Crisps - your favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Drooling now just thinking about Walkers Sensations Thai Sweet Chilli. Mother of jaysus........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Merkin wrote: »
    Cheese and Onion Tayto, I really miss them here in the UK. Have tried to source them but the only companies that do export them try and pass off those rank Norn Iron Tayto as if they're in ANY way comparable :rolleyes:

'free state tayto' are boring heures as well, nothing compared to walkers, walkers walk all over them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

I've always thought that Tayto Cheese & Onion are the best, but only a good packet. They're very hit and miss flavour-wise, quality control there must be non-existent.

Remember Crunchos? Hot-dog flavour crunchy corn-crisps, they were the business, but they disappeared years ago.

One thing I don't like is the rise of the kettle-crisp style. They all taste like vegetable oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Hunky Dory Buffalo and Walkers Ready Salted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Loving Pickled Union Monster Munch at the moment. Aldi do a fairly decent copy. Meanies have gone to hell recently and just don't have the pickled union flavour a discerning crisp eater expects.

Funnily enough, the Aldi monster seem exactly the same as meanies to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Banshee Bones, I'd eat bag after bag of those.

Honorable mention to Johnnie Onion Rings, the wee Bacon Fries to be got in pubs and Skips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Pringles Prawn Cocktail

Drooling now just thinking about Walkers Sensations Thai Sweet Chilli. Mother of jaysus........

The Mexican chipotle ones are delicious too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

O'Donnells cheese & onion - mmmmm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Banshee Bones, I'd eat bag after bag of those.

Honorable mention to Johnnie Onion Rings, the wee Bacon Fries to be got in pubs and Skips.

Christ, have never heard of them before, wild name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I love kettle crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Funnily enough, the Aldi monster seem exactly the same as meanies to me.

You aren't the first person to say that. I threw a contemptuous look at the last person who suggested it. I'll still eat Meanies, but they've gone really powdery.

A couple of bags of Scampi Fries are nice as well if starting to struggle during a pint drinking session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Rancheros for me..............

for around 40 years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Walkers hands down.

Oh, and I hate cheese and onion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Not one mention of Meanies???

FTA69 wrote: »

Not after they changed the recipe. They're just not the same as they used to be. I love me my pickled onion crisps but meanies used to be WAY nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Burger Bites are horrible now, too. They were lovely back in the day; real powdery and almost orange.
    Skips have changed too-they're like styrofoam now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

FTA69 wrote: »

They're here alright. :pac:
    In before some culchie says King flavoured Tayto.
    BNMC wrote: »
    In before some pansy boy jackeen says Pringles.
    mauzo! wrote: »
    In before some mucker says hunky dory tayto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nobby's Nuts

Fcuk crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Aldi's Cheese and Onion kettle crisps are the bomb.

Honourable mention to Banshee Bones, Meanies, BBQ Beef Hula Hoops, and Pringles Extreme Sour Cream n Onion.

Anyone remember those Chinese Chip Shop curry chips flavoured corn snacks from the early 90s?

gerrybbadd wrote: »

Honourable mention to Banshee Bones, Meanies, BBQ Beef Hula Hoops, and Pringles Extreme Sour Cream n Onion.

Anyone remember those Chinese Chip Shop curry chips flavoured corn snacks from the early 90s?

Oh those were the bomb. They got the flavouring just right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Tayto cheese and onion crisps between two slices of very fresh white bread with lots of butter. The food of champions!!!

If you are feeling adventurous you could add coleslaw or tomato ketchup.

Know what I'm having for tea now:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Not much of a crisp man anymore since have to be gluten free so have to settle for Pom Bear.

Used to love Chipsticks, Tayto Waffles and mostly anything bacon related (Ghosties, Rancheros, Tayto Smoky Bacon, etc)

Walkers french fries worcester sauce flavour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Kettle crisps, the red pack & hunky dory tortillas (exactly the same flavour as texicanos, remember them?) :cool:

Finally "Bikers" are possibly my all time favorite, I remember buying a box of them years ago from the cash n carry.

gerrybbadd wrote: »

They were called Curry Chips in a pale peach packet with a picture of chopsticks on the front and yes they were delicious!

Dramatik wrote: »
    Kettle crisps, the red pack & hunky dory tortillas (exactly the same flavour as texicanos, remember them?) :cool:

Remind me what they were now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Mighty Munch!

yeah, mighty munch sandwiches.............YUMMMMM :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Not much of a crisp man anymore since have to be gluten free so have to settle for Pom Bear.

Used to love Chipsticks, Tayto Waffles and mostly anything bacon related (Ghosties, Rancheros, Tayto Smoky Bacon, etc)

These are the very divils for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭Greentree_uk

Brannigans Ham & Pickle! hard to get though!