Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst alcoholic you know?

• 12-04-2014 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

Man up the road from me is gone into an addiction service from alcohol. He is elderly now and an absolute wreck from drink but rumor has it that he hasn't been sober for 30 years.

Neighbor who lived beside him reckons he drank a liter of brandy and 8 cans of cider everyday for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Neighbor who lived beside him reckons he drank a liter of brandy and 8 cans of cider everyday for years.

Lightweight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

My uncle used to drink 3 bottles of whiskey a day. Jumped off a canal bridge locked and broke his leg.

You could say he was partial to a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

My uncle used to drink 3 bottles of whiskey a day. Jumped off a canal bridge locked and broke his leg.

When you say bottles do you mean liter bottles? Crazy amount of alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gone are the days where that's seen as a sign of alcoholism. Shur people do that crap for likes on Facebook now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

At age 51 doctors gave up on my uncle, poor fella was a hopeless alcoholic. lived till he was 61 before his body gave out, the man would just drink till he choked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Chinwaggers are usually worse than alcho's in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I knew a guy who drank one bottle of whiskey everyday. He was a nice fella, if he was half sober, but he could be an angry drunk. Throat cancer killed him in his early 60's.

I knew another guy who was an ex-priest, and he drank a lot of brandy-and-port. He's dead too, heart-attack in his late 50's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

A guy I went to secondary school with. The salt of the earth, a nicer lad you wouldn't meet. Played on the school's football team with him too. A classy footballer. Brains to burn too.

8 years later. Living in a bedsit in Dublin, broke and unemployed. Spoke to his sister about a month ago, she told me he will not accept any help, be it professional or from his family. He drinks a bottle of whiskey and whatever cans of beer he can get his hands on. I don't know how he affords all this on €188 per week, I wouldn't like to guess either.

He's 26 but looks late 30s.

Sad.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

My aunt literally drank herself to death, one party too many and she died, she'd drink a litre of vodka for breakfast.

My OHs friend ordered enough booze to drink himself to death

I'd to attend both funerals

It's not a specially funny topic, my memories of both are very very sad, I remember my OHs friend arriving into us pissed out of his mind, and telling my OH he was lucky to have a partner who would make him a cup a soup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Pfft my uncle used to eat his bottles after he drank the whisky out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

The worst alcoholic is the one who doesn't realise they are one.

The best way to describe it is if it is affecting your life. Having two cans every night is not an alcoholic in my book but if your neglecting work/family because of drink then you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Shane McGowen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

How are we measuring this, OP: units of alcohol, lulz, or litres of blood and tears shed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I know a guy in work who has at least a pint every night. Even Mondays. He than might have 4 or 5 pints on a Saturday and a Sunday. If that isn't a problem with drink I don't know what is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Stheno wrote: »
    My aunt literally drank herself to death, one party too many and she died, she'd drink a litre of vodka for breakfast.

My OHs friend ordered enough booze to drink himself to death

I'd to attend both funerals

It's not a specially funny topic, my memories of both are very very sad, I remember my OHs friend arriving into us pissed out of his mind, and telling my OH he was lucky to have a partner who would make him a cup a soup

Good post. This is the reality of it I'm afraid, not a competition for who is the most shameful drunk we know to make us all feel superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭skippy15

If I can't name one of my friends does it mean it's me?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

You're only an alcoholic if you drink more than your gp. (apparently)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Frynge wrote: »
    Shane McGowen

How that guy is still alive I don't know.

There will be a few Phd's made from his autopsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I know a guy in work who has at least a pint every night. Even Mondays. He than might have 4 or 5 pints on a Saturday and a Sunday. If that isn't a problem with drink I don't know what is

I think that's moderate. Far more sensible than being teetotal for a week or two and then going out and cutting through 50 units in one sitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Dennis Hopper claimed to have been drinking a half a gallon of rum with a fifth of rum on the side and twenty-eight beers per day at his worst.

But he also said he couldn't remember much of that period so how could he be able to remember exactly how much he was drinking!

Merkin wrote: »
    I think that's moderate. Far more sensible than being teetotal for a week or two and then going out and cutting through 50 units in one sitting.

Good point, never thought of it like that

syklops wrote: »
    How that guy is still alive I don't know.

There will be a few Phd's made from his autopsy.

Part of that is a persona, the persona of being Shane. Not to say he doesn't put away somewhat over the recommended limits.

Pints of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

My dad does that. Reckons it's better than drinking 15 pints in one session. I'd tend to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

My Boards user name is up for auction.

