Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match Thread: Toulon vs Leinster Rugby, Stade Felix Mayol, 4:30 PM Irish Time, SS3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

If Fitz was 100% he'd be in the squad. He offers more cover than Kirchner for example. It's somewhat possible to consider him not starting but I find it impossible to believe he'd be dropped altogether if he was 100%.

If Fitz is fit and has been left out of the 23 I have zero faith left in MOC tbh, none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

danthefan wrote: »
    If Fitz is fit and has been left out of the 23 I have zero faith left in MOC tbh, none.

not only left out of the 23. left out of the travelling party and let out to a nightclub to tell everyone how fit he is

Would essentially mean MOC rates Fanning as a better 24th man :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Some amount of people in Toulon for the match! Leinster jerseys everywhere you look :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

If Fitz was 100% he'd be in the squad. He offers more cover than Kirchner for example. It's somewhat possible to consider him not starting but I find it impossible to believe he'd be dropped altogether if he was 100%.

But even then, what possible motivation could there be for dropping him from the starting team? His kick chase work has been excellent all season, he's worked hard at the ruck (a quality Schmidt apparently values so highly) and of course he's been our most threatening winger in attack and arguably our most sound winger in defence. And he's been scoring tries. And he's been doing it at every level. He was our best back against Castres away and Northampton home and away. And arguably against Ospreys at home. So basically every H Cup game he's started

Full disclosure: I love Fitzgerald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

This match is pretty close to a dream matchup. It just lacks the injured players on both sides along with Sexton and Nacewa!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 36 BPG

Tox56 wrote: »
    But even then, what possible motivation could there be for dropping him? His kick chase work has been excellent all season, he's worked hard at the ruck (a quality Schmidt apparently values so highly) and of course he's been our most threatening winger in attack and arguably our most sound winger in defence. And he's been scoring tries. And he's been doing it at every level. He was our best back against Castres away and Northampton home and away. And arguably against Ospreys at home. So basically every H Cup game he's started

Full disclosure: I love Fitzgerald

Well if I was guessing I'd say that BOD is carrying a knock so McFadden starts and covers 13 if BOD has to go off. Kirchner can then cover wing or full back, Fitzgerald can't cover full back. D.Kearney seems to be the untouchable of matt o'connor so he keeps his place.

It still doesn't explain why Fitzgerald wouldn't travel as back up though.

All I'm saying is that I asked him if he was injured again and he said he was grand but didn't travel this time.

This match is pretty close to a dream matchup. It just lacks the injured players on both sides along with Sexton and Nacewa!

In another universe

Healy
    Strauss
    Ross
    McCarthy
    Toner
    Ruddock
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Reddan
    Sexton
    Fitzgerald
    D'Arcy
    BOD
    Nacewa
    Kearney

Oh yes. I don't know who Toulon's injured players are but I'm guessing if they were fit and they played that side I think it's fair to say it would be the greatest game of any sport ever played in the history of the universe

BPG wrote: »
    Well if I was guessing I'd say that BOD is carrying a knock so McFadden starts and covers 13 if BOD has to go off. Kirchner can then cover wing or full back, Fitzgerald can't cover full back. D.Kearney seems to be the untouchable of matt o'connor so he keeps his place.

It still doesn't explain why Fitzgerald wouldn't travel as back up though.

Maybe ask him next time ye're sharing a pint :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Healy
    Strauss
    Ross
    McCarthy
    Toner
    Ruddock
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Reddan
    Sexton
    Fitzgerald
    D'Arcy
    BOD
    Nacewa
    Kearney

Ahh jaysus. That's just cruel :(

Maybe ask him next time ye're sharing a pint :rolleyes:

Why so cynical? If you really wan't i'll PM you some screenshots of my facebook so you can see the players I know.

It's not really unusual in Dublin to know a few players on the team, theres only really 6 big rugby schools here so if you went to one of the 6 then your going to know a few players.

So odd how you think thats 'extraordinary'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Tox56 wrote: »
    In another universe

Healy
    Strauss
    Ross
    McCarthy
    Toner
    Ruddock
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Reddan
    Sexton
    Fitzgerald
    D'Arcy
    BOD
    Nacewa
    Kearney

Oh yes. I don't know who Toulon's injured players are but I'm guessing if they were fit and they played that side I think it's fair to say it would be the greatest game of any sport ever played in the history of the universe

Leinlon:

Healy, Strauss, Hayman, Bakkies, Toner, SOB, Lobbe, Heaslip
    Michalak, Sexton, Habana, Giteau, BOD, Nacewa, Kearney

Noice

Fitzgerald covers 13, McFadden can still cover 13 from the bench and Dave Kearney covers fullback. And Fitzgerald has been picked when fit as much as D Kearney, a straight call between those two is Fitzgerald no contest

Why so cynical? If you really wan't i'll PM you some screenshots of my facebook so you can see the players I know.

