Enda Kenny to invite British Royals to 1916 Easter Rising celebrations??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

pojfexcsc wrote: »
    **** sake it happened to innocent men and boys who are Irish as me and anyone else born here, stop the apologist nonsense.

I'm not apologising. I never said they weren't Irish, wouldn't matter if they were British either. It wasn't in ROI.. That is a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭pojfexcsc

Why would we be inviting head of other states anyway?

bear1 wrote: »
    I'm not apologising. I never said they weren't Irish, wouldn't matter if they were British either. It wasn't in ROI.. That is a fact.

So the fact this massacre by her army happened a stones throw from rural Donegal negates it being any importance to you? cop on and lets be the ones to drag this off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Why would we be inviting head of other states anyway?

Because it's the done thing.

Look at the 200th anniversaries of Bastille day, or the American declaration of independence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

That day should be solely focused on the men and women who fought for Ireland, having the royals there would just create a media ****storm where everyone and the world media would be focused on the wrong thing.

Ha! Yeah cos the world media gives a toss about irish history squabbles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

bear1 wrote: »
    Bloody Sunday didn't take part in the Republic though. There's a difference.

It's all interlinked though, sure one of the famous figures of the rising was from Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So the fact this massacre by her army happened a stones throw from rural Donegal negates it being any importance to you? cop on and lets be the ones to drag this off topic.

Jesus. I simply said it wasn't in the Republic. A poster mention that paras should be allowed in the parade to say everything is ok after Bloody Sunday.
    Why don't you stop dragging this point on and on and present some other valid points instead of presuming what I meant.

Ha! Yeah cos the world media gives a toss about irish history squabbles!

They cream themselves over anything to do with English royalty, FOX news broadcasting what colour suit she'll be wearing outside the GPO and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

I think Enda is licking the arse of the monarch for his own european ambition.

The 1916 rising represents are struggle for independce.

I don't it would be approciate for the britsh monarch to be present.

Ireland and UK are firm friends and Anglo Irish relations are at a all time high.

Yet i feel the line must be drawn somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

the 1916 celebrations should be about celebrating the bravery of all the rebels who fought in 1916, not another excuse for enda to lick the royal families ass and have union jacks flying all over Dublin.

Ah look, the Jackeens have missed waving the flag. Let them have their day out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

The 1916 rising celebrations.

They can do what they want, it won't affect me, it will be a normal working day (or days) for me.

Outside the capital, you won't even know they are celebrating something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Clebrations or commemorations?

Certainly regarding the Somme/Great War it will all be commemorations in 2016, as there will be little to celebrate considering all the death & horror of that war in which fifty thousand Irish men died.

Will/should people celebtate the centenary of the Easter rising, or should they just mark it and commemorate those who died (from all sides)?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 scamtown

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    The 1916 rising celebrations.

They can do what they want, it won't affect me, it will be a normal working day (or days) for me.

Outside the capital, you won't even know they are celebrating something.
    100 years of selling out the men of 16
    celebration
    , will be ignoring this whole sham..Zzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

LordSutch wrote: »

Will/should people celebtate the centenary of the Easter rising, or should they just mark it and commemorate those who died (from all sides)?

B*llocks they should. Let's not get it mistaken here, there was zero moral equivalency between British imperialism in Ireland and those who sought to oppose it. It wasn't a misfortunate conflict where both sides were culpable; one side sought to suppress the nationhood of the Irish people while another sought to establish it. Someone like James Connolly would be far more worthy of respect and commemoration than the forces who later disgraced themselves in this country in the name of oppression. Sure while we're at it why don't we throw up a few monuments to the Black and Tans in Cork and the Parachute Regiment in Derry? Sure weren't they all combatants and isn't all war terrible?

1916 was the beginning of the struggle for a 32 County Irish Republic, something that hasn't been realised due to the strategic and political interest that Britain retains in this country. It was only last year that they flat refused to provide us with the files they had on the Dublin/Monaghan bombings, an incident they had a direct hand in.

All of this hand-wringing and ceremonial b*llocks is not a sign that Ireland is held in esteem, it's a process whereby the British claim in this country is solidified and justified. Only this time Irish people themselves are participating in it as opposed to fighting it.

Sad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 twistedwrath

What I will be interest to see, however, is the reaction of Northern loyalists/unionists/fleggers if any visit takes place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

FTA69 wrote: »
    B*llocks they should. Let's not get it mistaken here, there was zero moral equivalency between British imperialism in Ireland and those who sought to oppose it. It wasn't a misfortunate conflict where both sides were culpable; one side sought to suppress the nationhood of the Irish people while another sought to establish it. Someone like James Connolly would be far more worthy of respect and commemoration than the forces who later disgraced themselves in this country in the name of oppression. Sure while we're at it why don't we throw up a few monuments to the Black and Tans in Cork and the Parachute Regiment in Derry? Sure weren't they all combatants and isn't all war terrible?

1916 was the beginning of the struggle for a 32 County Irish Republic, something that hasn't been realised due to the strategic and political interest that Britain retains in this country. It was only last year that they flat refused to provide us with the files they had on the Dublin/Monaghan bombings, an incident they had a direct hand in.

All of this hand-wringing and ceremonial b*llocks is not a sign that Ireland is held in esteem, it's a process whereby the British claim in this country is solidified and justified. Only this time Irish people themselves are participating in it as opposed to fighting it.

Sad stuff.

+1, as they used say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I would love to know this blokes opinion

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_aWuoXNjWo&t=7m2s

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Sad stuff.

Chucky urlár!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Chucky urlár!!!

They tukk or jerbzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Sad stuff.

You won't actually believe it but......

http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/yourview/ric-commemoration-a-step-too-far-for-peace-process-205255.html

Yes, retired members of An Garda orgnaized a commemoration in Glasnevin for the RIC and Black and Tans killed during the war of independence... boggles the mind doesn't it? There really are some self loathing eejits out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

conorhal wrote: »

http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/yourview/ric-commemoration-a-step-too-far-for-peace-process-205255.html

Yes, retired members of An Garda orgnaized a commemoration in Glasnevin for the RIC and Black and Tans killed during the war of independence... boggles the mind doesn't it? There really are some self loathing eejits out there.
    Jesus, what a bunch of dicks!

Nodin wrote: »
    +1, as they used say.

And the saddest thing of all is even that eejit McGuinness is at it. A supposed socialist swanning around a f*cking palace congratulating a British monarch on her "contribution to peace" and her "dignity" when she visited Dublin a few years ago. No mention of course that Sinn Féin actually protested her visit at the time.

I don't mind w*nkers, but inconsistent hypocritical w*nkers are impossible to bear.

conorhal,

No surprise those bastards were up to something like that anyway. Honest to God what a shambles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 scamtown

conorhal wrote: »

an garda were formed as a British army police force so no surprise there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Sad stuff.

I used to love my Friday liquid lunches when I worked in London. POETS day was even better, no need to get back to the office.

I know this may be upsetting, but not everything is about " the cause".

Besides, surely the two countries being on amicable terms would make a United Ireland more palatable for a lot of people.

I used to love my Friday liquid lunches when I worked in London. POETS day was even better, no need to get back to the office.

Considering I work in an area that's 80% Muslim in an office that consists entirely of Bangladeshis the auld liquid lunches aren't high on the agenda. Banging fish curries though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Different day, same record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

it's actually sickening, there is absolutely no need for them to be there, Enda Kenny has no backbone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Why, what did you do in 1916?

Told his grandchildren they weren't fit to buckle the shoes of the men of '98!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The way I hear it, Enda is actually planning some red wedding type dinner for later in the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

It is a ridiculous idea. FFS.