BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Macca!

If you gave me two more concerts to enjoy before I depart this planet I would go and see Macca twice.

So good I don't have the words to describe him (Although I did win a mobile phone once by describing how good his concert was!)

The Stone Roses!

The Late Show!

Amateurs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid X wrote: »
    If you gave me two more concerts to enjoy before I depart this planet I would go and see Macca twice.

So good I don't have the words to describe him (Although I did win a mobile phone once by describing how good his concert was!)

I never saw him Skid......:(

I'd be "dancing in the moonlight" if I did.....:P

You will have to post that competition entry - I'd love to see it...:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

The Stone Roses silenced...truly a blessing! :D

Oh hi, Skid...didn't see you there! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What the hell??

THAT BOY IS WEARING MAKE UP!!!

Jesus Stir It Up takes me back. It's amazing, but i really thought nothing else could ever be that good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

But....but.....why?.....

It's the SNS thread....why would you want to be on the thread if you didn't want to be??....:eek:

if its awful, like it was tonight,

Bowie and Ronson = Magic

The Stone Roses silenced...truly a blessing! :D

Oh hi, Skid...didn't see you there! :pac:

You're a funny, funny man tonight Welshie :)

efb wrote: »
    if its awful, like it was tonight,

It's always awful.....:p

You have to stick with it and feel the pain with the rest of it....;)

I'd like to think Beyonce camped out at Glasto...woken to the sound the next morning of someone peeing on her tent and stealing her shoes.

And now to BBC Four...oh.

Boo-urns!

Stone Roses on Channel 4 (except for viewers in Wales :p)

Hopefully some non-Sky Arts music programmes on tomorrow tonight!

Laters!

What has become of BBC Four on a Saturday night?

The Music returns to Fabulous Four next Saturday Night.

Nothing particularly good, but at least it's something.

Seeing as BBC have gone to bed, here's some classic RTE Rock - Aslan on Megamix in 1986. Sounding brilliant.

And an addendum to the previous post,

someone kindly put up a stream of last year's Christy Dignam/Aslan tribute concert. A host of guests singing the vocals on Aslan songs with Aslan in Vicar Street (when Christy was ill)

I haven't watched it yet but some, most or all of these people should be in this (very long) Youtube concert video
    The music kicked-off at the Olympia with Royseven’s Paul Walsh to the fore, followed by up and coming singer-songwriter Gavin James, Hot Press faves The Riptide Movement and Dignam's fellow Northsiders, Jedward, who were among a plethora of young Dublin artists who momentarily stood in Christy’s shoes and sang Aslan classics.

The broad appeal of the legendary Finglas rockers was reflected in a line-up that was impressively diverse and read like a who's who of recent Irish rock heroes, including Steve Wall of The Stunning, The Corona’s Danny O’Reilly, The Original Rudeboys, Bressie, Jerry Fish, Ryan Sheridan, Gavin Friday, Horslips, The Dublin Gospel Choir, Paul Brady, Adrian Kennedy, Mary Black, Don Mescall, Mark Feehily and Tom Dunne of Something Happens, now a presenter with Newstalk, who in his heyday was a rock 'n' roll contemporary of Dignam's.

- See more at: http://www.hotpress.com/news/U2-Join-Tribute-to-Christy-Dignam-in-Dublin/9959279.html#sthash.haiqcl0O.dpuf

http://www.hotpress.com/news/U2-Join-Tribute-to-Christy-Dignam-in-Dublin/9959279.html

Anyone watching Jools?

Great song by Royal Blood...Sabbath-y :)

From a point at sea, to the circles of your mind ...

BBC4 Friday- Neil Diamond/Bacharach and David/Easy Listening Night !

9pm & 2.35am Sings Bacharach and David
    Archive performances of songs penned by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, featuring artists including Aretha Franklin, Dusty Springfield, the Carpenters, Sandie Shaw and the Stranglers. The programme also features Bacharach himself performing alongside Rufus Wainwright on Later with Jools Holland

10pm The Joy of Easy Listening
    Documentary charting the history of the genre, from its emergence in the 1950s to its heyday in the 60s, through its survival in the subsequent two decades and revival in the 90s. The programme explores the people behind the songs and the mark they have left on modern life. Featuring interviews with Engelbert Humperdinck, Richard Carpenter and Jimmy Webb

11.30pm Neil Diamond: Solitary Man
    Documentary charting the life and career of the American singer-songwriter, from his childhood in Brooklyn to his success in the 1970s and his reinvention with the help of Rick Rubin in recent years. Narrated by Mark Radcliffe, the film features extensive interviews with the musician and contributions by Robbie Robertson, Jeff Barry and Micky Dolenz

12.30am Neil Diamond Radio 2 Electric Prom
    The singer-songwriter performs a selection of his greatest hits and cover versions from his album Dreams, accompanied by a six-piece band, at London's Roundhouse in 2010. The concert explores the songs he loves from the 1960s and 70s, and reinvents his classic tracks

