Church bells..a blast from the past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

buckle your belts for another catholic-bashing thread.

Nah, this thread is about bell ends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

anncoates wrote: »
    In other words, a couple of yards from the church. Did you notice the extremely large bell tower when you agreed to rent the house? :)

Nope I didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Actually seems to be the non catholics getting it here. But yanno, how dare anyone say anything bad about the catholic church. Here they're just complaining about noise and the Christians feel targeted

Look the bells are annoying for sure ..most times I would sleep through the 8.45 am bell session due to copious amount of alcohol on a Saturday night.
    As ever alcohol provides a solution to all of life's little problems...problem =light sleeper ..solution= get hammered:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭dubbie82

I am living next to a train station, I don't use the trains yet they still insist on stopping here and make noise, such a selfish company really.

I grew up on the countryside on the continent and where it was custom for the cows to wear bells at night while they were on the fields. So many city people tried to rent or buy in the country to escape and a good few of them complained and I remember one of the new arrivals even tried to go to the council and sought legal advise to force the farmer to either keep the cows in overnight or remove the bells.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Used to live right beside a church that rang their bells at 6am on Sundays and 6pm every day. It wasn't in Ireland though.

I didn't mind the evening bells but the Sunday morning one was incredibly annoying. Got used to it after a while though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

notnumber wrote: »
    Yip I can move as I only rent but as we all know decent rental properties are hard neigh on impossible to find these days.

stop shouting, noisy fecker.

did i wake you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

bluewolf wrote: »
    It's not something I've ever minded, liked it in spain

Did I ever mention to you that I live there?

I have church bells right beside my flat that I've gotten used to. I'm awoken by a cacophony of noises every morning from the little old lady downstairs who makes rather disturbing orgasmic noises while she stretches to hang her washing out along with her cat whose meows sound like a baby crying in pain to my next door neighbour's awful Flamenco playing to people having conversations IN VERY LOUD VOICES to people playing their radios very loudly.

It's just the way it is. Complaining if futile. That's what you get for choosing to live among humans.

• Site Banned Posts: 86 ✭✭Pixie69

Burn down the church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

You're right, just like all those anti-RC threads giving out about priests raping kids and the RC church covering it up. Shocking anti-RCism.

Or just maybe it's about noise pollution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Maybe if you gave attention to the bird's knockers than the knockers in the bell tower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I feel your pain OP, it's the same in my village. What's worse is they installed a computer or loudspeaker or something and removed the bell.
    Same amount of nuisance without the ( I feel ) compensatory benefit of being able to ring the bells yourself at 2 in the morning pissed drunk! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

I live by Christchurch and I really like the bells. Though some evenings they go inexplicably mental and go on for aaaages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

OP if it's any consolation it's actually probably just bell samples being played through loudspeakers

That's the way it's gone these days/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

All the church bells I've ever heard in Ireland are crap usually pre-recorded from a real bell. When we lived in York there was proper bell ringing, some evenings there'd be several churches practicing at the same time and it was really lovely. Not something I'd ever have thought I'd hear myself saying before then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

^ What is that crap about? I ain't wasting 4 mins watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Lets be clear the bells for people are about telling time nothing to do with the religion. Because people didn't have watches or clocks the bells were put in place so people could tell the time and when to go to mass, prey etc...

Now people have watches and clocks there is no need for them they have no religious purpose. The call to prayer is different but that is actually not allowed here when locals complain.

The problem with some bell mechanisms is if you stop using it it just starts to fall apart from non-use.

The issue is why should somebody else impose their non religious clock timer on anybody else? The majority are destined to be switch off over time. Only a few very historical ones will be allowed stay

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

notnumber wrote: »
    Its the noise -not the religion.

Psssssssssst. Its not on to take any sort of issue with "Good catholic Ireland, no matter how legit because...well...just cos right!:mad:

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Put away your trendy anti Catholicism. The Protestant churches are fair boys for ringing the bells as well. Were ye ever in around Christchurch on a Sunday morning? When living in London I used get up early on a Sunday and walk along through Fulham to Hammersmith and down by the Thames. The sounds of the ringing bells from the different churches were lovely before the hum of the city took over. Maybe you could move to Baghdad and start writing to the paper about the noise from the Mosque calling people to prayer?

