Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Church bells..a blast from the past?

• 06-04-2014 8:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Moved to Saggart about a year ago but one thing about the village drives me nuts and that's the church bells.
    8.45 a.m on a Sunday morning and woken from my reverie for what feels like 5 minutes but is probably actually a minute of bong -bong-bong from the local church calling the faithful to mass.
    The bells go every day but I only really hear them at the weekend and at 6 pm on a weekday.Yip I can move as I only rent but as we all know decent rental properties are hard to find these days.
    I understand its quaint and tradition but its not 1950's Catholic Ireland anymore where people needed to be informed by bells that mass is starting cos they lack the ability to tell the time back then maybe.
    In this day and age does one really need to put up with this 'noise pollution'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Ear plugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Bells.

It's not something I've ever minded, liked it in spain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Close your windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

The epitome of a first world problem. The OP is renting, therefore moving will not be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Bells are calling you to Mass, you should go, you might lose some of this uptightness. We're Catholics micks here, that's our identity. If you raised with it don't diss it, like Fianna Fail they did more good to this country than bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

When they are having their mass get a loudspeaker and blast them out of it.

See how they like it.

Bangers also do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

anncoates wrote: »
    Close your windows.

Soundproof the house maybe ..anyone got loads of egg cartons so I can soundproof the room?
    Sorta missing the point of the post ... would you wear earplugs or soundproof your house thinking 'a sure its my problem'.
    What right does the catholic church have to disturb non-catholic people with their bells? If a mosque was to start blasting bells in the area every morning they would quickly be silenced I'm sure.

notnumber wrote: »
    Soundproof the house maybe ..anyone got loads of egg cartons so I can soundproof the room?
    Sorta missing the point of the post ... would you wear earplugs or soundproof your house thinking 'a sure its my problem'.
    What right does the catholic church have to disturb non-catholic people with their bells? If a mosque was to start blasting bells in the area every morning they would quickly be silenced I'm sure.

Become a town crier and see what happens!

Is it the noise that's problem, or who's making it?

Banjoxed wrote: »
    The epitome of a first world problem. The OP is renting, therefore moving will not be a problem.

Yip I can move as I only rent but as we all know decent rental properties are hard neigh on impossible to find these days.

Is it the noise that's problem, or who's making it?

Its the noise -not the religion.

For the record, I also live in that village and I can't recall the last time I heard the church bells so I presume your ears are more sensitive than mine.

The church was there first, so they don't have to stop ringing the bells for you.
    An RPG would sort the problem though. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Put away your trendy anti Catholicism. The Protestant churches are fair boys for ringing the bells as well. Were ye ever in around Christchurch on a Sunday morning? When living in London I used get up early on a Sunday and walk along through Fulham to Hammersmith and down by the Thames. The sounds of the ringing bells from the different churches were lovely before the hum of the city took over. Maybe you could move to Baghdad and start writing to the paper about the noise from the Mosque calling people to prayer?

So based on the replies it seems this my issue and they have every right to wake up the neighborhood on a Sunday morning at 8.45 am.
    If you don't like get earplugs or move seems to be the consenus.
    They can ring the bells all day on a weekday because I am at work but on a weekend morning I would prefer not to hear them..ok rant over ,,as mentioned I only rent and one day I will move but I wondered do others find them annoying.

Suck it up then, a minute every Sunday morning is miniscule compared to what many people have to put up with. How would you handle trains rattling, cars honking, cows mooing, sheep baaing? Or the smell of slurry or fish offal permeating through your walls?

Many do and you don't hear them complaining.

For the record, I also live in that village and I can't recall the last time I heard the church bells so I presume your ears are more sensitive than mine.

I cannot speculate as to your hearing levels or whereabouts you reside but I live on the main street just down from the cemetery ,,if you couldn't hear these bells then you might need to contact hidden hearing for a free hearing aid :)

Suck it up then, a minute every Sunday morning is miniscule compared to what many people have to put up with. How would you handle trains rattling, cars honking, cows mooing, sheep baaing? Or the smell of slurry or fish offal permeating through your walls?

Many do and you don't hear them complaining.

Well that's quite true many are in a worse position than I,some folks don't even have houses and live on the streets :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Bloody campanologists, always ringing their bells.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Put away your trendy anti Catholicism. The Protestant churches are fair boys for ringing the bells as well. Were ye ever in around Christchurch on a Sunday morning? When living in London I used get up early on a Sunday and walk along through Fulham to Hammersmith and down by the Thames. The sounds of the ringing bells from the different churches were lovely before the hum of the city took over. Maybe you could move to Baghdad and start writing to the paper about the noise from the Mosque calling people to prayer?

