BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

'Something' is a wonderful song.

It's a pity George didn't write more songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Skid X wrote: »

He was fairly bitter that a lot of his efforts were rejected by John and Paul.

Imagine Abbey Road without Something and Here Comes The Sun!

It really is fair to say there never will be anything like The Beatles again.

Dear Prudence ... written about Mia Farrows sister, apparently.

Always get a bad feeling when I see a sax in the band.

Edit: unless The Boss is in town.

Koo Koo Ka Choo - Oasis do a nice job on I am The Walrus IMO

Wasn't there a post the other day about how different bands would have turned out without certain members?

Imagine how different the entire of popular music would have been without Brian Epstein.

No Monkees for one thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Skid X wrote: »

Although....... "Within You Without You" always makes me reach for the ">>" button ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

JET!

JET!

JET!

I can almost remember their funny...

*record scratches*

Oh.

I didn't think the BBC would make 2 one-hour documentaries about one song...no matter how great it is :)

Armando Iannucci and Steve Coogan were having no luck getting clearance to use Jet on 'I'm Alan Partridge' ... then Paul McCartney turned up at Coogan's Stage Door and said he was a huge Partridge fan, and if there was ever anything he could do, just ask.

Handy.

I really enjoyed the Sounds of The Sixties programmes.

Some nice performances, old BBC continuity and a rather pompous presenter asking 'The Pink Floyd' and Jimi Hendrix why their music is so loud.

Lovely stuff, alas it doesn't seem to on again in the coming weeks.

'Sounds Of The 70's' on Yesterday right now (if that makes sense)! Not bad so far...Eric Clapton, Hall And Oates, The Eagles, Dire Straits.

Style of hair: mullet-y.

Excellent style in that show, by the sound of it.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Excellent style in that show, by the sound of it.

Every episode seems to focus on one 'genre'...the one just starting is progressive and blues - 'All Right Now' by Free :)

Repeatorama except for the President's Concert, which is on RTE1 in full tonight, and the Britpop compilation, which isn't really a new programme. Ah well.

Tonight

7.30pm Top of The Pops 1979 (Longer version Repeated tonight 1am and Saturday Night)
    Peter Powell presents an edition first broadcast April 12, 1979. Includes performances by Kate Bush, Showaddywaddy, Neil Diamond, Racey, Supertramp, Sham 69, Kandidate, Sister Sledge and Light of the World. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

Friday

9pm & 12.50am Arena: Amy Winehouse - The Day She Came to Dingle
    The story of the singer-songwriter's acoustic performance on Irish TV show Other Voices, filmed at St James's Church in the remote, south-western town of Dingle in 2006. Featuring interviews with some of the people she met on that day, including taxi driver Paddy Kennedy, her bass player Dale Davis and the Rev Mairt Hanley of the Other Voices church

10pm & 1.50am Britpop at the BBC
    A look at the vibrant form of indie music known as Britpop, which 20 years ago stamped its presence onto the UK cultural scene and led to the notion of `Cool Britannia', as a new wave of bands re-evaluated what it meant to be British. The movement was dominated by the battle between its biggest-selling exponents, Blur and Oasis, who in August 1995 did battle in a memorable bid for the number one spot. The programme also features the bands Elastica, Sleeper, Suede and Menswear

11pm &2.50am Blur at Glastonbury (1995)
    Highlights of the 2009 performance on the Pyramid Stage, which brought the festival to an end and included many of the group's most popular songs to thrill the Worthy Farm crowd. Actor Phil Daniels, who helped to popularise the band's quintessential Britpop hit, Parklife, makes a guest appearance on stage

Midnight It's Slade!
    Documentary first shown in 1999 about the band. During their career, the group, led by Noddy Holder, went from skinheads to mirror-hatted, platform shoe-wearing glam rockers, before finally re-emerging as hard rock heroes. Their six number-one singles in the 1970s included Cum on Feel the Noize, Mama Weer All Crazee Now and Merry Xmas Everybody, and they also sold more than 50 million records worldwide. Featuring contributions by band members Holder, Dave Hill, Jim Lea and Don Powell, as well as fans and friends such as Noel Gallagher, Ozzy Osbourne and Suzi Quatro. Narrated by Mark Radcliffe

Saturday
    12.40am Top of The Pops as above

1.15am Sounds of the Seventies: New Wave - Hit Me with your Rhythm Stick
    Performances by new wave bands from the BBC archives, including Elvis Costello, the Police, Ian Dury and the Blockheads, Squeeze, Blondie, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, the Cars, Patti Smith and Iggy Pop. Last in the series

