Have you ever walked out of the cinema during a movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭opti76

walked out of resident evil... alien vs predator 2 and kiss kiss bang bang ... all terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

wanted to leave Transformers 2, only for I drove the people I was with to the cinema I would have, one of the worst films ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭SHANAbert

Noah.

Master and commander.

Guy in front of me got up and left Noah about an hour and a half into it last week. I've been jealous of his wisdom ever since....

It was a bit of a washout in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I nearly walked out of Fight Club but decided to see if it got any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Hell Ram

bluewolf wrote: »
    Walked out of get him to the greek, and the counsellor

The counsellor! Seriously. Biggest load of sh!te I have ever seen. wtf!
    I thought it would be cool action stuff not sitting around bitching about women and then women being bitchy with no explanation of how these random characters even knew each other or why they would be socialising when they clearly didn't know each other or like each other waaaat

My God, the dialogue in The Counsellor was shocking. I turned it off.

I don't think I've ever walked out of a film, but I came very, very close at Dream Girls (NOT my choice and we both hated it).

So long...so, so very boring. Annoying as hell cast too.

I remember being at Brokeback Mountain (which I loved) and a few of those neanderthal laddish types walking out commenting in their knacker accents. Too much gay apparently.

Transformers 3 tempted me too. What a load of rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Walked out of Wag the Dog, felt like it was never gonna end. Fell asleep during the first Hulk movie (stayed as my daughter and her friend were with me).

I don't go to the cinema often now though, so what I do o to, I really want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What's up with Gilbert grape. Got two free tickets from some of those girls who drive radio station cars around while being blond and smiley. Gave them directions from terenure to rathmines (they were verrrry blond). Went to the screening with a mate, lasted about 20 minutes, exchanged a shrug, and went for a pint.

Never left a movie I paid for. Too stubborn! The closest I ever came was Last Man Standing, an absolute Bruce Willis shytefest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

Gravity. The graphics were great but that was it, the storyline was Sandra Bullock having a good roll about in space and panting like mad. I do not know how it got such good feedback.

OSI wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure that near the entire cast is Irish, so not sure what phoney accents you're on about.

They are Irish yet sound faux American, thst's my point. That 'The' Machine character being the biggest offender of all with his Stifler schtick. Awful and unfunny film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Walked out of War of the Worlds, the recent Tom Cruise one.

Fell asleep during that computer animated flick Robots, woke up and should have walked out, but went back to sleep, cinema was empty bar me and 2 friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I have never walked out on a movie, I left a cinema once because there were scobes causing trouble and they ruined the film for me, I was just pissed at that stage, missed loads of the film because of them and it ended with the lights being turned on, the cinema nearly empty because so many people had walked of already, the film paused and the scobes giving the height of abuse to the cinema workers who just so happened to be dressed up for Halloween, the manager was a pirate. They ended up calling the gardai on them because they wouldn't leave.

The Devil Inside was by and far the worst film I have ever seen in the cinema, I wish I had walked out. Also of I hadn't wanted so desperately for it to be good, I am a bit of a David O. Russell fan then I probably would have walked out of American Hustle, a really unlikebale film with a script so boring I ended up laughing at the stupidest of things because I was so bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Hell Ram

Yep, I walked out of Wedding Crashers. What a terrible movie and worse cast.

I don't this. It won't win any Oscars, but at the very least it was entertaining. Well cast too.

I really like American Hustle. I'd seen it before the hype so that might have had something to do with it.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, what a really really bad film!

One of the most overrated films I can think of. It's like some people feel they should like it because of the way some people rave about it.
    Omackeral wrote: »
    They are Irish yet sound faux American, thst's my point. That 'The' Machine character being the biggest offender of all with his Stifler schtick. Awful and unfunny film.

Irish film about a stag party. I'll pass. I don't need to know anything else. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

I stay and watch it until the end just so I can say "yea watched it....shíte..."

Almost stopped watching 'Synecdoche, New York' as I hadn't a clue what was going on. Watched until the end and still didn't have a clue but apparently people thought it was deadly.

Maybe it was the severe lack of sleep but I just didn't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

AulBiddy wrote: »
    Gravity. The graphics were great but that was it, the storyline was Sandra Bullock having a good roll about in space and panting like mad. I do not know how it got such good feedback.