Two slabs and a bottle of Smirnoff and its yours.

A fcuking WHOLE pint every night :confused: even on a Monday ......

How in under fůck is he still a living person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I've a friend who doesn't drink. Absolutely useless alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

I know a guy in work who has at least a pint every night. Even Mondays. He than might have 4 or 5 pints on a Saturday and a Sunday. If that isn't a problem with drink I don't know what is[/QUote

uh oh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

porsche959 wrote: »
    Dennis Hopper claimed to have been drinking a half a gallon of rum with a fifth of rum on the side and twenty-eight beers per day at his worst.

I've been looking for an interview he did on the BBC in or around 1999-2002, I saw it one night and it was really interesting, he said he drank so much and took so much bad quality drugs, he came back to the US after filming something and was going to kill himself but an ex-gf stopped him, I can't find it anywhere, but it was a really good 30 minute interview. His description of the self-inflicted harm the drink and drugs did to him was chilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

porsche959 wrote: »
    Part of that is a persona, the persona of being Shane. Not to say he doesn't put away somewhat over the recommended limits.

You'd wonder also how much of that is actually the reality these days & how much is just playing up to his reputation e.g. drinking a pint & having his entourage tell everyone it's his 12th.

Keith Richards snorted his old mans ashes, dunno if that can be topped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I know a guy in work who has at least a pint every night.

Do not approach this man, he may be dangerous.

Replace pint with tea in that sentence and come back to us.

You think thats a problem with drink? :rolleyes:

Technically somebody that has one drink a night is an alcoholic because they would not be able to function without this drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Technically somebody that has one drink a night is an alcoholic because they would not be able to function without this drink

Says who?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Custardpi wrote: »
    You'd wonder also how much of that is actually the reality these days & how much is just playing up to his reputation e.g. drinking a pint & having his entourage tell everyone it's his 12th.

Doubt he has much of an entourage these days to be fair and he definitely still hits it hard. He was at the FM music store for a signing a couple of years back and refused to sign anything until he had a bottle of brandy in front of him. A lad working in the shop had to run up to Dunnes and get him one. Sad way to be in my view but he seems to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Yep that's true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

In places like France and Italy most people have a glass of wine with their dinner. But that doesnt make them an alcoholic. But if they were having 2/3 bottles a night, that makes them an alcoholic.

Only 3% of Irish people drink everyday which is the lowest in the EU. But we are the biggest binge drinkers in the EU

Function as what?

I wouldn't risk functioning as a driver. But everything else I am pretty much unaffected :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

How do you know they couldn't function ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I know a fella who showing off in the pub ,amid the pleas of his fellow boozers not to, made a bet that he could slug off a bottle of whiskey in one slug.

The poor bastard had a stroke while 3/4 way through the bottle and is now blind in one eye and the left hand side of his body does fcuk all.

Be careful out there lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Merkin wrote: »
    Says who?:confused:

AA I suspect.

A huge amount of bullshit pseudo-expertise has attached itself to alcohol addiction.

There is so much bollocks in this sentence...

I know a fella who showing off in the pub ,amid the pleas of his fellow boozers not to, made a bet that he could slug off a bottle of whiskey in one slug.

The poor bastard had a stroke while 3/4 way through the bottle and is now blind in one eye and the left hand side of his body does fcuk all.

Be careful out there lads.

Or you could end up with your username :eek:

Already the "I know a fella / I know a guy" stories have started.
    Karl Stein wrote: »
    AA I suspect.

A huge amount of bullshit pseudo-expertise has attached itself to alcohol addiction.

Absolutely. Between AA, the church(the shame of it!), and peoples general ignorance, there is a lot of myths around about alcohol and people addicted to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Not so. That theory is based on the idea of dependence, with the idea being that the guy who cannot function without his one pint every single day, or every second day, or whatever, is an alcoholic, in that his daily life is adversely effected by his relationship with alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Man I know who tries to hide his drinking from his wife by various means including pretending to drive down for the paper filling the window washer compartment in his car with vodka.then nips down to his garage with a straw to drink it throughout the day

beano345 wrote: »
    Man I know who tries to hide his drinking from his wife by various means including pretending to drive down for the paper filling the window washer compartment in his car with vodka.then nips down to his garage with a straw to drink it throughout the day

Another "man I know" story.

Keith Richards snorted his old mans ashes, dunno if that can be topped

Spoof story.
    beano345 wrote: »

He should be on dragons den.