Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crisps - your favourite

• 07-04-2014 3:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭

I'm a great man for the crisps, my favourite would be Walkers Cheese & Onion, I could eat beg after beg, I have recently discovered Yorkshire Seabrook crisps which are enjoyable, say what you want about the Brits but they know how to make a crisp. McCoys are powerful as well but they would cut the mouth of you. Dorito chips quare lay in the stomach though.

Your favourite crisps 288 votes

Ordinary Tayto
    0% 0 votes
    Tayto Bistro
    17% 50 votes
    Tayto Occasions
    3% 11 votes
    Hunky Dorys
    0% 0 votes
    Other sort of Tayto
    12% 35 votes
    Ulster Tayto
    1% 4 votes
    Ulster Tayto - all other types
    2% 8 votes
    Skips
    0% 0 votes
    Quavers
    1% 4 votes
    Pork Scratchings
    0% 1 vote
    King
    1% 4 votes
    Monster Munch
    13% 40 votes
    Hula Hoops
    4% 13 votes
    Walkers
    1% 5 votes
    Doritos
    9% 26 votes
    Seabrook
    4% 14 votes
    Pringles
    0% 2 votes
    Banshee Bones
    4% 13 votes
    McCoys
    4% 12 votes
    Burger Bites
    3% 11 votes
    Onion Rings
    1% 3 votes
    Wotsits or chese puffs/cheese balls
    1% 4 votes
    Sensations or other brand for yuppies
    3% 9 votes
    Discos
    5% 15 votes
    Nik Naks
    1% 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Pringles Sour Cream & Onion!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Smiths bacon fries, and scampi fries :o

If you don't like Smiths bacon fries, YOU'RE wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Cheese and Onion/Buffalo Hunky Dorys.

Although I prefer corn crisps in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

orangesoda wrote: »
    I'm a great man for the crisps, my favourite would be Walkers Cheese & Onion, I could eat beg after beg, I have recently discovered Yorkshire Seabrook crisps which are enjoyable, say what you want about the Brits but they know how to make a crisp. McCoys are powerful as well but they would cut the mouth of you. Dorito chips quare lay in the stomach though.

What about your local product from Tandragee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Mighty Munch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Honky dory's buffalo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Greentree_uk

pickled onion Monster munch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Keogh's sweet chilli and red pepper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

In before some culchie says King flavoured Tayto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

King cheese and onion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

What about your local product from Tandragee?

yes they are enjoyable but rather bland and unexciting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Duffman K

Rancheros or maybe waffles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

McCoy's Flame Grilled Steak.

Nom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

Tayto's Smoky Bacon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Love a pack of Tayto. Time after time I keep going back. Hunky Dory's in with a shout too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Walkers Worcester Sauce

or

NI Tayto Cheese and Onion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

McCoys Flame Grilled Steak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Having a real thing for Toobz Sour Cream and Onion flavour at the moment.
    Also partial to a bag of Tesco Cheese Puffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

In before some pansy boy jackeen says Pringles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Hunky Dorys Buffalo
    Walkers Prawn Cocktail
    Bikers

Would love some right now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭fiddlechic

Keogh's Shamrock and Sour Cream.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Paprikka, mmmm mysterious European flavours...

fussyonion wrote: »
    Having a real thing for Toobz Sour Cream and Onion flavour at the moment.
    Also partial to a bag of Tesco Cheese Puffs.

I f*cking love tesco cheese puffs. Centra do great ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Tayto ripples :)

Pringles Pizza were the best ever. They only sell them on Amazon now for ridiculous money.

Remember those pizza flavoured Cowabungas? They were Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles-themed. Sold in the 90's. They were delicious too.

A while back, Aldi were doing Scottish week and sold the nicest crisps I'd ever had; Tomato and Basil flavour but they tasted EXACTLY like pizza! (can you tell I'm a pizza-flavour addict?)

BNMC wrote: »

In before some mucker says hunky dory tayto.

mauzo! wrote: »
    I f*cking love tesco cheese puffs. Centra do great ones!

Tayto corn chips (dorito style) are also powerful, big bag
    http://images4.mysupermarket.co.uk/Products_1000/24/205924.jpg?v=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Walkers ready salted. I'm gagging for crisps now after reading this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Loving Pickled Union Monster Munch at the moment. Aldi do a fairly decent copy. Meanies have gone to hell recently and just don't have the pickled union flavour a discerning crisp eater expects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Cheese and Onion Tayto, I really miss them here in the UK. Have tried to source them but the only companies that do export them try and pass off those rank Norn Iron Tayto as if they're in ANY way comparable :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Drooling now just thinking about Walkers Sensations Thai Sweet Chilli. Mother of jaysus........

Merkin wrote: »
    Cheese and Onion Tayto, I really miss them here in the UK. Have tried to source them but the only companies that do export them try and pass off those rank Norn Iron Tayto as if they're in ANY way comparable :rolleyes:

'free state tayto' are boring heures as well, nothing compared to walkers, walkers walk all over them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

I've always thought that Tayto Cheese & Onion are the best, but only a good packet. They're very hit and miss flavour-wise, quality control there must be non-existent.

Remember Crunchos? Hot-dog flavour crunchy corn-crisps, they were the business, but they disappeared years ago.

One thing I don't like is the rise of the kettle-crisp style. They all taste like vegetable oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Hunky Dory Buffalo and Walkers Ready Salted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Loving Pickled Union Monster Munch at the moment. Aldi do a fairly decent copy. Meanies have gone to hell recently and just don't have the pickled union flavour a discerning crisp eater expects.

Funnily enough, the Aldi monster seem exactly the same as meanies to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Banshee Bones, I'd eat bag after bag of those.

Honorable mention to Johnnie Onion Rings, the wee Bacon Fries to be got in pubs and Skips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Pringles Prawn Cocktail

Drooling now just thinking about Walkers Sensations Thai Sweet Chilli. Mother of jaysus........

The Mexican chipotle ones are delicious too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

O'Donnells cheese & onion - mmmmm!

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Banshee Bones, I'd eat bag after bag of those.

Honorable mention to Johnnie Onion Rings, the wee Bacon Fries to be got in pubs and Skips.

Christ, have never heard of them before, wild name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I love kettle crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Funnily enough, the Aldi monster seem exactly the same as meanies to me.

You aren't the first person to say that. I threw a contemptuous look at the last person who suggested it. I'll still eat Meanies, but they've gone really powdery.

A couple of bags of Scampi Fries are nice as well if starting to struggle during a pint drinking session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,445 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Rancheros for me..............

for around 40 years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Walkers hands down.

Oh, and I hate cheese and onion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Not one mention of Meanies???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

FTA69 wrote: »

Not after they changed the recipe. They're just not the same as they used to be. I love me my pickled onion crisps but meanies used to be WAY nicer.

Burger Bites are horrible now, too. They were lovely back in the day; real powdery and almost orange.
    Skips have changed too-they're like styrofoam now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

FTA69 wrote: »

They're here alright. :pac:
    In before some culchie says King flavoured Tayto.
    BNMC wrote: »
    mauzo! wrote: »
    In before some mucker says hunky dory tayto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nobby's Nuts

Fcuk crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Aldi's Cheese and Onion kettle crisps are the bomb.

Honourable mention to Banshee Bones, Meanies, BBQ Beef Hula Hoops, and Pringles Extreme Sour Cream n Onion.

Anyone remember those Chinese Chip Shop curry chips flavoured corn snacks from the early 90s?