1.35am Easy Listening Hits at the BBC
    Archive performances by some of the best-known easy-listening musicians of the 1960s and 70s, including Sergio Mendes & Brasil 66, Burt Bacharach, the Carpenters and Andy Williams

BBC2 Friday

11.05pm Later with Jools Holland
    Extended edition of Tuesday night's show. Paisley singer-songwriter Paolo Nutini performs tracks from his new album Caustic Love and Brighton garage rock duo Royal Blood make their Later debut ahead of a summer supporting Arctic Monkeys. Crowded House frontman Neil Finn plays tunes from his latest solo long-player Dizzy Heights, while New York-based Joan as Police Woman, aka musician Joan Wasser, showcases her critically acclaimed album The Classic. Also appearing are Brooklyn indie-pop group Lucius and east London jazz singer Zara McFarlane

BBC4 Saturday

11pm The Story of Top of The Pops 1979
    A look back at a heady year for the chart show, which recorded its highest audience of 19 million viewers, as physical format singles peaked at four times that number. Social problems in Britain during the Winter of Discontent did not stop inventive musicians from making hay as eager fans queued up to embrace their output, and new wave, 2-tone, reggae, rock, folk and electro hits competed for the top slots. Among the featured artists are Gary Numan, Nile Rodgers, Jah Wobble and Woody from Madness

Midnight Top of The Pops
    Kid Jensen presents an edition from April 26, 1979. Includes performances by Generation X, Supertramp, Eruption, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Racey, Amii Stewart, Boney M and the Monks. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

12.35am John Denver:Country Boy
    Documentary exploring the private life and public legacy of singer-songwriter John Denver, America's original `country boy', who died in 1997. The programme features the accounts of those closest to him, revealing the man behind the music

Saturday looks good Skid!...:)....

Looking forward to it, thanks for that post!... :)

Thanks Skid. Went to put that up the other day but got distracted. Possibly by not being able to get Forever in Blue Jeans out of my head.

So after the LLS...well, thank God for BBC2.

Bless you, Jools. Bless you.

:-D

Saturday looks good Skid!...:)....

Looking forward to it, thanks for that post!... :)

Yeah...SATURDAY looks good.

:-D

To be honest, I'm more excited about Friday but it's a decent looking weekend.

Money talks, but it don't sing and dance and it don't walk ... :)

I think the easy listening documentary has been on before - still good though...then again, any documentary that has Mike Flowers talking the viewer through his record collection is worth watching :D

Speaking of acts last seen in 1996, I gotsa thinking...

After listening and watching every radio and TV programme during BBC's Britpop week, I realised there was NOT ONE single mention of Kula Shaker!
    They weren't that bad :o

*swiftly pushes record collection under bed with foot, out of sight*

Have the BBC placed a ban on them after Crispian's swastika comments?

I think the easy listening documentary has been on before - still good though...then again, any documentary that has Mike Flowers talking the viewer through his record collection is worth watching :D

Speaking of acts last seen in 1996, I gotsa thinking...

After listening and watching every radio and TV programme during BBC's Britpop week, I realised there was NOT ONE single mention of Kula Shaker!
    They weren't that bad :o

*swiftly pushes record collection under bed with foot, out of sight*

Have the BBC placed a ban on them after Crispian's swastika comments?

I missed that, he never seemed like a particularly likeable character.

The first Kula Shaker Album was good, the second one sunk like a stone. A mate of mine once listed Govinda as his all time favourite song. He liked Kula Shaker and Garth Brooks, and nobody else.

They were strange days, indeed.

The first Kula Shaker Album was good, the second one sunk like a stone. A mate of mine once listed Govinda as his all time favourite song. He liked Kula Shaker and Garth Brooks, and nobody else.

I'm convinced I was abducted by Aliens in those days....;)

You never thank those lads enough do you??...:D:D:D

*cough*

I don't see Kula Shaker selling out Croke Park five times in 2014.

*pats shirt pocket holding ticket*

*cough*

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    *cough*

I don't see Kula Shaker selling out Croke Park five times in 2014.

*pats shirt pocket holding ticket*

*cough*

Did ya get the stall organised to sell the hats and denim-y stuff Donie?...:p

I'll drop down and say hello at the Clonliffe end of the road!...:)

Selling them? I'll be leaving the wallet at home, lest I get carried away!

I should be easy to spot - tall lad, singing the two songs he knows some of the words of over and over, stumbling round in cowboy boots.

Actually, there might be quite a few fitting that description. :-D

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Selling them? I'll be leaving the wallet at home, lest I get carried away!

I should be easy to spot - tall lad, singing the two songs he knows some of the words of over and over, stumbling round in cowboy boots.

Actually, there might be quite a few fitting that description. :-D

Sure, you'll be dead easy to spot Donie!!...:D

Don't forget the checky shirt!...:p

john-thomson-fast-show-jazz-image-1-996834484-926331.jpg