What if the Gardaí paid you to report people for minor crimes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Years ago an ould fella around here used to report people who were on the dole and doing an odd nixer on the side, a few lads saw him watching them working in a field and turned his car upside down, that finished that.

Wouldn't be a grass myself but each to their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Years ago an ould fella around here used to report people who were on the dole and doing an odd nixer on the side, a few lads saw him watching them working in a field and turned his car upside down, that finished that.

Wouldn't be a grass myself but each to their own.

So a group of thugs intimidated an old man into silence. Was anything done about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

So a group of thugs intimidated an old man into silence. Was anything done about it?

It would appear that the thinking is that defrauding the tax payer and then turning a man's car upside down is less serious than someone reporting them for abusing the social welfare system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The word rat has such negative connotations. On the one hand, you have people hear going on about society going to hell in a handbasket due to the levels of crime and lawlessness. Yet, if you pop into the local station to report a crime you're considered a rat. Which is it?
    You're not considered a rat if you report certain crimes. For instance, if a guy is on his phone but driving perfectly ok, reporting him just because he's doing something illegal even though it's effecting no body is poor form.
    Now if some granny is violently mugged and you saw it happen, or got a photo of the guy who did it, helping the gardai find the guy wouldn't make you a rat. The way I see it, the if you think a crime is worthy of reporting and someone called you a rat for reporting it, you'd probably consider that person to be a scumbag and not really care about their opinion.
    There's no black and white line to be drawn here, it's up to the individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've no idea, it happened about 30 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Cienciano wrote: »
    You're not considered a rat if you report certain crimes. For instance, if a guy is on his phone but driving perfectly ok, reporting him just because he's doing something illegal even though it's effecting no body is poor form.
    Now if some granny is violently mugged and you saw it happen, or got a photo of the guy who did it, helping the gardai find the guy wouldn't make you a rat. The way I see it, the if you think a crime is worthy of reporting and someone called you a rat for reporting it, you'd probably consider that person to be a scumbag and not really care about their opinion.
    There's no black and white line to be drawn here, it's up to the individual.

I don't think it's bad form to report the first one. It's an extremely dangerous thing to do, and has been responsible for road deaths. So I don't consider it bad form. What I consider bad form is this aul Irish attitude of "Ara, shure, til be grand". It's a gombeen attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭woodturner

I would in a heart beat. Not for the money though, just to make the roads safer. How many people have been killed on the road while on their mobile? Between the people killed in car accidents and pedestrians struck by people neglecting to pay attention on the road. How would you feel if you hadn't reported them and months later they struck your child walking along the road or collided into a family members car as they were heading to the shops? I'd never live with myself knowing that I may have been able to prevent it. I know the punishment may not make the person change their ways but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Big Steve wrote: »
    A physical presence and a much heftier fine would be a better deterrent for the likes of that. At the moment its something like €80 and 2 points for being on the phone. What about 3 points and €150 fine? I think people would be more put off by that instead.

All studies show if you increase punishment it has no lasting effect as people return to their old ways. Humans are very simple creatures, if you do something and don't get caught you will do it again. The less you get caught the more you will do it. Just plain human nature. They also get angry when they are caught because of a misplaced sense of injustice because they did it so many times before being caught now seems un fair.

The only thing that stops behaviour is being caught and fear of being caught. Much more effective than any increased fine or punishment.

Very common sight in slow moving traffic is people on their phones. I regularly beep at people as they veer of the road while looking at their phones. Must see it about 5 times a week easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

But they're both crimes. How can you differentiate between them?
    Can you seriously not think of a reason people might report 1 crime and not another, are you really confused why someone would "rat" on a person for raping them, but not report their neighbour for illegally jaywalking across the road?
    This is a depressing thread. In my opinion if it ever got to the stage where people were looking to rat one another out for small offences it would really make Ireland a much worse place. Maybe it's just me, but something I love about here is that it feels like usually people will look out for one another
    Most posting seem to feel their reporting IS a form of looking out for others.

pundy wrote: »
    im the sort of person who doesnt go around ratting people out for small crimes or "minor crimes" as the OP put it.
    So are there any crimes you would "rat" people out for? Do you consider ratting only to be informing by name, or informing about a crime where you do not know the person. e.g. if your house is burgled would you report it, but if saw them running away and recognised the scumbag doing it would you not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

rubadub wrote: »
    Can you seriously not think of a reason people might report 1 crime and not another, are you really confused why someone would "rat" on a person for raping them, but not report their neighbour for illegally jaywalking across the road?