Isnt trendy and fashionability the following of what is currently 'in'?
    What with over 80% of the Irish population claiming to be catholic I dont see how being anti catholic is trendy. Quite the opposite.

Graces7 wrote: »
    Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Lets be clear the bells for people are about telling time nothing to do with the religion. Because people didn't have watches or clocks the bells were put in place so people could tell the time and when to go to mass, prey etc...

Now people have watches and clocks there is no need for them they have no religious purpose. The call to prayer is different but that is actually not allowed here when locals complain.

The problem with some bell mechanisms is if you stop using it it just starts to fall apart from non-use.

The issue is why should somebody else impose their non religious clock timer on anybody else? The majority are destined to be switch off over time. Only a few very historical ones will be allowed stay[/QUOTfoE]

wrong on many scores. the angelus rings at 6 am, noon and 6 pm traditionally, when there are prayers to be said. at rossnowlagh franciscan friary the bells ring whole hymns.

summoning to mass isdifferent but wonderful

and the passing bell..

what is far more irksome than bells is the lack of correct intolerance.

wrong also that they will stop. thankfully
    I have absolutely no idea what you are trying to say!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

op; you have learned a lesson. before renting look and listen in the neighbourhood .

many years ago in the uk, i found a lovely bedsitter in the area i wanted at a reasonable price.

it was evening and i was about to take it when i happened to look out of the window. next door was a large timberyard.

renter beware.

I have absolutely no idea what you are trying to say!:o

sorry; mea culpa. working one handedwith broken wrist and did not separate reply from post i was relying to

will try and fix it 1

The issue is why should somebody else impose their non religious clock timer on anybody else? The majority are destined to be switch off over time. Only a few very historical ones will be allowed stay

wrong on many scores. the angelus rings at 6 am, noon and 6 pm traditionally, when there are prayers to be said. at rossnowlagh franciscan friary the bells ring whole hymns.

and the passing bell..

what is far more irksome than bells is the lack of correctness and the intolerance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I live near Christchurch and some days you just know theyve been at the communion wine becuase they give the bells absolute socks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Far away across the fields
    The tolling of the iron bell
    Calls the faithful to their knees
    To hear the softy spoken magic spells....

Far away across the fields
    The tolling of the iron bell
    Calls the faithful to their knees
    To hear the softy spoken magic spells....

Up the street past Xtra Vision
    A cheap and tinny speaker system
    Call the old folk with their zimmers
    To eat their god just like a dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

and the passing bell..

what is far more irksome than bells is the lack of correctness and the intolerance.

Wonder how I am wrong considering you have just said exactly what I said bar mention of monasteries?

Bells are being stopped all the time once a noise complaint is made. Some have been overturned afterwards many have not.

The bells have no religious purpose in themselves. They are not required to perform religious ceremony. Monks can do what they like but there is no need to bother others.

If you find it somehow irksome for somebody not to be bothered by another religion to their own, or lack of, that is imposing itself on others I think you misunderstand tolerance. Bell ringing is surplus to requirements in a modern age where people can tell the time and afford time pieces. If the religious orders of every denomination want tolerance don't force your beliefs on others and show tolerance on the secular world. You can sign up for text alerts to know what you want if you must get the church to tell the time for you.

Bells can sound pretty church bells in Ireland often do not have any musical merit.

Wonder how I am wrong considering you have just said exactly what I said bar mention of monasteries?

Bells are being stopped all the time once a noise complaint is made. Some have been overturned afterwards many have not.

The bells have no religious purpose in themselves. They are not required to perform religious ceremony. Monks can do what they like but there is no need to bother others.

If you find it somehow irksome for somebody not to be bothered by another religion to their own, or lack of, that is imposing itself on others I think you misunderstand tolerance. Bell ringing is surplus to requirements in a modern age where people can tell the time and afford time pieces. If the religious orders of every denomination want tolerance don't force your beliefs on others and show tolerance on the secular world. You can sign up for text alerts to know what you want if you must get the church to tell the time for you.

Bells can sound pretty church bells in Ireland often do not have any musical merit.

yaaawwwwwwnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

bring on the bells....nothing to do with telling the time..

you are so...............................words fail