Sunday
    7pm &11.30pm Danny Boy - The Ballad that bewitched the World
    Documentary charting the origins and development of the song, revealing how the ballad was created when English barrister Fred Weatherly put words to traditional melody The Londonderry Air. Contributors including Gabriel Byrne, Rosanne Cash, Brian Kennedy and Barry McGuigan explain the song's enduring appeal and what it has come to symbolise

8pm Ultimate Irish Music at the Royal Albert Hall: A Presidential Celebration
    Highlights of the evening of music, spoken word and dance, which marked Irish President Michael D Higgins' state visit to the UK - the first ever by an Irish head of state. Among the artists performing were Imelda May, Paul Brady, Glen Hansard, Fiona Shaw and Joseph O'Connor. Hosted by Dermot O'Leary

10.30pm Definitely Dusty
    Documentary revisiting the career of Dusty Springfield, the renowned pop diva famous for producing soul classics You Don't Have to Say You Love Me and Son of a Preacher Man. Archive footage shot in both the UK and the US provides an illuminating insight into her glamorous but private personal life, and contributions from her protective inner circle of friends highlight the Dusty behind the panda eyes and blonde beehive. Includes interviews with Tom Jones, Elton John, Burt Bacharach, Lulu and Neil Tennant

Monday
    11pm Great American Anthems: Turn it up to 11
    Huey Morgan presents the story of some of the greatest US rock anthems that emerged during the 1970s, 80s and 90s. A distinct sound evolved from blues and early metal, featuring loud drums, distinct guitar riffs and catchy lyrics, which produced a storm of feel-good tunes. The film focuses on tracks including Alice Cooper's School's Out, Don't Stop Believin' by Journey, Eye of the Tiger by Survivor, Bon Jovi's Livin' on a Prayer and Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. With contributions by Dave Grohl, Toto, Foreigner and more

Bloody repeats. Still, there is a programme about Grizzly Bears on Sat night. They're good.

Probably a repeat, mind you.

It has been a bit uninspiring for the past couple of weeks, I'm sad to say

The Britpop offering is very weak. BBC Radio has had some great shows this week, but BBC4 hasn't stepped up.

They should be showing all of 'Britpop Now'

and this film

and this

in the words of Ian Brown, Amateurs!

Good stuff all this week on Radio 2 and 6 music, especially the documentary presented by Stuart Maconie on Monday night.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b040081n/Britpop_A_Very_British_Pop/

Still slowly trying to make my way through all the 6 music programmes - even stuff broadcast overnight I've still yet to listen back to.

Another good documentary, as part of the series 'Seven Ages Of Rock', focusing on British indie (Smiths to the Stone Roses thru to Britpop)...

Not heard one note of Kula Shaker so far this week :o:D

I was convinced Northern Uproar were going to be the next big thing ... I'm still waiting :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

At least yer man Crispian can still dine out on the fact that he was John Mills's grandson ;)

A music show set in a tiny church, in the most remote part of Ireland?!

That'll never work :D

I'm a regular listener to 'The South Wind Blows', yet I've never seen what Philip King looks like.

Never expected him to look like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm a regular listener to 'The South Wind Blows', yet I've never seen what Philip King looks like.

Never expected him to look like that!

I had to give up listening to "The South Wind Blows" cos his voice irritated me so much!

Just tuned in as the rest of Friday evening's telly is so awful - Amy Winehouse, result! - if anyone sees me posting here after 11pm please tell me to feck off to bed, I've an early alarm tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

OK, Rev Máirt Hanley is....... different........!

Hard to believe she's gone :mad:

Now we get to the good stuff!

Adjust volume to maximum! :D

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I had to give up listening to "The South Wind Blows" cos his voice irritated me so much!

Just tuned in as the rest of Friday evening's telly is so awful - Amy Winehouse, result! - if anyone sees me posting here after 11pm please tell me to feck off to bed, I've an early alarm tomorrow :D

Always sounds as if he shouldn't be broadcasting, as if he's broken into the radio station and is trying to keep quiet in case the garda find him :D

Spot on :D:D:D

Made me actually LOL! (and snort my wine!)

Not sure how long I'll last with the auld BritPop.......

Elastica...not as good as Wire!

HIYO!

Euwwww - thought Joe Dolan was the only one who did the knickers thing :eek: