Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you vote for Duncan Stewart

• 07-04-2014 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭

I just heard Duncan Stewart on Newstalk Breakfast show. He is contemplating running for the European Parliament. His belligerence beggars belief. It's worth listening to the piece.......
    http://www.newstalk.ie/We-are-putting-the-climate-out-of-balance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

He's going to build a better Europe is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Rads, ya ya ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ah will he ever **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He fell into a nuclear reactor and survived

did he acquire a super power?

we just don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Heard it and thought it was a gift grub sketch, he's a parody of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

He wasn't very nice to Alf when he was in Summer Bay, so no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think it's a great idea. They can send him over to Moscow to give Vlad the Exhaler a stern talking-to about all this nonsense over gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Christ almighty, he even gave the holocaust a mention. Coleman should have just let him leave, he's obviously a tad unstable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

He's very passionate about it, but the way he patronises us all is annoying.

He's probably right, but he's still a knob who I wouldn't vote for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Served him once in my old job and he was lovely, but not sure I'd vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Seen him in the background of an RTE news report on a gathering of candidates and was wondering why he was there.

No, I wouldn't vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭MF2HD

So Duncan "How much time have I got?" Stuart is going to save our souls by entering the mucky dirty world of politics.

I did note however that although he has stepped away from RTE his show Eco Eye that he produces has not and is likely, (according to him), to continue on RTE so he'll carry on getting the nice paycheck. No different to the other eegits after all eh Duncan?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

First it's the Carbon Monoxide he's after, now it's Carbon Dioxide. Make your mind up, Duncan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

The best thing about getting elected to the European parliament is that it saves the Irish electorate from having to listen to these people. Therefore I'd love if Duncan Stewart and Luke 'Ming' Flanagan got elected. And that Paul Murphy, that rather sinister socialist, is reelected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

No, I fear he'd be all stick and no carrot, favouring a whole raft of extra taxes, charges and levies to force us to change how we live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Ah, Duncan Disorderly. Made a complete flute of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

He'd be like a fish out of water Imo. (Isn't he the 'bald as a coot' swimmer?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Reminds me of a dried up teabag and I don't think his oratorical skills, or lack thereof, will get beyond a few metres around him as he whispers against the political wind. I think he fell off a tree and it sounds like he landed on his head. Get back to the houses Duncan.

...Get back to the houses Duncan.

Oh Cheeses no, get him off the television! Every time that man comes on I have to spend half an hour explaining why paying €200 for a plastic barrel for composting our own excrement in order to power a heat-exchanger in the attic would be a monumentally daft idea! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Is he still playing for Everton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Once a ****wit always a ****wit. He has the current voter magnetism of Bertie Ahern.

From the snippet of the train wreck interview I did hear, Newstalk could almost be accused of neglect letting him on air in that mental furball state.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    ...From the snippet of the train wreck interview I did hear, Newstalk could almost be accused of neglect letting him on air in that mental furball state.

Yep, poor chap puts the "mental" in Environmentalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Robbo wrote: »
    First it's the Carbon Monoxide he's after, now it's Carbon Dioxide. Make your mind up, Duncan.

He's out to get all carbon based life forms now, just to be sure.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I remember when I was younger, he actually did good shows about people building houses.

He then got on the eco-bandwagon and forgot that people must live in houses and promptly disappeared up his own arse.

Another moral crusader.

What ever happened to freedom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Unbelievable Muppet
    Here it is. Starts at 8:00. You need to wait until the full bar loads before being able to skip forward.

Duncan - "Nothing's going to hold me back when I get to Europe...if I do go there"

Yates - "You have to get elected first"

Duncan - "That's a simple matter"

Yates - "Getting elected is a simple matter?"

Duncan - "For me it is be cause I know..." [starts another sentence]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

There's more chance of me voting for Duncan Williams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Wow that's a pretty poor start to his election campaign. I feel sorry for the poor sod that accepts the job as his campaign manager..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I'd say being 100% invested in addressing climate change is like being one of those lads with signs proclaiming the imminent end of the world. He must feel like throwing down his sign and screaming "why are you all being so calm!"

Still comes across as a right prat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

He came across as a total tool. "How long do I have to talk" " Im going to another station I don't like this one" ffs if he can't handle newstalk what hope does he have in europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would pay to hear him in a climate change debate with Nigel Farage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Much and all as I don't like SF I'd prefer another ex-terrorist rather than Duncan "this roof is made from recycled egg cartons" Stewart. Eco-warrior driving around in a 3.0 litre Pajero. **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Given that both go around with their heads permanently up their ar$es, would we actually hear anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭4umbrellas

Dear, oh dear.
    Strong enough opinion of himself anyway! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

He came across as a total tool. "How long do I have to talk" " Im going to another station I don't like this one" ffs if he can't handle newstalk what hope does he have in europe.

Yeah he came across like a petulant child. Was car crash stuff.

Personally I was hoping he would just walk out.

I wouldnt mind but Shane was hardly going to grill him. He's probably the softest presenter in Newstalk or the radio for that matter. Intelligent guy but never pushes people.

Chris would have probably given him a bit of grief. Ivan would have laughed directly at him I'd say. Shane was close to it but eventually said grand you have 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

What a knob I actually turned him off when he started ranting on about how much time he had.

I would too, if I could also pump steady volumes of CO2 into whatever room they were wittering on in.

Edit: Good god, just listened to the second half of the interview. I hope the git gets a reality check in the polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭mylastparadigm

Line up the corrupt, the liars, the tax dodgers, the embezzlers, the cowardly; We are happy to vote for them. Probably because we can identify with them. Oh, this country and it's people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I wouldn't vote for him. He's a sermonising egotistical twit that seems convinced the country sees him some sort of national treasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

He should be recycled :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

I'm going off to burn a load of coal in the fire because of that right now just to spite him.

*Disclaimer* I do not have any coal. And I do not have a fireplace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Some of the things he says make a lot of sense though. For example: Wave Energy. I heard Duncan say that Ireland could power Europe with the size of the coast line we have.

Scotland has already got a headstart on us though in this area, some good forward thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Some of the things he says make a lot of sense though. For example: Wave Energy. I heard Duncan say that Ireland could power Europe with the size of the coast line we have.

Scotland has already got a headstart on us though in this area, some good forward thinking.

I'm sure if you could put some sort of mini converter in his mouth he could fuel quite a few electric toothbrushes. The guy is a big Jessie and heading the David Ikes way. A firm believer in his own idiocy, I'm not sure that Europe is ready for him yet but if the turfcutters from Ardee get hold of him he will finish up like Joan Of Arc (loud cheers all 'round).
    A terribly irritating gobshite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

MF2HD wrote: »
    So Duncan "How much time have I got?" Stuart is going to save our souls by entering the mucky dirty world of politics.

I did note however that although he has stepped away from RTE his show Eco Eye that he produces has not and is likely, (according to him), to continue on RTE so he'll carry on getting the nice paycheck. No different to the other eegits after all eh Duncan?

I believe the Eco Eye production is a bit of a family concern (he has a daughter presenting it). I could be wrong.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I believe the Eco Eye production is a bit of a family concern (he has a daughter presenting it). I could be wrong.

According their website (http://www.earthhorizon.ie/home/productions/) the managing director of the company is a Marcus Stewart, so it sounds likely it's a family concern.

From the same website; would you vote for this man?

http://www.earthhorizon.ie/home/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/duncan5.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I'd absolutely vote for him. He knows his stuff and he feels strongly about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Shpongler

He will protect us from the silent killers all around :D
    Gets my vote

But seriously his eco knowledge is sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Tabnabs wrote: »
    According their website (http://www.earthhorizon.ie/home/productions/) the managing director of the company is a Marcus Stewart, so it sounds likely it's a family concern.

From the same website; would you vote for this man?

http://www.earthhorizon.ie/home/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/duncan5.jpg

The Jobs page from earthhorizon is interesting

http://www.earthhorizon.ie/home/jobs/
    Jobs

We are currently in development and not taking on any paid positions.
    We do consider internships and have hired interns in the past who came through the FAS back to work internship scheme.

These internship positions are very competitive and we only consider candidates with a third level degree and obvious latent
    Many interns and production assistants have gone on to produce and direct and enjoyed successful careers in their own right
    if you are an educated and talented person in the field of media and communications and can prove it, then we would be happy to hear from you.
    marcus@earthhorizon.ie

Translation: We only want well educated tree huggers we can exploit the sh1t out of. They can also maybe teach my Dad how to deal with the media.

p.s. Marcus - no charge for the spelling correction

If anyone seriously thinks that electing an independent MEP will have more impact on climate change than, say, electing a pan European party with a coherent plan to address the issue, then they deserve to be buried beneath the waves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

I love what ye have done with the thread here lads! yah yah yah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Only if the vote was to decide who got fecked out of the Balloon first to save weight.