Quit trying to imply stuff ..if it was a synagogue or a buddha temple the issue would be the same.

The church was there first, so they don't have to stop ringing the bells for you.
    An RPG would sort the problem though. ;)

A role playing game ? how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Good morning Esmerelda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

A role playing game ? how?

They could turn the computher speakers down. Or use headphones maybe?

Quit trying to imply stuff ..if it was a synagogue or a buddha temple the issue would be the same.

That's right the Jews in Saggart have gone completly out of control. And as for the Budhists. I blame the Dalai Lama

Bloody campanologists, always ringing their bells.
    campanology, now there's a job title that rings a bell! :pac:

classy:rolleyes:

I cannot speculate as to your hearing levels or whereabouts you reside but I live on the main street just down from the cemetery ,,if you couldn't hear these bells then you might need to contact hidden hearing for a free hearing aid :)

In other words, a couple of yards from the church. Did you notice the extremely large bell tower when you agreed to rent the house? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

buckle your belts for another catholic-bashing thread.

Nah, this thread is about bell ends.

In other words, a couple of yards from the church. Did you notice the extremely large bell tower when you agreed to rent the house? :)

Nope I didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Actually seems to be the non catholics getting it here. But yanno, how dare anyone say anything bad about the catholic church. Here they're just complaining about noise and the Christians feel targeted

Look the bells are annoying for sure ..most times I would sleep through the 8.45 am bell session due to copious amount of alcohol on a Saturday night.
    As ever alcohol provides a solution to all of life's little problems...problem =light sleeper ..solution= get hammered:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭dubbie82

I am living next to a train station, I don't use the trains yet they still insist on stopping here and make noise, such a selfish company really.

I grew up on the countryside on the continent and where it was custom for the cows to wear bells at night while they were on the fields. So many city people tried to rent or buy in the country to escape and a good few of them complained and I remember one of the new arrivals even tried to go to the council and sought legal advise to force the farmer to either keep the cows in overnight or remove the bells.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Used to live right beside a church that rang their bells at 6am on Sundays and 6pm every day. It wasn't in Ireland though.

I didn't mind the evening bells but the Sunday morning one was incredibly annoying. Got used to it after a while though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Yip I can move as I only rent but as we all know decent rental properties are hard neigh on impossible to find these days.

stop shouting, noisy fecker.

did i wake you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

bluewolf wrote: »
    It's not something I've ever minded, liked it in spain

Did I ever mention to you that I live there?

I have church bells right beside my flat that I've gotten used to. I'm awoken by a cacophony of noises every morning from the little old lady downstairs who makes rather disturbing orgasmic noises while she stretches to hang her washing out along with her cat whose meows sound like a baby crying in pain to my next door neighbour's awful Flamenco playing to people having conversations IN VERY LOUD VOICES to people playing their radios very loudly.

It's just the way it is. Complaining if futile. That's what you get for choosing to live among humans.

• Site Banned Posts: 86 ✭✭Pixie69

Burn down the church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

You're right, just like all those anti-RC threads giving out about priests raping kids and the RC church covering it up. Shocking anti-RCism.

Or just maybe it's about noise pollution.

Maybe if you gave attention to the bird's knockers than the knockers in the bell tower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I feel your pain OP, it's the same in my village. What's worse is they installed a computer or loudspeaker or something and removed the bell.
    Same amount of nuisance without the ( I feel ) compensatory benefit of being able to ring the bells yourself at 2 in the morning pissed drunk! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

I live by Christchurch and I really like the bells. Though some evenings they go inexplicably mental and go on for aaaages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

OP if it's any consolation it's actually probably just bell samples being played through loudspeakers

That's the way it's gone these days/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

All the church bells I've ever heard in Ireland are crap usually pre-recorded from a real bell. When we lived in York there was proper bell ringing, some evenings there'd be several churches practicing at the same time and it was really lovely. Not something I'd ever have thought I'd hear myself saying before then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

^ What is that crap about? I ain't wasting 4 mins watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Lets be clear the bells for people are about telling time nothing to do with the religion. Because people didn't have watches or clocks the bells were put in place so people could tell the time and when to go to mass, prey etc...

Now people have watches and clocks there is no need for them they have no religious purpose. The call to prayer is different but that is actually not allowed here when locals complain.

The problem with some bell mechanisms is if you stop using it it just starts to fall apart from non-use.

The issue is why should somebody else impose their non religious clock timer on anybody else? The majority are destined to be switch off over time. Only a few very historical ones will be allowed stay

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Psssssssssst. Its not on to take any sort of issue with "Good catholic Ireland, no matter how legit because...well...just cos right!:mad: