If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cities you'd never return to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭batistuta9

lufties wrote: »
    Pretty much yea, sad eh.

Is it that bad?

A thread on something to do there. would be better than this one for to be checking while you're there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Well I never had any problems in Barcelona myself, but I've heard a lot of bad stories about La Rambla in particular. I guess I was just lucky. Every city has its rough areas, but I still haven't encountered anything like Dublin city centre for pick pocketing.

I've lived in Dublin for 8 years, with no such problems. Never been to Barcelona, so can't compare, can just say Dublin doesn't to have a big problem in this regard. Possibly at the rail or bus stations? But hello everywhere.

James__10 wrote: »
    Newport in Wales is a kip as well.

It truly, truly is. Everyone people who are from there say that. When the Ryder Cup was on, there was billboards around the city with the slogan "Feeling good about Newport". ::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

batistuta9 wrote: »
    Is it that bad?

A thread on something to do there. would be better than this one for to be checking while you're there

I think I'm so disillusioned with the place from the past 2 days that I'd rather sit it out and get the fook out asap tomorrow. I'm more annoyed with myself tbh that I didn't choose a better city. such a bloody waste of time and money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

I read somewhere that bristol is the best city in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

I haven't and i'm going to keep it that way. They're meant to be big and busy too.
    Both great cities with lots to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Bangkok. Utter hell. Stinky, smelly. Dirty. Everyone trying to scam you. Never again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

I live in London and am constantly hearing how amazing Bristol is. Haven't got around to visiting yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I've lived in Dublin for 8 years, with no such problems. Never been to Barcelona, so can't compare, can just say Dublin doesn't to have a big problem in this regard. Possibly at the rail or bus stations? But hello everywhere.

I haven't noticed or heard anything about the rail or bus stations. It's mainly the city centre around the shops. There was a programme on not so long ago about it. It definitely happens a lot. Just because it hasn't happened to you doesn't mean its not happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I think I'd return to all places I've been too. I dont think you can accurately judge a city based on a short visit. Although I would say that LA is somewhat depressing in its disparity between rich and poor, very difficult to do much if you don't have a car (that kind of goes for the States in general) and pretty dirty, but I'd probably still visit again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭RustDaz

Choodefat wrote: »
    Went downtown Los Angeles years ago, and checked into cheap hotel, with asian reception guy looking suprised to see anyone. Grinning with cracked teeth, lips and glasses, he took our passport details and grabbed the bag nearly running to a room...flung the door open with 'You will like! You will like!'
    He referred to three green walls, each holding pictures of JFK, a Pope and St. Paddy.....'Eh, thanks.'
    We hit the'Shamrock' bar later, and after much moonshine, my mate thought he was in like flynn with a hottie. Barman says to me 'your buddy knows that's a guy, right?' to which the mate says I'm jealous, on telling him aside...
    I stumble to a unisex jacks with no doors, and copies of An Phoblacht for toilet roll. Cue much coming and going of 'Yo'ing &'Bro'ing like it's a reunion or something...
    I returned to the bar just as a pool player misfires and launches the cue ball hitting the singer who's murdering 'Paranoid' by Black Sabbath. All fu**ing hell broke loose, and then I see the mate has realized his hottie is nottie - by dropping his hand for evidence and receiving a clatter across the face hah.
    We get the feck out, and passing a palm tree with a poster for the pub - the mate throws his smoke at it - and it goes up in flames! There was petrol or something spilt near it heh. We leg it to the hotel room where one of the pictures is flapping...I take it down and behind is a hole where the air conditioner should be, and stick me head out to the sights & sounds of the L.A. fire department screaming down the road.....
    But, to talk about cities I wouldn't return to..? That's for another day.

Was that a pitch for a movie or what really happened?

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I haven't noticed or heard anything about the rail or bus stations. It's mainly the city centre around the shops. There was a programme on not so long ago about it. It definitely happens a lot. Just because it hasn't happened to you doesn't mean its not happening.

Of course it happens, there wouldn't a city in the world where it wouldn't. But is it particularly bad for pickpocketing? Nah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Of course it happens, there wouldn't a city in the world where it wouldn't. But is it particularly bad for pickpocketing? Nah.

From what I've seen, yes it is. I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Choodefat

RustDaz wrote: »
    Was that a pitch for a movie or what really happened?

Yes it did really happen...
    Neither a prisoner or a juror be...heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,154 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I add my voice to Paris - went there once. Will never go back. The sights are overrated and overcrowded. The people are incredibly ignorant. The only polite people you will find in Paris are other tourists or immigrants. I still recall being on the top of the Arc, completely over the myth of Paris, when a complete stranger - Irish as well by coincidence - suddenly announced to the gathered crowd "I cannot wait till I get out of this ****ing city". I believe that random stranger spoke for everyone there. Paris is best experienced through movies and picture post cards.

As for Budapest and unfriendly Hungarians, I do have to note that my parents went to Budapest for a week about a year ago and were practically adopted by a young Hungarian couple who invited them for tea, brought them on nights out, showed them the sights and drove them around the place. They're still in touch and my parents rave about the place and the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Stockholm.

Cold, unfriendly, miserable cnuts. With all the personality of a doorknob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I don't get why the friendliness of the locals impacts peoples enjoyment of a place so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

keith16 wrote: »
    I don't get why the friendliness of the locals impacts peoples enjoyment of a place so much.

Apply that theory to your regular pub then. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,154 ✭✭✭✭Sand

When you don't know where anything is or how basic tasks like buying a ticket for a tram or attraction is done, you have to ask a local. A friendly local will lead to a better experience than a local rolling their eyes and stalking off with a huff.

Back home you already know the basics so you can mostly ignore the locals.

you have to be joking..its the people that make a place, museums and what not are grand but if the people are arseholes then its an awful experience..3 nights now i've been in budapest and the people are just unfriendly, uneducated and ignorant. never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's the main thing that impacts my enjoyment of a place Keith. I usually travel on my own so it's the locals that I have most of my interactions with, otherwise I'd just be as well off stay at home and look at pictures of places on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

thee glitz wrote: »
    To answer op, I'd think twice about going back to Nottingham. It's got some redeeming features in Notts Forest
    and Notts County and also a bar with a canal running through - the only place I know where you can get Bacchus.

I didn't see much of Leeds yet, but I hope see more soon.

I've seen little of Birmingham but I've seen enough.

I don't know where you get the impression that Nottingham is rough. I take it that you've not been there many times?! I'm aghast that you put it in the same bracket as Glasgow. It's a young persons' city, full of students. I go a few times a year and it's not in any way "dodgy". Yes it has a couple of troubled areas (St Ann's, The Meadows) but nothing that Manchester, Birmingham or London don't have. Lots to see and do between Robin Hood trails, Galleries of Justice, Nottingham Castle (which is stunning) and Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem, dating from 1195 AD - the oldest pub in England.

Nottingham Forest won't like you calling them "Notts" though ;)

I agree with you on Birmingham, very dreary with little in the way of culture. Lots of ugly concrete structures that pass for buildings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

ruthloss wrote: »
    That would be just like Dublin and Ireland then.

At least in Ireland you can get off a bus without being swarmed by people trying to sell you complete crap. They may ask for money for nothing at the bus stop in Dublin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭BRYAN Is Ainm Dom

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Paris.

Dirty kip.

Yeah Paris for me too, I find French people in generally very rude and unpleasant but Paris is number one for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭marc96

Dublin,full of addicts and scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

The one that sticks out would be New York. No intention to go to that filthy dive of a place ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

kenmc wrote: »
    Hanoi. rest of Vietnam was lovely, Hanoi just didn't do it for me.

not a city, but pak beng on the slow boat from Thailand to luang prabang, couldn't get out of there fast enough....

I really liked Hanoi, we were walking around the lake and some students our own age just started chatting, I was a little skeptical at first but they were genuinely just interested in learning some English. Vietnam in general was fantastic.

As for Pak Beng it couldn't be any further removed from being a city if it tried :pac: I saw it as a necessary stopover, which it was. If the slowboat didn't stop there then those people would be even poorer which made it tolerable. I thought the views over the Mekong were really nice with a few beer lao's and again for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭ArnieSilvia

Olive8585 wrote: »
    Never been to Hungary, but all the Hungarians I've met over here have been lovely. Do all the nice ones leave?

So many posts about Hungary. 10 years ago I visited Budapest, then spent few days travelling around countryside. Loved it. Will never forget fresh corn bread, nice people and cheapness. If you paid a lot, you didn't check the price. Go to a posh restaurant anywhere in the world and you'd get ripped off. Fact that you're in East doesn't mean that people have no money!

Over there, I experienced one of most friendly welcome EVER from a man running the campsite. We came to the restaurant, man asked where we are from and greeted us with local vodka:D Fact that we came from Poland=same level of wealth, common culture and history helped I think. Maybe being seen from perspective that we came to visit, see and feel the country helped too!

Lots of Germans returning there every year on cheap holidays too (Balaton lake).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

The Vatican