What if the Gardaí paid you to report people for minor crimes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

pundy wrote: »
    no it isnt. im just not a dope like a lot of busy-bodies in this country who just hate each other for absolutely no reason.

and my point about perhaps wanting to break a law in the future is based on the absolutely ridiculous draconian laws that are in this country and perhaps new sh!t laws to come in future.

but i've only 2 years left in this dump country anyway, so roll on 2016!!

Change all the draconian laws so that I can do anything I want and it will be legal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

foggy_lad wrote: »
    What if the scumbag dealer was selling to your younger sister or daughter and trying to ride her when he got her stoned?
    I would guess he would report this hypothetical rapist.

Just like if the the guy using the phone in the car was pulling young girls off the road and raping them I figure most would report them -the crime of rape would probably be the first thing they would mention to the garda before the phone or hash though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I think this is a good quality of ours to have, if we were like other countries that always did everything we were told, we would become like robots and become very easily brain washed and controlled by governments who are clearly not to be trusted going by past experience.

If we didn't have democratic representation (in fact, we have one of the most democratic systems in the world, which poses its own problems), that would be a good quality. But we elect these people to make laws which we then selectively disobey when it suits us. It's totally childish.

Government and law isn't something that happens to us - it's something we create. If you want it changed, get involved in the process: we're blessed, seriously blessed, to live in a country where we can do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

What if the scumbag dealer was selling to your younger sister or daughter and trying to ride her when he got her stoned?

i'd call the cops if she was underage/ not consenting because that's not a "minor crime" is it!?

what a strange way to think btw... weirdo

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Would you not think of talking to your daughter first before calling the cops? Seems a bit of an abdication of responsibility.

no i'd call the cops. it's a rape that foggy is talking about, so i'd call the cops.

as in, the weed part of it wouldnt even be mentioned to the cops. it's not right that it's against the law, it's a stupid crime in my book and i would keep that information from the police, yet i would rat the guy out for the rape though, of course.

some weird people on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Something like that I would report to the town or county council and allow them to do their job and shut down the places which allow or facilitate the illegal behaviour. But I would probably report the illegal drinking to the Gardai as such behaviour especially where drink is involved usually leads to violence and assaults and anti social behaviour later on.

Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think it's a fantastic idea. It's high time we encouraged people to stick their beaks into other people's business and stir trouble for them. That never happens, more's the pity, and the fact that they'd be paid for it would ensure that it would never be done just because you had some sort of personal beef with the person.

Ranchu wrote: »
    Are you for real?

Ranchu, this is why i was getting so annoyed. there are horribly large amounts of the Irish population who actually think in this way. they love it. it makes them feel good somehow.

it's fvcking downright pathetic and i say let them carry on. they'll have their faces smashed in for their troubles one day when they report the wrong sort.

i'd call the cops if she was underage/ not consenting because that's not a "minor crime" is it!?

what a strange way to think btw... weirdo
    Most drug dealers would of course balk at any suggestion of taking advantage of a young girl by giving her an alternative way to pay for the drugs being supplied, they also encourage young people to steal for them in return for drugs.
    no i'd call the cops. it's a rape that foggy is talking about, so i'd call the cops.

as in, the weed part of it wouldnt even be mentioned to the cops. it's not right that it's against the law, it's a stupid crime in my book and i would keep that information from the police, yet i would rat the guy out for the rape though, of course.

THe drug dealer just claims that the girl was all over him and he just gave her what she wanted, would you want your daughter to have to fight her case in court or would you not give the police as much ammo as you had to make your daughter more believable?

Most drug dealers would of course balk at any suggestion of taking advantage of a young girl by giving her an alternative way to pay for the drugs being supplied, they also encourage young people to steal for them in return for drugs.