Sandra Bullock rolling about and panting? What's the issue....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

opti76 wrote: »
    walked out of resident evil... alien vs predator 2 and kiss kiss bang bang ... all terrible

sacrilege, kiss kiss bang bang is a great film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Flaker

Dodgeball.

Literally the biggest pile of sh:te I have ever tried to sit through. How do these films get made??

And I was dying with a hangover, so I would usually sit and watch any old rubbish cos I wouldn't be fit to leave :D. But that was soooo bad.

Once the guy started talking like a pirate, I was out of there.

I have hated Vince Vaughan ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

American Hustler. Does'nt matter who's the hero / villain in this movie at all. Sh|tty empty movie

Hell Ram wrote: »
    I remember being at Brokeback Mountain (which I loved) and a few of those neanderthal laddish types walking out commenting in their knacker accents. Too much gay apparently.

Omg I hated brokeback as well. We had the dvd at home. Biggest pile of crap I ever saw ... add that one to the list!
    mumble mumble go around looking miserable and making everyone around you miserable
    very romantic altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Yep, I walked out of Wedding Crashers. What a terrible movie and worse cast.

One of my favourite comedys. Cheesy, fair enough, predictable fair enough.

Terrible ??? You need to sit down and watch it because youre very wrong.

As for the cast as far as your big budget Hollywood comedy's go off the top of my head im not thinking of a duo where the chemistry was better then vaughan and wilson were. Plus it has Isla Fisher. She was a sexpot when I was ten and she still does it for me.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Walked out of

"The House of Mirth"
    Troy
    Alexander
    Some Adam Sandaler film with i swear to god if i threw up on film and put it threw a projector it would have been more entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Went for a long long piss break for Pearl Harbour, mostly stayed because I was on a date at the time.

Never actually left early but went to see 'Lost in Translation' with a mate and if there was 100 people at the start of the movie we were the only 2 left by the end. Have never seen whole rows of people just get up and walk att the same time until that night, twas bizarre.

As it turned out, i loved the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Never walked out but was mighty tempted twice. First time was that Nick Cage flick "Knowing". If i had of "Knowing" it was going to be that bad I wouldn't have bothered.

Second time was the third Pirates of the Caribbean film. Jaysus was so long and ****e. I thought the agony had ended but there was twenty mins left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I have never walked out on a movie, I left a cinema once because there were scobes causing trouble and they ruined the film for me, I was just pissed at that stage, missed loads of the film because of them and it ended with the lights being turned on, the cinema nearly empty because so many people had walked of already, the film paused and the scobes giving the height of abuse to the cinema workers who just so happened to be dressed up for Halloween, the manager was a pirate. They ended up calling the gardai on them because they wouldn't leave.

The Devil Inside was by and far the worst film I have ever seen in the cinema, I wish I had walked out. Also of I hadn't wanted so desperately for it to be good, I am a bit of a David O. Russell fan then I probably would have walked out of American Hustle, a really unlikebale film with a script so boring I ended up laughing at the stupidest of things because I was so bored.

never heard the word scobes before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Evan Almighty. There was also some stupid bitch in there with a screaming new born. But it as an awful film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Went to see Meet Joe Black with a girl I was with way back in 98ish, we lasted about 45 minutes then headed off to the pub. A load of rubbish it was!

In a similar vein...tried to was Unstoppable last night...horrible direction and camera work made it unwatchable, so watched An American Werewolf...instead, a good choice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Hell Ram wrote: »
    M

I doubt the people who walked out did it from homophobia but because its fairly boring. I cant see a conversation between two scobes fresh out of dishing out a beating to some young fellow for wearing tight pants deciding to check out the new gay cowboy film the critics are raving about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I'm too stubborn once I've paid in to see it that I'll stay. Alice in Wonderland (With Johnny Depp) tested me something serious though.

Atrocious on all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Walked out halfway through that submarine film with Denzel Washington. wanted to walk out of quite a few chick flick I went to see with girls. the only reason i stayed was because there were girls :)

Really wanted to walk out of AI but I'd gone with a friend. He was enjoying it and he'd driven us there so I was stuck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I never walk out of films because I only ever go to the cinema if it's a film I've been waiting to see or have a feeling I'd enjoy, either because of the director, the story or the actors (ideally all three).

Saying that, I was tempted to walk out of Little Fockers. I enjoyed the first two, but that film was truly awful.