If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

mad about running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

beertons wrote: »
    Can't afford a physio, so resting on my own bat for now. I'll give it another week, and go out for a gentle run with a neighbour. See what I'm like, and take it from there. There's 2 trail runs on in Camp, Co.Kerry at the end of June, I wouldn't mind doing the first one. Have free board with the mother in law, been a while since I did hill running. So try to get better by then, and venture back into the unknown. It's only 16k, no bother!
    Hopefully the rest will do the trick. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Cheers John and well done. Is that a PB?
    IT is indeed. Forgot to mention it

Well done! See your few days out did no harm. What date is Run For Boylo?

27th april as far as i know. You doing it?

Feck it, was intending doing it but have a wedding in Galway the day before! Back to square one, will have to look at getting another option in next couple of weeks. Bonnicolon is on next weekend but its only a 5 km. Can you think of one?

Kilmovee 10k this day 2weeks easter saturday. chip timed course with over 400 runners. perfect for ya

Yes that sounds good, where is Kilmovee though? Failing that there is one in Sligo on grounds of Lisadell on Easter Monday and a 8 km in Ballina Easter Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

The Kilmovee 10k is a good one. Well organised, well attended and a good fast course. Theres a short hill at 9k but its downhill then to the finish. Kilmovee is close to Knock airport, part of the race takes you into Roscommon in fact!
    I hope to run it myself as a final warm up for the Limerick marathon on May bank holiday weekend.

I take it neither of ye are going to Belcarra 8k tomorrow?

snailsong wrote: »
    The Kilmovee 10k is a good one. Well organised, well attended and a good fast course. Theres a short hill at 9k but its downhill then to the finish. Kilmovee is close to Knock airport, part of the race takes you into Roscommon in fact!
    I hope to run it myself as a final warm up for the Limerick marathon on May bank holiday weekend.

I take it neither of ye are going to Belcarra 8k tomorrow?

Thanks for that, will aim for that so. No Belcarra for me but hope to make it to McHale Park, good luck tomorrow.

No belcarra for me either. LSR planned for the morning.Best of luck. Let us know how you get on.

Sun 6th april
    10 mile LSR
    1.32.27 pace--9.18/mile

Early morning run with my training partner in which we got soaked in a heavy downpour. Enjoyable run all the same and great to log another LSR.

Mon 7th April
    3 mile jog 27.21 pace--9.07/mile
    forgot to mention but on my LSR y/day morning as i was reaching the bottom of a hill and taking a sharp right handed turn i felt a pain in my right knee as if i jarred it. This happen with 2 miles to go. I finished out the run ok and thought nothing more of it until i ran again this morning. At about the 2 mile mark this morning the pain in the knee returned. Its not painful enough to stop you running but at the same time its uncomfortable. Rest day tomorrow so will do a light jog on Wednesday to see how it is. Its so annoying when you just get over one problem when another one arises.

Wed 8th april
    4miles
    37.01 pace--9.15/mile

How is the knee?

Knee was sound .I done the 4miles on a wood trail so it would be easier on the knee.Hopefully it stays sound.

No belcarra for me either. LSR planned for the morning.Best of luck. Let us know how you get on.

Didn't get on too good. Thought the race was at 1pm, it was on at 12 and I showed up 15 minutes past. Absolutely disgusted and annoyed with myself. Only positive was I finally got to meet Belcarra from here (and there!).
    So I won't decide on my Limerick target until after Kilmovee. Maybe see you there if the injury is cleared up.

Ran 11 mile LSR this morning.Knee felt ok up till the 9 mile mark.Wasnt painfull but just a nagging dull pain.I will rest for a few days and then all guns blazing for kilmovee.What are you aiming for

I was talking to a few people today and explained my knee issue. My better half is struggling with the same thing. Looks like it an ITB band injury. So its stretching and foam rolling for a few days and hopefully run kilmovee 10k on saturday.

Wed 16th april
    2 mile jog
    Steady pace and quickened it up over last half mile.No pain in the knee so happy bout that.

Hi John, do you intend doing the race on Saturday? I'm going to chance the 5 miler on Monday, travelling Saturday doesn't suit me unfortunately as it sounds like a good race.

Thurs 17th april
    5k 26.02
    Hi sam
    Ya im gonna run kilmovee on saturday.The knee felt a bit sore this evening so i will strap it up well and go for it. Which race are ya gonna do.

Thurs 17th april
    5k 26.02
    Hi sam
    Ya im gonna run kilmovee on saturday.The knee felt a bit sore this evening so i will strap it up well and go for it. Which race are ya gonna do.

Good luck John but if you have pain in the knee pull up, you don't want to be out injured! There is an 8km on Easter Monday on the Beleek route, its on Run mayo Run.

Good luck in Kilmovee today John. I missed your updates for the last while.
    I'd love to get in about 40 minutes but I really don't know what shape I'm in.

Look out for a grey haired guy with an orange Athlone flatline running top on. That'll be me.

Well John and Snailsong how did it go?

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Well John and Snailsong how did it go?

Really lovely, well organised race today. About 600 entrants, great spread afterwards.

I ran 39:44 which is 13 seconds off a pb. Very happy with that.

Unfortunately didn't get to meet John, next time. There's a lot of 5, 8, and 10k races in Mayo to look forward to.

Good luck in the 8 on Monday, Sam.

Really lovely, well organised race today. About 600 entrants, great spread afterwards.

Unfortunately didn't get to meet John, next time. There's a lot of 5, 8, and 10k races in Mayo to look forward to.

Great stuff Snailsong, you are all set for taper so, sounds like a race to aim for next year.

Went well today. Started off grand with a nice flat 1k and from about 2k mark to the 6k mark was a slight climb all the way but still felt strong as we pasted the 5k mark. Splits--4.19 4.18 4.25 4.34 4.38. I was beginning to notice that my pace was slowing but i put that down to the pull over the last number of k but i felt that once i turned at the hairpin just after the 6k mark i would pick the pace up again. Sadly this did not happen. I had used up so much energy early on trying to keep my pace up that i was really beginning to struggle. Kept plugging on an crossed the line in 46.32. splits 4.45 4.39 4.50 5.02 5.02. Happy with the run considering i have missed so much training over the past few weeks. Its my second fastest 10k so happy with that.I strapped up the knee before the race and it felt grand during the race so hopefully it stays that way. Lovely course and well organised. Second time running this as i ran it last year in 59.47 so a huge improvement has been made in a year. Onwards to the Run For Boylo next sunday and then try and do the Moy Half Marathon.

Congrats snailsong.i didnt see your post this morning so otherwise i would have kept an eye out for you. I had to go straight away afterwards so couldnt hang around a chat to people like i would have liked to. Serious weather for the race. you must be delighted with that time.

Well done John, huge improvement in a year!

Congrats snailsong.i didnt see your post this morning so otherwise i would have kept an eye out for you. I had to go straight away afterwards so couldnt hang around a chat to people like i would have liked to. Serious weather for the race. you must be delighted with that time.

Yes, very happy. Would have liked another few seconds off for a pb but thats sufficient to give me some confidence before Limerick in 2 weks.