it in pubs because pubs only stock milk to go with teas/coffees, so most barmen will be thinking he's gonna run out of milk if someone asks for a whole pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Cus you are a fancy nancy.

mmmm milk and stew and brown sauce, milk and mince and spuds and brown sauce, milk and turnip and mash and brown sauce mmmmmmm milk and brown sauce mmmmmm

...most barmen will be thinking he's gonna run out of milk if someone asks for a whole pint.

Do most publicans and their staff not consider Selling More Stuff == Good Thing?? That'd explain a fair bit! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

I found it quite odd when I moved over here, now I wouldn't bat an eyelid. I wouldn't drink a glass of milk on its own never mind a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

That was my youth. Helped the father was a milkman for a few years.