Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kurt Cobain died 20 years ago today

• 05-04-2014 1:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭

I still find it hard to grasp that the 90s was 20 years ago! I was a bit obsessed with him and nirvana as a teenager but only got into them a year or so after he died so I don't remember his death at all. Strangely I do remember watching the news about Ayrton Senna dying which was the same year. I remember a few years later a friend of my mams saying he still had his ticket for the nirvana gig in Ireland that they never got to play. Wonder if he still has it

Anyone here majorly upset when he died?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

I was pretty mind blown....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i find it hard to accept that there are grown adults who were born after italia 90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

His death seemed almost inevitable.
    The spiral downwards was as public as it was heartbreaking.
    He left a huge legacy. Hope the joy he bought millions was of some, if not enough comfort to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Yeah I remember being shocked pretty badly alright. Loved them at the time.

Wonder what he would have made of the music industry today...

It wasn't until a couple of years later that I really copped it tbh.

20 years though. Bloody hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

This

and Heart-Shaped Box were their best songs IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Nirvana played in Sir Henrys of Cork in 1991 before they sky-rocketed. They were playing support to Sonic Youth.

This article was in today's Irish Examiner to commemorate Kurt Cobain on his anniversary.
    That stroll on a sunny day in Cork obviously left its mark on the 22-year-old Grohl. In 2011, he told journalist Ed Power: “My mother has Irish ancestry. That was my first time in Ireland. I remember waking up in the morning, walking around Cork. I ran back to my hotel room and called my mother — ‘Mom, all the women look like you’!”

Meanwhile, Cobain had also been moved by his own time on Leeside. Some researchers say his ancestors were Cobanes from Co Antrim, but the singer himself reckoned his people were Coburns from the south. He told the Observer in 1993: “They came from County Cork, which is a really weird coincidence, because when we toured Ireland we played in Cork and the entire day I walked around in a daze. I’d never felt more spiritual in my life. It was the weirdest feeling and I have a friend who was with me who could testify to this. I was almost in tears the whole day. Since that tour, which was about two years ago, I’ve had a sense that I was from Ireland.”

There is also a 45 minute Youtube link of them playing Sir Henrys in that article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I hate Nirvana
    I'm sure Besty McD loves them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Yeah I remember being shocked pretty badly alright. Loved them at the time.

Wonder what he would have made of the music industry today...

Well he seemed pretty disillusioned with the industry even back then. Apparently Courtney Love is planning a musical based on his life and featuring nirvana songs. I thought it might be an April fools joke but I don't think it is. That is definitely something that he wouldn't have wanted I'm sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

I was five but I actually remember it because my parents played that Unplugged album constantly in the aftermath. I didn't understand what had happened or anything, but I did understand that I was mighty sick of that album.

Serves them right that ten years later I was blasting Bleach from behind my slammed bedroom door a couple times a week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Biggest mistake he ever made was marrying that woman. He went from being considered as one of the brightest prospects in music for a generation to being one half of the rock star/junkie couple from hell.

Its largely forgotten now but they were considered to be a bit of a sick joke by the end of '92.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Biggest mistake he ever made was marrying that woman. He went from being considered as one of the brightest prospects in music for a generation to being one half of the rock star/junkie couple from hell.

Its largely forgotten now but they were considered to be a bit of a sick joke by the end of '92.

There are some who believe yer wan had him killed.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Well he seemed pretty disillusioned with the industry even back then. Apparently Courtney Love is planning a musical based on his life and featuring nirvana songs. I thought it might be an April fools joke but I don't think it is. That is definitely something that he wouldn't have wanted I'm sure

Aw, bet he'd have loved that:o

Cnut

...her, not you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

:( for the death

:) for the music. 6 years older now than Kurt was when he died, still in awe of his stuff.

A raw, scruffy genius, the likes we'll probably never see again.

rockbeast wrote: »
    Aw, bet he'd have loved that:o

Cnut

...her, not you...

Yes, she is a nasty piece of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

This

and Heart-Shaped Box were their best songs IMO
    Great tunes. How about Scentless Apprentice? Dave Grohl tune with Kurt providing the polish. Amazing stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Watched a documentary where Courtneys father said she did it.

Great singer,junkie scum.

