Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

AS the minute’s silence ended and roars once again thundered off the Kop, Steven Gerrard could be seen looking to the skies, no doubt taking a moment to remember Jon-Paul Gilhooley, his 10-year-old cousin who went to Hillsborough a quarter of a century ago and never came home. Close to two hours later the same man was in tears and then, his face red with emotion, he banged his fist and spat orders into a huddle of team-mates, making himself heard as Kopite-roars once again swirled around him.

“We go to Norwich and do exactly the same. We’re going to win the league. COME ON!!!”

If ever there was an afternoon that encapsulated Steven Gerrard’s relationship with Liverpool, it was this. Here was a life, a love affair, drawn out across a helter-skelter encounter tinged with great emotion, which ultimately ended with Liverpool beating Manchester City 3-2 and the sense that the title, No19, is on its way to Anfield.

At the centre of it all, quite literally, was Gerrard; the boy from Huyton who was raised a Red, idolised John Barnes, dreamt of being Steve McMahon, lost a family member in what remains the saddest, most hurtful chapter in Liverpool’s history and had dedicated his adult life to representing not just his club but also his city. Of course he cried at the end, and of course it was him who told those around him to keep going. After all, he’s kept going ever since he was 18.

Full Article: http://www.theanfieldwrap.com/2014/04/go-norwich-exactly/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=go-norwich-exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

hefferboi wrote: »
    BlHf5m_IUAAozFS.jpg

Stevie giving me a preview of whats to come. Sakho might get in on the action with pants like that ;)

Only just noticed Henderson's face. Hilarious. Have to feel sorry for the poor fella though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Knex. wrote: »
    State of Cissokho as well :pac:

Is that you Andre Marriner???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Knex. wrote: »
    Only just noticed Henderson's face. Hilarious. Have to feel sorry for the poor fella though.

Yeah I feel bad for him. Poor touch in the dying minutes and he didn't want to be the one to make a mistake. He's been superb all year and deserves to play the final 4 games. Hopefully we're still in with a chance for the last game and he can contribute something to make up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭klose

Sakho is staring into my soul in that photo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Check out the joy on Sterlings face just after Stevie gives that rousing speech in the huddle at the end, love it!

Poor Hendo, looks dejected above, feel for the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

BlHf5m_IUAAozFS.jpg

Stevie giving me a preview of whats to come. Sakho might get in on the action with pants like that ;)

Henderson looking very sheepish after his red card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

So Hendo is gone for norwhich and Chelsea game ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Steve Holland did the post match interview instead of Mourinho. Sounds like he thinks the game at Anfield is won already!
    "The title is still in Manchester City's hands if they win all their games. We've still got a Champions League semi-final to look forward to as well. That's what Chelsea are all about, playing in the big games."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I really dont understand why Man United supporters are so fascinated with Liverpool. Its like an obsession
    I love to see it lads. Makes it so much better. Have a read of the Manu thread as well. Apparently they "gifted" us 6 points. Makes this season all the sweeter :)

gifstache.com_2269_1350072004.gif

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Aided yet again by that inept referee (who has gifted you games in the past) who failed to see a clear handball, send Suarez off for diving and kicking the ball away.

and then the highjacking of a campaign for justice to further raise the profile of the club - cause that's what it has descended to.

Hope ye are proud of the club.

Jesus man, that's disgraceful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

So Hendo is gone for norwhich and Chelsea game ??

And Palace. Back for Newcastle on last day of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Had a quick scan over the match thread, seems a rather pointless excercise engaging in it, seems like nothing but a troll fest from all fans, petty squabbling going on and reading a vidiprinter of 'ooh good shot' or 'how'd he miss that' all going on when Liverpools biggest match in donkeys years is going on, you should have been too busy biting your nails and watching the game than refreshing every 2 seconds and scrolling through a thread looking to make a quip that might boost your 'thanks' rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Had a quick scan over the match thread, seems a rather pointless excercise engaging in it, seems like nothing but a troll fest from all fans, petty squabbling going on and reading a vidiprinter of 'ooh good shot' or 'how'd he miss that' all going on when Liverpools biggest match in donkeys years is going on, you should have been too busy biting your nails and watching the game than refreshing every 2 seconds and scrolling through a thread looking to make a quip that might boost your 'thanks' rate.

Aww please you enjoy your football however you want and let others do the same!

Steve Holland did the post match interview instead of Mourinho. Sounds like he thinks the game at Anfield is won already!

Terry the same, after admitting that he urged the ref to send off another player, he then said the lfc win was the result he wanted.....seems like they think the anfield game is a foregone conclusion, delighted with their attitude to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Still a long way to go.
    Bring it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,784 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Agreed, I don't understand how people can focus on a game if they are constantly posting on boards. Used to do it and found it distracting and you actually missed key incidents.

well done gary monk - calling mourinho on his shenanigans, but of course the man himself has cowered away and left his assistant to do the post-match stuff, no handshake either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Buzz_Killington.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Just when you thought Mourinho couldn't get any more odious.

