Would you vote for Duncan Stewart

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

WikiHow wrote: »
    The man should be retiring and taking it handy, he must be 70 at least.

My Dad is tipping towards his 80's and still works and is very active. Some retire, some don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Another feckin green party environ mental bollix, wouldn't p1ss on him if he was on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Another feckin green party environ mental bollix, wouldn't p1ss on him if he was on fire.

But you'd be fine with P Flynn in there. :rolleyes:

I'm not saying he'd be any use, but at least listen to what the man has to say and weight it up before you decide that he's an ecocrackhead with no credibility and nothing to offer in the job.

Then you can elect the usual class of gombeen man and move along:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

RayM wrote: »
    The vast majority of climate scientists seem to think it is an issue. But hey, what would they know?
    There are more than a few that have jumped ship since ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Some of the things he says make a lot of sense though. For example: Wave Energy. I heard Duncan say that Ireland could power Europe with the size of the coast line we have.

We could probably feed all of Europe too if we demolished all the cities, towns, houses , roads and businesses and turned the whole island in to a big field to grow crops.

Some other people like using the coastline too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Chinasea wrote: »
    They crucifed Jesus.

I actually LOL'd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭waraf

Sam Kade wrote: »
    There are more than a few that have jumped ship since ;)

Since what? Duncan's performance on Newstalk? :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Tabnabs wrote: »

He says he is disappointed in himself, but there is no apology to Shane Coleman for his utter rudeness. Giant ego methinks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

His campaign is over before it even started.

Was shocked at his attitude with Coleman, know him to be a nicer person than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I would pay to hear him in a climate change debate with Nigel Farage

I'd prefer a head-to-head with Michael Graham.

If Michael D was so incensed as to call him a wanker, I'd imagine Duncan would make a lunge for the guy with a bottle of his home-brewed prune wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Never heard of him before now, but ... are you sure he's Irish? "Duncan" and "Stewart" are pure Scottish names.

King Duncan is one of the main characters in Shakespeare's Macbeth (a.k.a. "The Scottish Play", but
    not for long
    . :cool:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭i8mancs

Not in a million years would I vote for this tool, he makes Enda look good:eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

bnt wrote: »
    Never heard of him before now, but ... are you sure he's Irish? "Duncan" and "Stewart" are pure Scottish names.

King Duncan is one of the main characters in Shakespeare's Macbeth (a.k.a. "The Scottish Play", but
    not for long
    . :cool:

By that logic, Eddie Murphy is a Corkman... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Patronizing gobshyte, everything that comes out of his mouth is about insulating your house.

Almost like he believes 100% of the country have the money for that kind of thing.

Some of us don't Duncan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Tabnabs wrote: »

He did not answer calls from the IT yesterday. An email was forwarded to the IT last night. Damage limitation control by his company/family, I suspect.

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Patronizing gobshyte, everything that comes out of his mouth is about insulating your house.

Almost like he believes 100% of the country have the money for that kind of thing.

Some of us don't Duncan!

Heard him on Ireland AM last week. Iirc, he said that, per capita, we were the worst polluters in Europe! To give Alan Hughes his due, he did not encourage DS, but moved on swiftly to another topic. Guess he was lucky he did not get the same treatment as
    Nrewstalk's Shane Coleman!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

What really got my goat up yesterday was his stance that there should not be a balanced debate on climate change. His opinion was that anyone who opposed climate change or refuted the causes of it, should not be given a say. Anyone who is unwilling to entertain - or even HEAR - an opposing argument is not fit to run for a political office, and to be honest, shouldn't even be given coverage. I know we can get hung up in debate after debate after debate, but his only alternative is "My way, or eff off"!! That simply is not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

What really got my goat up yesterday was his stance that there should not be a balanced debate on climate change. His opinion was that anyone who opposed climate change or refuted the causes of it, should not be given a say.

Let's have a balanced debate on gravity, shall we? The place for debate in science is among scientists, not politicians, and that debate is long over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Poor oul Duncan.

He's an architect....of his own misfortune.

Now where's that Dermot Bannon whinger til I give him the belt of a shovel as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What really got my goat up yesterday was his stance that there should not be a balanced debate on climate change. His opinion was that anyone who opposed climate change or refuted the causes of it, should not be given a say. Anyone who is unwilling to entertain - or even HEAR - an opposing argument is not fit to run for a political office, and to be honest, shouldn't even be given coverage. I know we can get hung up in debate after debate after debate, but his only alternative is "My way, or eff off"!! That simply is not good enough.
    So Duncan how much effect does nature have on the climate? Absolutely none it's all man made :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,915 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

you think he's bad he appeared on the late late couple of years back with his daughter, Duncan or Tubridy couldn't get a word in edgeways, to say she was full of herself is an understatement! And no I wouldn't vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Served him once in my old job and he was lovely, but not sure I'd vote for him.

A summons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

The mischievous part of me feels like sending him an email of support re his comments on the holocaust, saying it's a disgrace that we don't have an open debate on it. Yes, I know it would be deliberately obtuse, but I'd be genuinely curious to see how he responds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

Let's have a balanced debate on gravity, shall we? The place for debate in science is among scientists, not politicians, and that debate is long over.

At the risk of opening a can of worms which was closed yesterday, can I just clarify that Climate Change is a scientifically proven fact. However, I, for one, am still not convinced that the current model of climate change is being caused exclusively by human activity.

Human activity is no doubt contributing, but not to the extent that is being portrayed by some in society, IMO (and certainly not to the extent that some militant tree-huggers will have you believe). The fact is, we are already making huge strides in changing our behaviour as a carbon-producing, waste-accruing, water-wasting, energy-consuming ways. More than enough - again, IMHO - to negate our contribution to climate change in the near future.

You can take all the ice-core samples and fluvial deposit studies you like, but the fact is that our scientifically recordable archives offer too small a window when compared to the age of this planet and the many thousands of climate changes it has experienced throughout it's life-bearing history.

This is my opinion. I welcome discourse, but try and address the points I made, and not my intelligence, please.

Oh wait, this is AH, isn't it? Oh well!! ;) I'm doomed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

So, the suspense is killing me. Is Lord Duncan running for MEP?

Maybe he hasn't announced it yet as its so easy

D1stant wrote: »
    So, the suspense is killing me. Is Lord Duncan running for MEP?

Maybe he hasn't announced it yet as its so easy

No. He made the grand announcement that he's throwing his weight behind the Greens instead - as if they've not got enough troubles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do you think he was considering running before the Newstalk incident?

Definitely! Thought he would have no problem getting elected - it would be easy peasy!!