Kurt Cobain died 20 years ago today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,040 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

pundy wrote: »
    well, on personal taste for me, as well as deducting from the responses above how people were saying "i prefer corgan to cobain" - and then people claiming that cobain wrote hole's album in 1994, and billy corgan co-wrote 3 songs on Celebrity skin in 98', so all in all - they are ALL three bands in one and the singer gets her t!ts out on stage and all that. more fun. and still alive

She had a public falling out with corgan over that too. He claimed that he wrote more than 3 songs and she took credit for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    She had a public falling out with corgan over that too. He claimed that he wrote more than 3 songs and she took credit for them.

that falling out also included the fact that he was creeping on her then 16 year old daughter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭wawaman

Wouldnt be the first time he pulled that trick, she claimed that she wrote "Old Age" and played it in their unplugged set, when in reality it was a Nirvana song from the Nevermind sessions

wawaman wrote: »
    Wouldnt be the first time he pulled that trick, she claimed that she wrote "Old Age" and played it in their unplugged set, when in reality it was a Nirvana song from the Nevermind sessions

b0ll0x - the nevermind sessions were a year after the Hole Unplugged gig,....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭wawaman

b0ll0x - the nevermind sessions were a year after the Hole Unplugged gig,....

On February 14, 1995, Hole performed on Unplugged with memorable performances of "Miss World," and "Doll Parts," and covers of the Nirvana songs "You Know You're Right" (as "You've Got No Right") and "Old Age", and also the Duran Duran song "Hungry Like the Wolf."

You were saying........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Music was not in a good place in 91, the charts were full of s*it like Bryan Adams and his 71 years at number 1 and what passed as rock music was just laughable. If nothing else Nirvana (and Seattle) brought good guitar music into the public consiousness again

Use Your Illusion I & II - Guns N Roses
    Ten - Pearl Jam
    Blood Sugar Sex Magik - RHCP
    Achtung Baby - U2
    Black Album - Metallica
    The Low End Theory - A Tribe Called Quest
    Out of Time - REM
    Badmotorfinger - Soundgarden
    Loveless - My Bloody Valentine

Yep, a terrible time for music was 1991. And LOL at Nirvana bringing good guitar music into the public conciousness in the same year Use Your Illusion and The Black Album came out. Good guitar music has always been there, stop basing your opinions on who was number 1 at the time.

Warning, fanboyism can cause delusions.

On February 14, 1995, Hole performed on Unplugged with memorable performances of "Miss World," and "Doll Parts," and covers of the Nirvana songs "You Know You're Right" (as "You've Got No Right") and "Old Age", and also the Duran Duran song "Hungry Like the Wolf."

You were saying........

that was 95?! oh .... i stand corrected hahaha

still though, i'd be of the opinion that she performs any of these so called "stolen" songs better than the "original writers" could have or do...

aswell as this, she has proven herself through her own other songs that can't be argued were written by someone else...

plus as far as i'm aware she has "a genius I.Q" - so, compared to a dead junkie, who yes, was a great musician and writer, i'm pretty sure she had her own things to say aswell and probably had more of a brain in her than he did...

considering she got off the gear and didnt kill herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Ten - Pearl Jam
    Achtung Baby - U2
    Black Album - Metallica
    Out of Time - REM

Yep, a terrible time for music was 1991. And LOL at Nirvana bringing good guitar music into the public conciousness in the same year Use Your Illusion and The Black Album came out. Good guitar music has always been there, stop basing your opinions on who was number 1 at the time.

Well I agree with you, I would say that perhaps what the poster was hinting at was the explosion of "alternative rock" that Nirvana brought along. Before that, GNR and Metallica etc were either considered mainstream, and / or "metal". Grunge was far cooler than metal and allowed a whole raft of music to fall under its term - but it also paved the way for alternative music to sell millions of albums, which it never did before.

In the UK / over here, we had a bit of that already when the Stone Roses broke through, but for the most part it was still an alternative scene, with Phil Collins and Sting hogging the charts. After Nirvana, in the USA especially, alternative albums would go to number 1 instead of number 101.

that falling out also included the fact that he was creeping on her then 16 year old daughter...

She also accused Dave Grohl of sleeping with Frances, a claim she later retracted. The woman has issues!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

1991 was the best year ever (IMO) for "alternative" music, but it's true the charts were really dreadful.

/shudders at flashbacks to Color Me Badd and Chesney Hawkes and Roxette

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

the rantings of a lunatic on twitter is the basis for that. she also claimed Dave Grohl was riding her daughter too. I wouldnt believe much Courntey Love has to say about anything.

She also accused Dave Grohl of sleeping with Frances, a claim she later retracted. The woman has issues!

of course the woman has issues - issues created by vile people drilling it into her that she killed the man she clearly adored.

grohl is a bit creepy though and corgan... weird heads of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Jaysus, I'm old.

of course the woman has issues - issues created by vile people drilling it into her that she killed the man she clearly adored.

Seriously? Grohl comes across as a nice guy who doesn't take himself too seriously. Corgan might be a bit pretentious, but creepy? No

She is a nasty woman to make up stuff like that and for bringing her daughter into it. No wonder Frances wanted nothing to do with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I've never gotten a creepy vibe off Grohl. Frances also refuted these claims about him herself anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Grohl has never come across as anything other than a gentleman. Have literally never heard a bad word against him (besides the stuff Love spouts) and in a 25 year career in the business, that's some going.

Corgan may be a douche (albeit a talented one), but never heard anything about him making moves on young girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Grohl has never come across as anything other than a gentleman. Have literally never heard a bad word against him (besides the stuff Love spouts) and in a 25 year career in the business, that's some going.

Corgan may be a douche (albeit a talented one), but never heard anything about him making moves on young girls.

Yeah, the only thing I've heard about Corgan, and which he proves every time he opens his mouth, is that he's arrogant.

Dave Grohl always comes across extremely well, seems to have a bit of a common touch, always has time for the fans. The only person I've ever heard bitching about him was Courtney Love, and I think her hatred for him is rooted in something else that has more to do with her and her own problems than anything else.

The fact that Love would even make up such creepy lies about her own kid and a man old enough to be her father speaks volumes about her, to be honest. It's just gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Ten - Pearl Jam
    Achtung Baby - U2
    Black Album - Metallica
    Out of Time - REM

Guns n' Roses and Metallica are ****e, but then again it's all about opinions isn't it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

itac wrote: »
    I still remember hearing their version of Man Who Sold The World as a ten year old and not knowing who it was, what it was about, but absolutely loving it! It was one of the first riffs i figured out on guitar when i started playing and like most teenagers in the 90s, i felt Kurt was someone who understood my angst and hatred at a lot of things in the world.

The Man Who Sold The World is a great song but is actually originally a David Bowie song

niallo24 wrote: »
    Would have been very interesting to have seen what music he would have put out the last 20 years. I always think he had a stripped down acoustic album in him, solo. Obv there was the unplugged Nirvana album but I am thinking more along the lines of the Johnny Cash American recordings. Would have been brilliant.

I read a really good article on the BBC website at the weekend about what he would have done had he lived and it said he had planned to do another album but go in a completely different direction from the raw grungy material to a more "textured sound". Michael Stipe was also lined up to collaborate with him.

He most likely have made some sort of acoustic album. But what also might have been good would've been a Nirvana album with Grohl songs on it - wasn't Alone + Easy Target originally meant for Nirvana but Grohl didn't want to do it, even though Cobain did?

The fact he died means he never fell out of favour - unlike Corgan / Pumpkins. They made "Adore" which killed off a large part of their audience (an example of doing a "change of sound" album) but at the same time "grunge" was dead anyway. Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice In Chains, STP; they were all more or less on the back foot by the late 90s. Its likely Cobain / Nirvana would've gone the same way. Though they were SO big and massively popular, maybe they would've rode it out and maintained that popularity.

In the UK at least, its hard to know if Blur / Oasis / Britpop would've had the same impact were it not for Cobain's death. Britpop pretty much kicked off around the exact time that Cobain died - though Suede pre-empted it in 1993.

It would be nice to imagine he could've made a lot more music, and good music, and developed what he did even further. His voice might have gone / changed, but his sense of melody would've remained intact. Or, he would've done nothing of value and be currently touring the reunion nostalgia circuit playing Nevermind in full! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 jms2013

Hard to believe it's been 20 years! Kurt and Michael Stipe had planned to work together on a project, that would have been amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

He most likely have made some sort of acoustic album. But what also might have been good would've been a Nirvana album with Grohl songs on it - wasn't Alone + Easy Target originally meant for Nirvana but Grohl didn't want to do it, even though Cobain did?

I think it was Exhausted that Kurt was interested about recording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

IT was 20 years ago today
    Kurt Cobain died and went away
    Hes being going in and out of style
    buts hes guaranteed to raise a smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Can't say I care to be honest. Only like one of their songs, the one that goes NAH NAH NAAH NAH or something that's pretty good anywhoo

Suas11 wrote: »

Possibly, but there's a quote somewhere about Grohl playing Kurt Alone and Easy Target when Kurt was in the bath. :)

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Can't say I care to be honest. Only like one of their songs, the one that goes NAH NAH NAAH NAH or something that's pretty good anywhoo

Well that was worth posting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Worksforyou

I was talking about Tom Grant the private investigator in this thread last week. He's going to release a movie about the vents leading up to his death. It's called Soaked in Bleach, here's the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtZDRHdvl1U

Mint Aero wrote: »
    So you're admitting that you are a troll then?

Suas11 wrote: »

From Wikipedia:

"Dave Grohl wrote and recorded the song (Alone and Easy Target) in its original form in 1991. Grohl played the demo of the song for Nirvana band-mate Kurt Cobain in a break between touring for the album Nevermind. According to Grohl, "I'd told him I was recording and he said, 'Oh, I wanna hear it, bring it by.' He was sitting in the bath-tub with a walkman on, listening to the song, and when the tape ended, he took the headphones off and kissed me and said, 'Oh, finally, now I don't have to be the only songwriter in the band!' I said, 'No, no, no, I think we're doing just fine with your songs.'"[2] Nirvana would jam the song on soundchecks during the Europe 1991 tour."

and:

"Exhausted" is a song that dates from Dave Grohl's time in Nirvana. Grohl would regularly write and demo songs by himself, some of which would be tried out by the band. Kurt Cobain liked the song and was keen to record a version of it, but ultimately shied away since he was uncomfortable replacing Grohl's lyrics with his own. Grohl did record a version of the song while still a member of Nirvana, along with bassist Krist Novoselic. It was among a handful of songs that the two recorded while waiting for Cobain to arrive for the band's last ever studio session at Robert Lang Studios in Seattle in 1994."

That clears that up. I wonder would Kurt have sung these songs, or would they be like Marigold with Grohl on vocals (and guitar, in that case)? I wonder would Nirvana have become a two-vocalist band?