Despicable little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It's a bit hard to evaluate the game and the performances. After the first 30, not many had a great game. Not much positive to be say about any of them in the 2nd half.

We had excellent passages of play when we were on top and Henderson, Gerrard, Coutinho and Sterling were amazing for most of the first half.
    While we were defending solidly Skrtel and Mignolet made some excellent interventions, Flannagan and Johnson were pretty solid throughout.
    Sakho did his thing of not looking composed but actually being composed and took command of some fairly tricky situations and gave a good ball out of defence to put us on the front foot.

The end of the first was a bit of a scramble but we defended fairly well for the most part.

The **** hit the fan in the 2nd half. We started misplacing passes all over (partly lack of composure, partly City putting pressure on). We gave away a good few silly fouls.
    Our attacks were over eager and lacking in end product - Coutinho and Sterling were pretty smart about their play in the first half but started forcing things too much in the 2nd or not taking the correct options.

By and large I thought both Suarez and Sturridge had bad games. Not hot and cold like the rest but bad throughout.
    Suarez was absolutely all over the place. He stopped playing football and started dicking around. We need him to have a calmer game and keep things ticking over when they're not quite working out. Begging the ref to send him off doesn't help.
    Sturridge was just fairly anonymous.

Allen was brilliant when he came on. My heart rate dropped about a quarter thanks to him. Made things a little less silly.

It's hard to pick a MotM because how hot and cold we were but Gerrard was it for me. When we were on top he was imperious. When we were getting a kicking he made a few excellent interventions but never looked like he was losing the run of himself like the rest of our team. He dug in and although we got a bit of luck, he was a large part of why we didn't completely **** it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Fizman wrote: »
    Just when you thought Mourinho couldn't get any more odious.

Despicable little man.

What did he do now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Just coming round now with the help of a few O'Haras red, but the last 15 mins today killed me.... I'm still trying to play it all down...but I can't... We is gonna win the league!!!!

10250888_10201594166674386_1370365374_n.jpg?oh=481e124d8c50c42656d3919f2a89f878&oe=534CDC05&__gda__=1397536865_34ad8f23ef267827c7ff30a40352cac7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I couldn't stop shaking during the match. We might actually win the league, can't believe it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Today was massive, but losing Hendo and possibly Sturridge could ruin things. Hate the idea of playing Chelsea at this stage, but I'm still happy with likely CL :):):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

How many games is Hendo out for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Gbear wrote: »
    It's a bit hard to evaluate the game and the performances. After the first 30, not many had a great game. Not much positive to be say about any of them in the 2nd half.

We had excellent passages of play when we were on top and Henderson, Gerrard, Coutinho and Sterling were amazing for most of the first half.
    While we were defending solidly Skrtel and Mignolet made some excellent interventions, Flannagan and Johnson were pretty solid throughout.
    Sakho did his thing of not looking composed but actually being composed and took command of some fairly tricky situations and gave a good ball out of defence to put us on the front foot.

The end of the first was a bit of a scramble but we defended fairly well for the most part.

The **** hit the fan in the 2nd half. We started misplacing passes all over (partly lack of composure, partly City putting pressure on). We gave away a good few silly fouls.
    Our attacks were over eager and lacking in end product - Coutinho and Sterling were pretty smart about their play in the first half but started forcing things too much in the 2nd or not taking the correct options.

By and large I thought both Suarez and Sturridge had bad games. Not hot and cold like the rest but bad throughout.
    Suarez was absolutely all over the place. He stopped playing football and started dicking around. We need him to have a calmer game and keep things ticking over when they're not quite working out. Begging the ref to send him off doesn't help.
    Sturridge was just fairly anonymous.

Allen was brilliant when he came on. My heart rate dropped about a quarter thanks to him. Made things a little less silly.

It's hard to pick a MotM because how hot and cold we were but Gerrard was it for me. When we were on top he was imperious. When we were getting a kicking he made a few excellent interventions but never looked like he was losing the run of himself like the rest of our team. He dug in and although we got a bit of luck, he was a large part of why we didn't completely **** it up.

Appreciate the effort and analysis but I think the emotion of the day and the way the game went just throws all this type of stuff out the window.

Man City are a great side and have the ability to control games and come back from behind.
    Winning titles is never going to be easy and without bumps.

My only concern from today's game is Sturridge does not seem to be on form despite now possibly being injured and how will we be without Henderson for 3 games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Augmerson wrote: »
    How many games is Hendo out for?

Straight red means 3 games .

Grayditch wrote: »
    Today was massive, but losing Hendo and possibly Sturridge could ruin things. Hate the idea of playing Chelsea at this stage, but I'm still happy with likely CL :):):)

I'm actually feeling confident about Chelsea, they offer nothing up front and our match sandwiched between 2 CL finals is bound to be a factor.
    Today was a much bigger test.

It would be lovely to beat Mourinho and an on the bench Torres at Anfield to almost complete the title.