Worst alcoholic you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

catallus wrote: »
    Personally, I'd stop drinking right now, if I could find another way of getting all this alcohol into me :)

Wouldn't it be nice if we could store it all in a camel hump or two, so we'd be nice and tipsy on the workaday caravan, and go mad at the oasis at the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Personally, I'd stop drinking right now, if I could find another way of getting all this alcohol into me :)

Enema?

Enema?

Bottoms up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

Alex Ferguson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I used to know a man who had a camel....no I didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I know a fella whose doctor told him to stop drinking and smoking or it would kill him. He didn't take his doctors advice, he died last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Watch & learn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

^^^^

I was just thinking that! Idiots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

''Worst alcoholic you know''. as though we should be wracking our brains and calculating the alcohol consumption of all of the alcoholics we know..er.. I don't know any, and if I did I wouldn't have a data sheet detailing their alcohol consumption, to hand. However there are a fair few of them on boards.ie in after hours judging by the frequency of the mentions of benders, binges and drunken weekends/ sessions. Many of the regular posters cannot function nor enjoy themselves without alcohol if their posts are anything to go by. Don't be normalising that stuff, though. Alcoholism is an illness.

As the joke went, My uncle worked for Jameson and drowned in a Vat of whiskey. His workmates tried to save him but he fought them off bravely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

I know a fella who showing off in the pub ,amid the pleas of his fellow boozers not to, made a bet that he could slug off a bottle of whiskey in one slug.

The poor bastard had a stroke while 3/4 way through the bottle and is now blind in one eye and the left hand side of his body does fcuk all.

Be careful out there lads.

At least he didn't die.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055016901

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭whitey1

I used to work in a hardcore drinkers pub in the West of Ireland....know several people personally drank themselves to death, and several others who are medical miracles because they're still alive.

One guy in his thirties told to lay off the brandy-I guess it can do in your heart valves. Found dead at 43 with a blown out heart valve. This fella would give you the shirt off his back, tough as nails, great craic, unbelievable worker, the best neighbor you could ask for. But once the demon came calling.....you might not see him for a week.

Know another character....McAlpines Fusileer type....worked in England for years and came home when his parents died to take over the "farm". He had a saying...I drank enough to float the Queen Elizabeth and I spent so much on drink that'd sink the Queen Mary. Serious poitin binges that would go on for weeks on end. No food, no heat or fire in the house, no personal hygiene, a serious accident off a Honda 50, dog pissing and ****ting all over the place-and he lasted well into his 80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

My uncle, i have a good few alcoholics in my family history, great-grandfather used to fall off his bicycle into the ditch. I don't drink myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Muise... wrote: »
    How are we measuring this, OP: units of alcohol, lulz, or litres of blood and tears shed?

In terms of damage to the country: Bertie Cowen?

Remember the time he came on the radio (as Taoiseach ) pissed at 9.30 in the morning, having been singing songs pissed in the pub at 2.30 in the morning?

maryishere wrote: »

Remember the time he came on the radio (as Taoiseach ) pissed at 9.30 in the morning, having been singing songs pissed in the pub at 2.30 in the morning?

He was that hammered, he swapped names with Brian Ahern. What an Árd Fheis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

My husband went out one night at about midnight to retrieve his friend from a ditch. I don't even know who 'phonned him or how but the only sensible one on the scene was the English tourist he had caused to veer into a ditch when he came toward them driving/ weaving in the middle of the single track road, followed by him wobbling off his motorbike into the ditch and lying there UNDER the bike til help (husband) arrived. It is not funny watching people making fools of themselves or utting themselves and others in danger like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You're very cynical tonight. Tell us a story about a man you know?

I know a man who drank a lot and died.

Its not a great story but at least its better than "I deliver drink for a living and I have seen some stories and the best I can come up with is a guy who pours vodka into his wind screen washer to hide his drinking from his wife" :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I remember that interview. If that counts as pissed then so are most A&E doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Technically somebody that has one drink a night is an alcoholic because they would not be able to function without this drink
    Well no, not exactly. Someone may have a drink a night despite being able to go months without one. If they drink out of necessity and in order to function then yes, it is alcoholism. In theory someone may drink once a night for other reasons regardless of being an alcohol (although I imagine it is rare.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I know a guy in work who has at least a pint every night. Even Mondays. He than might have 4 or 5 pints on a Saturday and a Sunday. If that isn't a problem with drink I don't know what is

I think my fellow AH'ers have this one covered already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Polarix

Some people think that alcoholics are just some sort of entertainment / story for them.
    "Let's all point and laugh at the alco" mentality seems to be still alive and well in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Polarix wrote: »
    Some people think that alcoholics are just some sort of entertainment / story for them.
    "Let's all point and laugh at the alco" mentality seems to be still alive and well in Ireland.

Sad thing is, there's at least one in every extended family. There's been several in my family. When they spoke about it, it conjured up an uncomfortable atmosphere with other family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I know a guy in work who has at least a pint every night. Even Mondays. He than might have 4 or 5 pints on a Saturday and a Sunday. If that isn't a problem with drink I don't know what is

This guy is a clear winner.

As alcoholism goes, he's absolutely rubbish at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Never knew him but he was a famous drinking partner of Oliver Reed, drummer with the Who and died in his sleep at age 32.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

syklops wrote: »
    I know a man who drank a lot and died.

Its not a great story but at least its better than "I deliver drink for a living and I have seen some stories and the best I can come up with is a guy who pours vodka into his wind screen washer to hide his drinking from his wife" :confused:

Care to tell us so skylops? I'd consider that fairly desperate or is it just the fact you don't believe me? Take what you want from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I know a guy who was at the doctor and he was told to stop drinking so much, he told the doctor that one of his friends drank 8 pints each night so he was fine by comparison. Doc told him he wouldn't be friends with the 8 Pinter for to much longer.

He died within two months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

The horse that won the scottish grand national yesterday was call al co

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Nero played the harp as Rome burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Nero played the harp as Rome burned.

Was it not the fiddle ?