THe drug dealer just claims that the girl was all over him and he just gave her what she wanted, would you want your daughter to have to fight her case in court or would you not give the police as much ammo as you had to make your daughter more believable?

no, look we're getting off point here.

you are trying to make me out to be some sort of person who would never report a crime. i am saying that i would of course report something so serious.

you said you would report people having a can on a sunny day at the beach because of a fear you have it might result in violence?

that, is pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Your hypothetical drug dealers are scoundrels. Mine is quite pleasant.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I agree that the prohibition of weed is foolish, for adults only though. Its use by teenagers can have significant negative effects. Given that young people aren't always mature enough to appreciate this, I would absolutely report someone that was selling to kids if they refused to stop.

Ranchu wrote: »
    Your hypothetical drug dealers are scoundrels. Mine is quite pleasant.

mine too!

typical irish "im terrified of anything i dont understand directly"

no, look we're getting off point here.

you are trying to make me out to be some sort of person who would never report a crime. i am saying that i would of course report something so serious.

you said you would report people having a can on a sunny day at the beach because of a fear you have it might result in violence?

that, is pathetic.
    I have reported people in Carlow who were having cans on a gorgeous sunny day because they are all the usual suspects in the town! few dealers few burglars etc all scumbags and deserving of all the Gardai attention they get! they were also lying out in the public park with their dangerous dogs off their leads and fighting and arguing in full view of children.

If you don't report the small stuff you can't really get on a high horse when more serious sh1t happens to you!

on a separate but connected note: 6 drug dealers arrested and charged in an operation in Galway. Great result for the Gardai and the people who want to protect society from these wasters.

I agree that the prohibition of weed is foolish, for adults only though. Its use by teenagers can have significant negative effects. Given that young people aren't always mature enough to appreciate this, I would absolutely report someone that was selling to kids if they refused to stop.

yeah if they were selling to kids and it didnt interrupt my supply.

i dont have kids, or wont have kids so i suppose i'm less likely to empathise with the suckers who do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The orginal question posed by the OP is a terrible idea which would create a suspicous culture and even open up the way for fraud and deception as people would make false claims in order to make a bit of quick money.

By all means, report people if they are a danger to others or committing legitimate crimes, but I wouldn't ring the gardai on someone if he was lighting up a joint for example and keeping to himself (btw the poster who was talking about reporting his housemate to the guards was right, when he provided the context, it was absolutely the right thing to do.)

I have reported people in Carlow who were having cans on a gorgeous sunny day because they are all the usual suspects in the town! few dealers few burglars etc all scumbags and deserving of all the Gardai attention they get! they were also lying out in the public park with their dangerous dogs off their leads and fighting and arguing in full view of children.

If you don't report the small stuff you can't really get on a high horse when more serious sh1t happens to you!

or.... buzzkilling for the sake of it because you dont like the look of people who seem to be "suspect" to you.

maybe it just annoys you that you personally have no control over these things and you go red-faced in a rage and pick out the phone...

what about if someone doesnt clean up after their dog or something like that?

are you saying ALL trivial things you will report because you're afraid the law might not be there for you if something "bigger" happens?

thats ridiculous. why cant you just live your own life and relax a bit and stop worrying about what others are doing - UNTIL a time when it does affect you directly?

keep your nose out if you want to keep it i say!

plus this thing about Galway - wasters? they took a chance, probably made a mint off it before and tried it again and got caught. Entrepreneurs in my book.

entrepreneurs who happen to get caught up in one of Irelands worst most ludacris laws.

Most drug dealers would of course balk at any suggestion of taking advantage of a young girl by giving her an alternative way to pay for the drugs being supplied
    True, most cannabis dealers I have met are sound and even the dodgier ones would indeed balk at the thought of anyone being raped. As would most people who jaywalk.
    they also encourage young people to steal for them in return for drugs.
    oh sweet jesus, you were actually being sarcastic :eek: It's like those hilariously bad 1940/50s US propaganda videos.

http://all-that-is-interesting.com/20th-century-anti-marijuana-propaganda/marijuana-prohibition-devil-harvest

http://all-that-is-interesting.com/20th-century-anti-marijuana-propaganda/marijuana-propaganda-love-weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

OK, so the thread has veered off topic just a wincy bit.

You have the "rats out" idiot mindset that everyone should be allowed get away with crimes unless they're spotted by a Garda.
    What's even worse is that some Gardai think like this; that minor reports aren't worth following up on, I couldn't be arsed putting any effort into that, and yer man is only an aul busybody anyway.

We've had issues with a commercial van effectively abandoned in our estate for the guts of two years. The guy lives in the estate, but it's a huge van taking up nearly 3 parking spaces. Reported it to the management company, they've sent him numerous letters, all ignored. I pointed out that it's parked in a public place, untaxed and uninsured. So he can charged with an offence and the van can be towed.
    So they contacted the gardai, they said, "nothing we can do". We rang the Gardai and pointed out that there's plenty they can do. They came up and looked at the van from inside the patrol car and drove off again. "Nah, nothing we can do".

Spoke to a Garda friend in a different station who agreed that yes it's illegal, but it's too irritating an issue to be bothered getting involved with and if she got the call to her station, she'd probably do the same thing; take a look, report it as "nothing we can do" and drive off.

And this is the impression you get for all sorts of minor issues - if you call the Gardai they'll give some vague bull****tery or at best will "talk to" the offender and otherwise take no action.

So it's no wonder that there's no culture of reporting minor issues in Ireland. Nobody seems to give a fnck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

plus this thing about Galway - wasters? they took a chance, probably made a mint off it before and tried it again and got caught. Entrepreneurs in my book.

entrepreneurs who happen to get caught up in one of Irelands worst most ludacris laws.
    Are you honestly saying heroin dealers are entrepreneurs?

Are you on something yourself? where the hell did you see him mention heroin?:eek:

This jump equating cannabis dealers to heroin dealers & rapists is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

I definitely would. I love correcting other people/pulling them up on the slightest misdemeanor (whilst being in no way perfect myself). Most importantly, I love judging other people.

Sign me up!

Post of the day!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

rubadub wrote: »
    Are you on something yourself? where the hell did you see him mention heroin?:eek:

This jump equating cannabis dealers to heroin dealers & rapists is brilliant.

Well this comment was in response to arrests made in Galway, which according to the Gardai website, were in relation to heroin, cannabis and other drugs:

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=13080

So yeah...heroin entrepreneurs.

So you honestly think when he said "one of Ireland's worst most ludicrous laws" -that he was referring to heroin being illegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A few days ago some moron talking on his phone sped through a red light just as I was about to cross at a pedestrian crossing. If I hadn't been paying attention and had walked out into the road he would have hit me. If I had had time to get his registration number I would have happily reported his dangerous driving to the guards before he hits someone less fortunate than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,057 ✭✭✭✭josip

It appeared to me that the heroin dealers in Galway were being described as entrepeneurs.

But I got a significant blow to the head last night, so maybe I've lost the ability to comprehend English.

josip wrote: »
    But I got a significant blow to the head last night, so maybe I've lost the ability to comprehend English.
    You should get yourself to hospital right away, no one in their right mind would presume "one of Ireland's worst most ludicrous laws" was referring to heroin, especially after the poster was talking about cannabis in his previous posts. I'd get someone to drive you if you are really that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

I'd happily report someone dealing cannabis if I was sharing accommodation with them. I'd report them with a smile on my face.

If the dealers wanna push their poison let them do it down down dark alley ways like the rats they are.

Drug dealers are the scum of the earth, I could care less which drug they are selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

I do think it depends on the crime being committed. Vehicles are tricky though. If it is the case of doing 45 in a 40k zone, how would i even know? i don't have a speed camera on the car. anything that can distract you/impair you when behind the wheel is a serious matter.

I once reported someone for going mach 2 through a residential estate. The guard said there was nothing he could do as he hadn't seen the incident himself.

Years ago, i was in Galway and saw a bangarda pulling her jeep onto the roundabout at Salthill while talking on her phone. Extremely dangerous, but if they don't care themselves, what can you do?

That being said, something like downloading music from file sharing, i'd never report.

Just to get this straight, are you against reporting crimes like drug dealing because you're ideologically against "ratting" people out or because you just happen to disagree with the particular crime?