KungPao wrote: »
    Great tunes. How about Scentless Apprentice? Dave Grohl tune with Kurt providing the polish. Amazing stuff!

Scentless Apprentice:)

What was the name of the book the song was based on?

I'm 34 now and memories of 14 at The Grove(teenage Rock/Metal disco) from 1994 are flashing back at me!:eek:

Scentless Apprentice:)

What was the name of the book the song was based on?

I'm 34 now and memories of 14 at The Grove(teenage Rock/Metal disco) from 1994 are flashing back at me!:eek:

Perfume by Patrick Suskind is the book

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Perfume by Patrick Suskind is the book

Yes - Perfume!

Now excuse me whilst I listen to some Grant Lee Buffalo on youtube - my favourite band around that time...

20 years ago? feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Kurt will be a musician that I imagine will be remembered after we're all gone. What ever word people want to put behind time, there's no denying he had brilliance inside of him. I regularly listen to Nirvana and while it really shouldn't have musically worked it just did.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

bnbw57p.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I remember being the only 'rocker' in a class full of ravers, I still have the oversized ex army combats and the faded and (artfully) torn nirvana smiley face tshirt that I bought in Asha tucked away somewhere. Wore them with scuffed docs, too many metal chains and studs and never brushed my hair. Came home from rollerblading around the central bank to get the news from my mam. Went into my room, played Bleach so that the windows rattled and cried and cried. I get that Courtney was a wagon but I loved Hole back in the day. Rarely listen to it now though though nirvana have stood the test of time even though my musical tastes have changed/broadened dramatically. I have sung 'unplugged' nirvana songs to my kids in their cradles...they probably think they're lullabies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Jeez, that went quick.

I would have said 10 years ago if someone asked me.

They say time goes quicker as you get older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Nirvana played in Sir Henrys of Cork in 1991 before they sky-rocketed. They were playing support to Sonic Youth.

This article was in today's Irish Examiner to commemorate Kurt Cobain on his anniversary.

There is also a 45 minute Youtube link of them playing Sir Henrys in that article.
    I saw them in the Top Hat in Dun Laoghaire the following day (August 21st 1991). Both them and Sonic Youth were great that night. The tickets cost £8. On the way up from Kildare, as we were passing through Templeogue (I think), everything went green as we crashed into the side of a double-decker bus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

well considering I was only 6 at the time I don't remember hearing about his death or anything, I did get into nirvana after that though, read some cobain biographies, still listen the odd time, doesn't get old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

They were due to play dublin on the night he died.

The best entry in the 27 club if you ask me.

Musical genius.
    Very cool fella.

But he was troubled, sick and an addict. His life can't have been much fun that last month and he was not able to get the help he needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I was a month shy of my third birthday at the time so it obviously didn't affect me. I loved Nirvana as a teenager though, still give them the odd listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I was absolutely gutted at the time, where on earth has twenty years gone?!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

I still remember hearing their version of Man Who Sold The World as a ten year old and not knowing who it was, what it was about, but absolutely loving it! It was one of the first riffs i figured out on guitar when i started playing and like most teenagers in the 90s, i felt Kurt was someone who understood my angst and hatred at a lot of things in the world.

20 yrs later, if i close my eyes listening to that, i could be any age between 10 & 30, it's like a time machine-as is almost all of the Unplugged album. It would've been interesting to see where his career path would've gone had he lived-would we have had the Foo Fighters anyways?!
    Think today will be a work day full of Nirvana songs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Watched a documentary where Courtneys father said she did it.

Great singer,junkie scum.
    Scum...good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I was actually in my teens at the time, and whilst I was aware of a band called Nirvana, and that its front man had shot him, was not really into that type of music at the time.

Years later and I mean now, I would occasionally listen to some of their music, and I mean other that Smells Like Teen Spirit and Come As You Are. It was quite possibly listening to The Foo Fighters that introduced me to them, when I learnt that Dave Grohl played drums for them.

The biggest surprise is that, and not just in relation to Kurt Cobain, is being aware of stuff that happened 20 years ago, and even more so, people being 10 years younger than talking about it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

i remember watching unplugged in new york live and being mesmerised. it still sends a shiver down my spine today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

It feels like 20 years to me. Feels years ago....which it was. I was 14 and I was sitting in an art class I used to do Saturday mornings and the hippy art teacher came in to tell us and started to cry.

One of my best friends was a massive fan and I only heard of him through her. Called round to her house later to sit on her bedroom floor while she cried to his music. I didn't really get it at the time what a big deal it was tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I saw them in the Top Hat in Dun Laoghaire the following day (August 21st 1991). Both them and Sonic Youth were great that night..

Was there too. Good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

First band i got into in any serious way.
    Literally wore out my copy of Nevermind, becoming mildly obsessed with the second half in particular. Drain you, Stay Away, Lounge act, On a plain etc.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

All I remember is not keeping my ticket for the gig on the night he died.Thise tickets were selling for 1500 pounds at the time.

I got a refund on mine:(:(:(

Also remember being in Fibbers and the dj playing a load of Nirvana songs and then straight after playing something with a shot gun in the lyrics.

Teen spirit and then straight after Bullet in the Head was played about 10 times that night.Guess the DJ wasn't a Nirvana fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Hellrazer wrote: »
    All I remember is not keeping my ticket for the gig on the night he died.Thise tickets were selling for 1500 pounds at the time.

I got a refund on mine:(:(:(

I often think of that.

I can't remember whether I only paid a deposit on mine (you could do that sort of thing) or got a refund, but at that time that was cider money so it was a bird in the hand.

I think he'd been dead a couple days by that stage.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

They had been due to play that night but the gig was cancelled a few days earlier if I remember right. I`d gotten my refund even before he died I think as I think a lot of others did.

The ones that ended up selling for mad money were the die hard fans who still thought the gig might go ahead and kept them and sold them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I still remember when I heard like it was yesterday. Was watching MTV and a newsflash came on to announce it. Was gutted and shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Truly a cultural icon. A musical genius? That's pushing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I don't usually hold a grudge but this is one I still harbour slightly. My mother wouldn't allow me to go to Nirvana in the point depot in 1992. She told me I was too young, even though my big sister was going. I was bawling into my pillow all night that night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Worksforyou

Was too young at the time but got into them seriously later. Became obsessed, happens to a lot of teenagers. Even now which is amazing. Read everything about them, bought all the rare stuff (this was well before most of it was released officially). Anyone follow Tom Grants theory, it's still never been answered. How can you pull the trigger with that much heroin injected in you? Impossible.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Truly a cultural icon. A musical genius? That's pushing it.

He didn't have a singing voice but when you listen to the songs they're actually fantastic. I was only two at the time but looking back some of the things he did were just genius. Listen to In Bloom, the lyrics talk about people who don't understand the message he was trying to convey but just listen along cause the tune is good. The irony being that the chorus is ridiculously catchy.

Also if you have an hour to spare, listen to unplugged in new york. It's awesome.

I'm not hating on your opinion but I just really really wish there was music like this when I was growing up rather than a lot of the stuff which tops the chart these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Remember it well. I was gutted. Couldn't believe it was suicide. I was in college at the time, the juke box got a lot of Nirvana plays for a while.

As far as I remember the concert was cancelled about 2 or 3 weeks before he died so a lot of people had gotten refunds by the tine he died. Very sad. Still have Nirvana music on my ipod now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TheShockmaster

I remember this day well. It was a shock because I hadn't really ever heard of someone killing themself before.

Cobain was a great rock star, probably the last, but he was also somewhat different. He was not a bitter, angry misanthrope as some people suggest (see the liner notes of Incesticide: "At this point I have a request for our fans. If any of you in any way hate homosexuals, people of different color, or women, please do this one favor for us– leave us the **** alone!)

I don't think his influence can be underestimated in music generally.

I also think that he had a really awful life, his stomach issues, depression and family history of suicide as well as a crippling addiction meant that he would have probably OD'ed if he hadn't shot himself.

As for Courtney Love . . . i think she saw him as a means to an end, but i also feel that they did geuinely love each other and that she helped him a lot before he died (saved his life in Italy I believe).

His legacy is slightly misunderstood and packaged as a live fast, die young, 27 club package that is horrendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Wow, he looks like such a ride in the picture of him accompanying the article. I never looked at him as hot before!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Ah Kurt Cobain, proof that sometimes the best thing you can do for your career is kill yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

They released two new photos of him there a few weeks back (death scene), not his face or anything but still pretty grim. I don't think that's right tbh.