What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

SingItOut wrote: »
    My terrier does the same thing but only if I'm being too slow making her food or getting her lead for a walk :D

I was making my own dinner today and Alli came over and sat beside me, farted, wagged her tail then walked off! This isn't a regular occurrence but always makes me laugh how casual she is about it :o

You just reminded me of the time when my old dog (sadly no longer with us) did something similar, in my old house and I was having a new carpet put in my bedroom so the night before we had cleared out all the furniture and had to sleep in the bedroom next door, doggy was used to sleeping on the bed with me, he was most confused by the change in sleeping arrangement and because the spare bed was too high for him to hop up on, I woke up in the middle of the night and he was looking up at me, he farted, sighed and then padded off down the hallway to the front room. It still makes me chuckle when I think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Took my buddy out for a walk yesterday. She's pretty good at recall, being a trained sheepdog, but I want to keep her that way so brought a bag of treats and every time I called she would come back and sit to heel and get a treat. After 3 or 4 she clocked it and just kept coming and sitting to heel without me asking her, looking up expectantly. Is there such a thing as too smart?? :) Course, my own spoiled mutt doesnt like treats anyway, and gives me the deaf ear when it suits :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Felix has almost completely stopped menacing Toby these days and Toby is far more relaxed. It makes me smile every time I see them walk past each other with no howling or growling and Felix has started playing with us again. It probably helps that he's lost half a kilo:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Minnie eats corn on the cob :o

I gave her a little bit of my burger (she normally gets some of our meat) but she kept sitting on the floor beside me looking all fluffy and cute but there was absolutely no meat left. When I had had enough of my corn cob I held it down for her to sniff and realize there was nothing left to hang around for but she started licking it and it fell off the little corn-holder and onto the floor. Then she started properly chewing on it and she was getting a good grip on the kernals and lifting it up so the cob would fall away from the corn in her mouth. Then nom nom nom nom nom as she eats the corn.

Why does my cat eat corn?! :p

I gave her a little bit of my burger (she normally gets some of our meat) but she kept sitting on the floor beside me looking all fluffy and cute but there was absolutely no meat left. When I had had enough of my corn cob I held it down for her to sniff and realize there was nothing left to hang around for but she started licking it and it fell off the little corn-holder and onto the floor. Then she started properly chewing on it and she was getting a good grip on the kernals and lifting it up so the cob would fall away from the corn in her mouth. Then nom nom nom nom nom as she eats the corn.

Was there butter on it? We have a big scraps bowl for the birds. If there's any mashed potato or anything that's had butter on it we'll often find him licking the mash or veg:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Yeah there was a little bit of butter on it and I thought she'd just lick that off, but she was full on eating it :P It's not the first time we've found her eating her veggies, she loves a bit of passata too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

My dog went to bed on her own tonight. She didn't wait around for a human to tuck her in like she always does. Just went to bed.

The dog got into my bed and the cutest thing, she even got under the duvet and covered herself.

Thanks doggie for keeping my bed warm.

Mine do this too! Couldnt believe it the first time. Like you, I assumed it was the butter. I figure its probably good for their teeth. :D

ps our dog loves carrots too :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I gave fresh beets to the guinea pigs last night for dinner and I was late home so didn't see them take more than a few nibbles.

I came out to feed them this morning to find one of the cages has only a few pieces of the skin left and Ruby, one of the girls, is dyed purpley-red all down her front. Little vampire pig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I'm currently trying to write up a research project, and was getting seriously wound up over one section of it this morning.

Just as I was starting to consider throwing the laptop out the window I heard a crash coming from the kitchen so went to investigate. I found Bob's lead and harness pulled down off the shelf, and Bob sitting beside them looking thrilled with himself. :p

I decided since he had taken them down he could use them, so took him out. It completely de-stressed me, and I came home and got another few paragraphs written! I think he was just being nosy, but it helped all the same. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭SingItOut

Gonzo the chinchilla is definitely back to full health, he politely "barked" at me when I was walking past to inform me his food bowl was empty so I filled it back up. He then growled at me when I tried to pet him, unrequited love :)

Toby's taken to rolling over and showing me his tummy to scratch, not a chance, I'm not falling for that pussy cat classic, the old honey trap, then you get a savaging. He does have a love tummy though, and I love his big sleepy head:)

My little one was staying with "Granny" for 2 days. So, when she came back they both really missed each other. Had my mum on speaker to her last night (we dont all go the one way) and mum said, "I reeeeeeeeeeeally miss you!" and the dog started crying at the phone :( Super cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭cailleach an airgid

I got a new cat two weeks ago now and despite some early upset (hissing, spitting, chasing, fighting, howling, bullying craziness), they seem to be getting on better every day. Yes, they chase, and yes, they wrestle, but they can stand to be in the same room and earlier even both sat on the same chair in the kitchen. Pangur (the existing cat) was very unhappy when the newcomer arrived, but now that she realises she still gets fed, and that she can bully the life out of Tonks, she's fairly comfortable about the whole thing. Poor aul Tonks is a little bit ditsy and sometimes reminds me of the child in school who follows the bully around asking for it! (sometimes she'll just go up to Pangur and poke her with her paw to get herself going) They are very, very funny and really having so much craic chasing each other up and down the stairs.

I woke up this morning to the two of them snuggled into me purring. THAT made me smile today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Having just read the horror story of that Jack Russell and the dog fighting bait (look it up if you need to see it, Im not linking it, its fúcking horrific), I just had a look at my spoilt brat and that was enough to give me a grin.

gimmick wrote: »
    Having just read the horror story of that Jack Russell and the dog fighting bait (look it up if you need to see it, Im not linking it, its fúcking horrific), I just had a look at my spoilt brat and that was enough to give me a grin.

Yeah saw that in the paper yesterday and was horrified. I really hate people sometimes. Mine is a JRT and I could see so much of her looking at that poor forsaken dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

My friend's cat used to go crazy for lettuce. She'd open the fridge, the cat would jump up, and go straight for the lettuce.

Felix and Toby had 1 of their nasty spats this afternoon when Felix found him on our bed, now they're sleeping about a foot apart in the living room:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭handbagmad

Is there anything cuter than doggy dreams :)
    little woofs, growls, paws going mad and tail wagging...
    Love to know what he is dreaming about <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭nala2012

Nala is gurgling in her sleep and twitching her leg while Bruce is snoring really loudly!! I love watching them sleep... they look so content!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Not sure if this is "good behaviour" but it cracks me up, whenever my OH gets home our wee Mini-schnauzer jumps up into her lap and proceeds to "clean" my wifes hair, she nibbles and licks at it like she is trying to pick fleas out of it. In truth I am trying to make her stop because she shouldnt be bouncing up on the sofa, but it is kind of amusing watching her do her little cleaning routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

This is half makes me crazy/half makes me smile!
    My dogs are SUCH creatures of habit.
    I bring them for their morning walk 6 days/week, and every afternoon - OH brings them on saturday a.m, and the odd afternoon when hes working from home.
    He adores the dogs. They really bully him and take advantage cos hes such a softie.
    The last few weeks they DONT want to walk with him :confused: even tho he takes them on the same walks I take them on. This a.m when husband took them out, the oldest one stopped after about 10 mins, and refused to go on :eek: These are the dogs who hyperventilate when I call them for their walks. Its like "nah, its better when the other one takes us"! Poor hubby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Benson can be a nervous ninny at times, he was treated badly before he was rescued so tends to have little insecurities and he's a creature of habit so routine is all important to him.

I couldn't quite figure out what he was reacting to the other day, I'd sit down beside him and he would sit up, with a bit of a worried look on his face. I was wondering what had happened or what I had done to cause it. Turns out I had changed my hand moisturiser, I tend to use the same one but found an old bottle of something in a drawer and decided to use it up, it smells lovely (to me!) but it made him act differently, he may have associated the smell with something else, maybe somebody who treated him badly, or maybe it was just new and different and he had to get used to it.

So Coco came to the rescue again. She has been brilliant at showing Benson when something is OK, and helped him acclimatise to stuff he was terrified of when he arrived home first. So both of them love hand licking and it's a favourite thing to do in the morning when they come in for a cuddle so this morning I put on the hand cream and Benson sat up and looked a bit worried but Coco immediately started licking away, loving it. So Benson saw that she was OK with it so he took a tentative little lick and then decided it was great stuff and now it doesn't bother him, he just keeps looking for my hands:P

Jazzy is engaged in his annual battle with the blue tits. This has been going on for about 4 years now. They really wind him up and in the beginning he got a few of them and ate them, except for the odd few feathers. Anyway, that was the first year that he was with us and I suspect he ate birds to stay alive when he was a feral kitten.

There are 4 of them and they go through the motions of building a nest above a pipe in a neighbours wood clad house wall. This goes on for weeks and then they nest elsewhere. Meanwhile they all but shake their asses and thumb their beaks at him and he sits on the shed fixated on the hole for hours at a time while they make twits at him and he mimics their twits. He does have the grumpiest facial expressions, especially since he had some teeth removed and has a lopsided smile:D

Couldn't wait to post this! Our little "stray" finally let me touch her at the weekend. Really big moment for her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Couldn't wait to post this! Our little "stray" finally let me touch her at the weekend. Really big moment for her!

Brilliant! Isnt it great, when you know that they are starting to trust you :)

aonb wrote: »
    Brilliant! Isnt it great, when you know that they are starting to trust you :)

Yeah I feel so chuffed :) This girl was completely wild - like a tasmanian devil when we first found her, climbed the wall in the vet surgery to escape, peed all over the place and there was a time when we couldnt even walk past and she would hiss and spit. She has finally realised we aren't murderers :P

Poppy goes ballisitic galloping around the house when we come home, I think she worries that we won't come back, and she'll be abandoned like her last home:( She was tearing around up and down the stairs for ages this afternoon when I got home.

She clings to me for cuddles, she's come a long way from the little cat that clawed my face when I tried to put her in a cat box last year when we were trying to catch her to bring her home with us:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭mojesius

Paddy found the one mucky puddle on the green and and rolled in it. He was only covered in mud on one side though so I looked at him and told him he might as well get back in and do it properly. He got back in and submerged himself in mud. Bath time for mucky dog. He's the only thing that's making me laugh since losing our other dog at the weekend. Funny little chancer :)

Toby comes to bed with us most nights now and stays at my feet for a few hours. Felix realised this a couple of days ago and has come up to sit on my locker at crazy o'clock in the morning for the past 2 nights. He starts giving me little nippy kisses and head booping me, along with knocking everything off the locker.

Last night Toby was at my feet, Jazzy had sprawled across my chest and Felix was rolling around the floor on my side of the bed meeping. Toby wasn't bothered at all. It's hard to believe that they can tolerate each other relatively calmly in the bedroom now, a couple of months ago Felix would have been howling and savaging Toby just for being near our bedroom.