Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hayes strainer

• 28-03-2012 10:29PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭

Howya lads.

Does anyone know where a fella could buy a Hayes wire strainer right quick? I'm under a small bit of pressure for it. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Connact gold have them I think or most hardware stores seem to stock them too.
    http://www.agridirect.ie/index.php/battery-fencers/fencing-accesories/hayes-wire-strainers.html <---- this crowd have them also if you fancy online purchase. Could be next day delivery. Didn;t check postage details.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

where are you?

Farm relief services should have them for sale with the fencing stuff. I think its stradbally farm services that import them

http://www.stradballyfarmservices.com/pel/pel_fencing_tools.html

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

Thanks for that lads I'm in south tipp. There's an frs in cahir might be worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

foxylock wrote: »
    Thanks for that lads I'm in south tipp. There's an frs in cahir might be worth a shot.

The likes of Arrabawn co-op probably stock them; I'm sure Mullahone would have them also.

No matter how much I read the literature or study online postings, I still can't figure out fully how they work and if they're effective. Are they a one-man job? For fencing recently, I have a cable-puller, a ratchet-type job that I anchor to the tractor, put a loop in the wire, slip it through the hook on the puller and strain away. Does the job reasonably well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How do lads strain sheep wire with them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Muckit wrote: »
    How do lads strain sheep wire with them?

Weave a crow bar in through the sheep wire and put the strainer onto the middle of the crow bar and the other end onto the tractor. The couple of time we put up sheep wire that was the way we did it. There might be a better way to do it.

Well lads after a lot of phone calls and a bit of sweatin I finally tracked one down today in Stradbally farm services, I felt it was a bit pricey at 180 Euro but the pressure is on this weekend to get a badly needed fence erected before I move the ewes. Gonna have a fair crack off it tomorrow, as regards how good it is with sheep wire I'll keep ye posted. It could be a baptism of fire with me new fancy strainer goin flyin across the mountain and the wise old man beside me noddding his head with a knowing smile thinking of all the posts that 180 Euro would have bought. Sure ya have to try don't ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭FREDNISMO

That sounds a little pricey, I have seen them in my local co-op for 70e, genuine Hayes strainers at that, unless there is a few different models and the pair that I saw were the base model

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gazahayes

They have them in the co-op near me (north tipp) for €90 last time i was looking for one only wanted the chain as it was lost but it'd cost the same.

FREDNISMO wrote: »
    That sounds a little pricey, I have seen them in my local co-op for 70e, genuine Hayes strainers at that, unless there is a few different models and the pair that I saw were the base model

No pretty standard model as far as I know, everyone I was talking to was on about this price hike, but now as I type this I'm beginning to notice that my ass is a little sore!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Dodge2014

This place is 85e plus vat for the Hayes Wire Strainer H300

http://merchant.iitc.ie/detail.asp?p=137&m=26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Dodge2014 wrote: »
    This place is 85e plus vat for the Hayes Wire Strainer H300

http://merchant.iitc.ie/detail.asp?p=137&m=26

Was just looking at the handlamps on there, some of them are antiques!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 screcrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

anybody use gripples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

anybody use gripples?

For repairs and only if in a hurry. They become the weakest part of the fence. Often glad of one in a rush though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

For repairs and only if in a hurry. They become the weakest part of the fence. Often glad of one in a rush though

Figure of eight knot best job if you have the wire for it

C0N0R wrote: »
    Figure of eight knot best job if you have the wire for it

Yea green steel hi tensile, tighten till you can stand on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Dont know how id manage without me gripple machine and me gripples - repaired 2 fields this evening in jig time with no cursing
    Chain strainer is grand only to get the fecker off the wire when tension on it
    Best yoke i ever bought the gripple
    strainer
    I just tie off each side of gripple once tught then it cant loosen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Na I like to be able to drive the motorbike over me fences, saves opening gates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

C0N0R wrote: »
    Na I like to be able to drive the motorbike over me fences, saves opening gates!
    Was just going to say that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Father here likes that soft wire that he can manage.
    Curse of a yoke cause it breaks if tightened too tight.
    I learned how to do all the proper knits and all.
    Fence makes a place when its done really well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

Can you install a gripple without cutting the wire, or does it have to be snipped with the loose strands fed into either end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Used that aluminum elec fence wire here on a strip last year. It was always singing in the wind but not too tight to break but it ate through the insulation on my pigtales. What do I do wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

satstheway wrote: »
    Used that aluminum elec fence wire here on a strip last year. It was always singing in the wind but not too tight to break but it ate through the insulation on my pigtales. What do I do wrong?
    Pig tails aren't really designed for carrying wire more so designed for polly wire the stuff like string. May also be **** pigtails they all end up like that after a few years but have noticed that some cheap one I bought this year are fecked already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

anybody use gripples?

Use them all the time.The cost of them is easily saved in time if you try to tie the wire PROPERLY.Tying 8 strands of sheepwire is a curse of a slow job.

To pull sheepwire do not use a hayes type puller.Just get a 3ft lenght of angle,weld on a frame to latch a chain onto,drill 8 holes corresponding with the strands on the sheepwire and pull with the tractor.You run the ends of the sheepwire through the holes and place gripples on them to hold it.Never seen them to slip even with a good pull on 300 or 400m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

These the gold foot pigtales. They ain't cheap.
    Galv tying wire used much tighter for years no problem. But this aluminum stuff vibrates at a frequency that just cut through the insulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

MfMan wrote: »
    Can you install a gripple without cutting the wire, or does it have to be snipped with the loose strands fed into either end?

You can get a special gripple lad that has 2 sort of hooks on one end of it, there spose to be for tying off at the end, you loop wire around stake, clip it onto the wire and then run the end through it

This lad here:

http://www.gripple.com/us/products/catalogue/t-clip.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Nothing wrong with gripples.Will hold when pulled with 200hp tractor straining upwards of 400m of wire and very rarely seen one slip.Also if used in a sheep wire fence allows you to tighten the wire at a later stage with a gripple pullers(shouldn't have to but ?).

How else could you strain the middle of a fence where you cannot pull from either end?Use a clamp type chain pullers,then join and strain the middle 10 ft or so with gripple and pullers and then release the clamp pullers.Works a treat and you have a seriously tight fence.

I must be doing wrong. If a wire breaks here its usually the gripple that gives. I only use for repairs when in a rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Father here likes that soft wire that he can manage.
    Curse of a yoke cause it breaks if tightened too tight.
    I learned how to do all the proper knits and all.
    Fence makes a place when its done really well

All soft wire here. Much easier to work with. But I agree about it breaking when over tightened :mad:
    If I could learn to work the high tensile stuff I'd prefer to use it.