Are Cork people weird ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Skid X wrote: »
    I never met a Cork person I didn't like.

But there are some quare sorts hanging around Galway.

Oh big time there Skid.

Let me be the first to agree with you on that :)

But we don't spend our days talking about drisheenn and other lard ridden stuff.

We're too busy drinking espresso, getting stoned on cheap gear and writing bad poetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭bradlente

Probably

Tomato bread is yum in fairness.

Stop it now.

You're just trying to be provocative. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Lapin wrote: »
    Oh big time there Skid.

Let me be the first to agree with you on that :)

But we don't spend our days talking about drisheenn and other lard ridden stuff.

We're too busy drinking espresso, getting stoned on cheap gear and writing bad poetry.

Ye are.......................Yeah............:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You're skating on thin ice there Lapin!!.....:(

Wait , what there's ice and snow somewhere in Ireland tonight , where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Grayditch wrote: »
    Ah they're grand. They'll argue that they're way better than grand, but they're grand.

They are better than more than just being grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Wait , what there's ice and snow somewhere in Ireland tonight , where ?

Cork.........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

smcgiff wrote: »
    Population size does not determine one's capital city.
    True, but they're not the seat of government either, or the economic hub of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

nc19 wrote: »
    No, but im sure the ability to be understood by anyone not of country extraction might.

But you are just extolling its uniqueness and separateness from the rest of the country...

mmm...

Maybe Cork is different... Should possibly even set up its own Republic.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭Lisha

Have to say though that drisheen and crubeens are more of a city thing. Purely IMHO .
    Only person I've known to eat drisheen is from limerick city.
    Think I'm lucky that my parents are very fussy eaters and I was never exposed to random bags of weird fat.
    Other than black pudding of course.

True, but they're not the seat of government either, or the economic hub of the country.

Economic hub is not a criteria either. Neither, necessarily, is seat of government. Look at The Netherlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Cork people are as weird as 9 euro notes but you wont find a more willing to help bunch. My car broke down before the toll bridges and was just about driveable one early morning bringing someone to the airport. I advised him to start thumbing and hope for the best, which in this day and age, isnt much... Not only did a stranger stop, he ended up going out of his way and dropping him off at the airport while I hit the next exits and limped back!! (I did not want to chance the car stopping altogether in the middle of the city :eek: ).
    A right sound bunch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Have never met one in my life.

Cork City has the worst brogue in Hibernia judging by what i've heard

orangesoda wrote: »
    Have never met one in my life.

Cork City has the worst brogue in Hibernia judging by what i've heard

You must never have met anyone from Belfast either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Economic hub is not a criteria either. Neither, necessarily, is seat of government. Look at The Netherlands.
    It's usually a combination of the above criteria though. Cork doesn't answer any of them.

Are you seriously defending the status quo and arguing Cork isn't the capital city. Because if you are you're losing. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

You must never have met anyone from Belfast either.

It's bad but not as bad as Cork, I blame the Vikings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Never ate tripe and drisheen. I'd say that's more of an old person, really old-skool clichéd Frank O'Connor/the bells of Shandon kinda thing.

orangesoda wrote: »
    It's bad but not as bad as Cork, I blame the Vikings

That's probably because you're more climatised to it. ;)

In fairness I love Cork people. The have a great sense of humour and know how to have a laugh. (Mayo take note).

I just think they're a bit odd.

And one of my faourite songs is a Cork song. Sung here (badly) by a true legend.

A true legend who can't sing but is allowed to get away with it because we all love him !

There is a more lively version of that song somewhere. By Finbar Wright I think. But I can't find it.

Never ate tripe and drisheen. I'd say that's more of an old person, really old-skool clichéd Frank O'Connor/the bells of Shandon kinda thing.

A friend of mine from the UK came to visit me in October and I took him where the bells of Shandon are - it was my first time ever being up there!
    We didn't actually go upstairs to the bells though 'cause we weren't sure if the place was open or not and were too awkward to check, so I just sorta pointed at the church and went "erm..that's it". Also having been mugged by being in the wrong part of Shandon at the wrong time before, I was pretty eager to leave and head elsewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

(Mayo take note)

Ah, now. Everyone knows Mayo people cant read or write!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It's old school alright. Funnily enough Saturday Kitchen featured a segment by the late great Keith Floyd recently from Cork. Tripe was featured and undoubtedly looked shoite but the enthusiasm from the ubiquitously semi pissed Keith allowed me overlook it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Aidric wrote: »
    It's old school alright. Funnily enough Saturday Kitchen featured a segment by the late great Keith Floyd recently from Cork. Tripe was featured and undoubtedly looked shoite but the enthusiasm from the ubiquitously semi pissed Keith allowed me overlook it.

Ah, Keith. He was some legend alright :)

Also, Cork people are wonderful. Although I'm coming around to yous mad Dubs, bleedin nuts yiz are :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

I've seen better topics than this in The Sun.

But seriously, speaking as a guy who is currently travelling, Cork people are no different from other Irish natives, and people in general some sound, some not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Galwegians are just Culchies with notions about themselves. :pac: I was up there once and it was one of the most boring shiteholes I've ever visited. The main shopping street, ingeniously named Shop street is like a side street you'd find off Grafton street in Dublin or Patrick street in Cork.
    Obviously all that cheap gear has gone to your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

zetalambda wrote: »
    Galwegians are just Culchies with notions about themselves. :pac: I was up there once and it was one of the most boring shiteholes I've ever visited. The main shopping street, ingeniously named Shop street is like a side street you'd find off Grafton street in Dublin or Patrick street in Cork.
    Obviously all that cheap gear has gone to your head.
    Take that back. Galway is awesome!

Tilly wrote: »
    Take that back. Galway is awesome!

Yeah, Galway's a great town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Yeah, Galway's a great town.

A mediocre town. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

zetalambda wrote: »
    The main shopping street, ingeniously named Shop street is like a side street you'd find off Grafton street in Dublin or Patrick street in Cork.

Hark at Carrie Bradsaw with her shoe filled shopping bags............

"Oh tootles the shopping was horrendous".

What's next?

zetalambda: [voiceover whilst typing] Year after year, twenty-something women come to Galway in search of the two L's: labels and love.