It's not really unusual in Dublin to know a few players on the team, theres only really 6 big rugby schools here so if you went to one of the 6 then your going to know a few players.

So odd how you think thats 'extraordinary'.

lol

Because that will some how prove that Luke Fitzgerald was saying he was fit to play in a Dublin nightclub Friday night. :rolleyes:

lol

Because that will some how prove that Luke Fitzgerald was saying he was fit to play in a Dublin nightclub Friday night. :rolleyes:

OK, I actually don't really care to be honest.

SOB, Lobbe, Heaslip

Operation_Upshot-Knothole_-_Badger_001.jpg

That actually could have been the Toulon backrow next season if things worked out differently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

lol

fitzgerald has right to enjoy himself after all he is been treated very badly by leinster and ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Maybe there's some truth UMSE in what BPG says, maybe he isn't injured. Personally, I'd have Luke in the match day 23, but the proof is in the scoreline. I'll hold judgement on MOC until 6pm, if DK & FMc do the business, and Leinster win, I won't be crying tears for Luke, even if I'll be sorry he didn't get to play a part. If DK gets shown up bigtime, the Leinster attack lacks spark etc then I'll be critical of MOC.

I just dont understand the DK thing. I know hes solid but I'd still have even Kirchner on the wing ahead of him. I just think hes solid and nothing else.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Maybe there's some truth UMSE in what BPG says, maybe he isn't injured. Personally, I'd have Luke in the match day 23, but the proof is in the scoreline. I'll hold judgement on MOC until 6pm, if DK & FMc do the business, and Leinster win, I won't be crying tears for Luke, even if I'll be sorry he didn't get to play a part. If DK gets shown up bigtime, the Leinster attack lacks spark etc then I'll be critical of MOC.

It's just a chat up line he was using.

"I'm fit, raring to go, I can go all night" :D

CatFromHue wrote: »
    It's just a chat up line he was using.

"I'm fit, raring to go, I can go all night" :D

He has had to resort to terrible chat up lines now that he can no longer get his game for Leinster. The fall has been rapid for Lukey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I just dont understand the DK thing. I know hes solid but I'd still have even Kirchner on the wing ahead of him. I just think hes solid and nothing else.

He's an intelligent skillful footballer, very adaptable. Comes from his background at 10/15. It'll be Luke and him on the wing going forward I'd imagine.

I think Leinster can pull of a shock here. There's bound to be a massive level of belief amongst the players following the six nations

A bit of belief is what gets the likes of Connacht over the line against Tolouse or Ulster to within nearly beating Saracens with 14 men over 75 mins.

Belief is an amazing thing, but then you look at that Toulon squad and you find yourself saying that all the belief in the world won't make the difference. If Leinster had SOB I'd give them a chance. If Leinster had SOB and Sexton I'd have them favourites. Otherwise, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Posting the "What could have been" starting line-up makes me even less confident! I hope Leinster can nick it with a few Toulon players out and Wilkinson being average this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

A bit of belief is what gets the likes of Connacht over the line against Tolouse or Ulster to within nearly beating Saracens with 14 men over 75 mins.

Belief is an amazing thing, but then you look at that Toulon squad and you find yourself saying that all the belief in the world won't make the difference. If Leinster had SOB I'd give them a chance. If Leinster had SOB and Sexton I'd have them favourites. Otherwise, no.

So lets get this straight. You are saying the gap between Leinster and Toulon is bigger than Connacht Toulouse/Ulster?? No wonder you re-regged.

Davei141 wrote: »
    So lets get this straight. You are saying the gap between Leinster and Toulon is bigger than Connacht Toulouse/Ulster?? No wonder you re-regged.

Sure he just had to tell us he's friends with Luke!:D

Davei141 wrote: »

No I just mean that the quality and class of Toulon's squad cancels out any impact that belief can have. To beat a team of that quality you need to be playing at your very best. Its a lot like playing New Zealand, you have to pull out a top drawer flawless performance to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

2 great away performances in the comp so far and got the job done in the other, I've got full faith they can do it.

Sure he just had to tell us he's friends with Luke!:D

I said I wasn't friends with him actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

Thread needs more focus.