So are there any crimes you would "rat" people out for? Do you consider ratting only to be informing by name, or informing about a crime where you do not know the person. e.g. if your house is burgled would you report it, but if saw them running away and recognised the scumbag doing it would you not?

To use your example above, if someone caught me breaking into their house I would expect them to report me to the gardaí, I think most people would. However if someone reported me for jaywalking and I got in trouble for it I would think that person who reported me is a right c*nt, would you not?

I suppose everyone draws the line somewhere as to what they would regard a serious crime or a small offence, the confusion occurs because different people would draw the line at different stages.

Personally I found the examples of people reporting drivers using their phones and the case where a poster reported their house mate for selling weed as quite extreme.

I suppose everyone draws the line somewhere
    so where is your line?, that's what I am interested in hearing from people who are using the word "rat" so much, as though they would never "rat" on anybody.

They jaywalking & burglary are obvious ends of the scales. What about drink driving? I know people who would be safer driving with a few drinks than if they were using the phone in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

kama is a bitch;)

Actually Karma is a belief of religions called Hinduism and Buddhism. You can find out what it means here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karma

As the poster you apply it to has tried to do good and advance the good of others the belief in karma will mean good things for them. Perhaps the attainment of moksha and the escape from samsara.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

To use your example above, if someone caught me breaking into their house I would expect them to report me to the gardaí, I think most people would. However if someone reported me for jaywalking and I got in trouble for it I would think that person who reported me is a right c*nt, would you not?

I suppose everyone draws the line somewhere as to what they would regard a serious crime or a small offence, the confusion occurs because different people would draw the line at different stages.

Personally I found the examples of people reporting drivers using their phones and the case where a poster reported their house mate for selling weed as quite extreme.

Breaking the law is breaking the law

carraig2 wrote: »
    Besides the people calling others "rats", I would also like so hear where the likes of yourself would draw the line on reporting people?

Jaywalking perhaps? or illegal digital music? probably amongst the most common & tolerated crimes committed in the country.

I was in dublin city centre a few weeks ago and saw 2 people jaywalk infront of 4 garda standing beside me at the lights, the gardai did nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

im the sort of person who doesnt go around ratting people out for small crimes or "minor crimes" as the OP put it.

some people in this country have a very ingrained sense of betterment or "one-up-man-ship" than your fellow irish citizen, and this type of thing proves to me that these sort of people will stop at nothing to get their kicks and their sense of betterment can only be achieved by this type of behaviour.

it's disgusting. it makes the "rat" disgusting too. revolting in fact. and it's literally these sort of do-gooder ar5eholes that have this country ruined.

This reminds of something recently where a whistleblower was called disgusting. Now what was that, umm....
    Do gooders have the country ruined? There was me thinking it was incompetent developers, bankers, chancers, corrupt politicians and bishops who put the rep of an institution before the needs of the child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

so where is your line?, that's what I am interested in hearing from people who are using the word "rat" so much, as though they would never "rat" on anybody.

They jaywalking & burglary are obvious ends of the scales. What about drink driving? I know people who would be safer driving with a few drinks than if they were using the phone in the car.

I would definitely rat on someone, but only if it was something I thought was worth reporting. Physical violence, theft, causing harm to others.. Drink driving probably is where I would draw the line, if I saw someone who was swerving around on the road and it looked likely that there could be an accident I would probably report it, but if they had a pint or two and were on their way I would leave it.
    carraig2 wrote: »

True but there is a big difference between a 17 year old going for a pint and someone murdering someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I rat out anyone who I see breaking the law regardless of how severe or trivial people think it is.

Do you not think you're wasting the Gardai's time? I mean there's plenty of minor offences that they let off because it isn't worth the hassle.

On my way home from work (Galway) I saw that the Spanish Arch is full of people out enjoying the sunshine and drinking. Technically breaking the law but it always happens. Would you be whipping out the mobile asking the ERU to be deployed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Too open to abuse.

I'd report any serious crime I saw, not someone using a phone while driving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 vellakare

Its impossible to define the difference.

Someone antisocial, an utter scumbag gets reported, the person reporting is a whistleblower.

Someone normal, just getting by, using the system, gets reported, and reported out of spite, the person is a rat.

A Strange undefineable common sense decides.

Last week, in a certain South East Asian country, a Muslim friend of mine was reported for Khalwat and smoking grass. Khalwat being socialising with unmarried women, opposite sex. The police give 220 Euro for a fine, and 70 Euro to the reporter.

Lets just say, right now, the person who did the reporting is in a government hospital in a wheelchair. They are rats. And rats must be exterminated.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I rat out anyone who I see breaking the law regardless of how severe or trivial people think it is.
    If I did that I'd have to leave about an 2-3 hours earlier each day, as each day I encounter about 20 law breakers within 6-7 mins of leaving the house on my way to work, the local garda station is at that point on my journey. I would usually spot another 30 or so from there until I get to work.
    I would definitely rat on someone, but only if it was something I thought was worth reporting. Physical violence, theft, causing harm to others.
    Good to see you are consistent and would call yourself a rat.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

you must be extremely sensitive to have felt like your life was made miserable by a housemate (technically within his rights to have "friends" over to the house) smoking a bit of hash in the living room.

please Mr. Law come and save me i'm weak!!!

What would you do if you found out the dealer was selling to 15 year olds? Would you get the Guards involved then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

What would you do if you found out the dealer was selling to 15 year olds? Would you get the Guards involved then?

no, probably not. it's none of my business - even if i was renting the house aswell. it's a house-share, so i wouldnt expect much privacy. you want to be away from all that sort of thing, then spend the extra money and rent your own place.

no, i still wouldnt rat. MAYBE if they were under that ages i'd have a word with him, but no i wouldnt go to the police.

sure what if i wanted to break the law in future? it would be bad karma

it depends obviously - but yeah, if the crime is serious, or someone is hurt/abused/threatened in some way serious, then yes i would probably rat it out, but to be truly honest, no i wouldnt actually. i just wouldnt be ar5ed.

im not a busy body, and i couldn't give a sh!t what goes on around me to be quite frank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

my moral compass is perfectly in tune

Your moral compass is badly broken.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Your moral compass is badly broken.

no it isnt. im just not a dope like a lot of busy-bodies in this country who just hate each other for absolutely no reason.

and my point about perhaps wanting to break a law in the future is based on the absolutely ridiculous draconian laws that are in this country and perhaps new sh!t laws to come in future.

but i've only 2 years left in this dump country anyway, so roll on 2016!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The state would be broke(r) within a week were AGS to implement such a scheme
    i would deem any crimes which ACTUALLY harm others to be worth of being reported...
    so dealing an illegal drug doesn't cause harm to others :confused: right....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,057 ✭✭✭✭josip

Let's all look forward to 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

c_man wrote: »
    Do you not think you're wasting the Gardai's time? I mean there's plenty of minor offences that they let off because it isn't worth the hassle.

On my way home from work (Galway) I saw that the Spanish Arch is full of people out enjoying the sunshine and drinking. Technically breaking the law but it always happens. Would you be whipping out the mobile asking the ERU to be deployed?

Something like that I would report to the town or county council and allow them to do their job and shut down the places which allow or facilitate the illegal behaviour. But I would probably report the illegal drinking to the Gardai as such behaviour especially where drink is involved usually leads to violence and assaults and anti social behaviour later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

no, probably not. it's none of my business - even if i was renting the house aswell. it's a house-share, so i wouldnt expect much privacy. you want to be away from all that sort of thing, then spend the extra money and rent your own place.

no, i still wouldnt rat. MAYBE if they were under that ages i'd have a word with him, but no i wouldnt go to the police.

What if the scumbag dealer was selling to your younger sister or daughter and trying to ride her when he got her stoned?