Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Cork people weird ?

• 05-04-2014 5:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

There's a radio documentary on in the background here about the Queen's visit to the English Market in Cork a couple of years ago.

Lots of Cork people being interviewed obviously, but all they do is talk about food that no one would dream of eating. Stuff called drisheen and crubeens and other assorted bags of fat.

A posh woman (not the queen) goes there to buy 'bread with tomatoes in it'.

Someone else claimed the best corned beef in the universe is made there. (Well maybe he didn't, but that's what I took from his accent. He could have said 'your hamster is on fire for all I know)'.

Another fella known as the 'mouth of the south' said feckall. Brilliant radio that !

Cork people - A weird bunch of lads.

By the way. Before the green flag brigade arrive asking what queen?
    It's the Enslish/British/UK one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭beaner92

I literally arrived in cork last night for the first time . So far not very weird lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

If by weird you mean not homogenous, and with character then yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Well, they seem to think that Cark is the real capital of Ireland despite having 800,000 people less than Dublin.

So I wouldn't say they're weird per sé, but they're shíte at maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Why is it called the English Market?

Well, they seem to think that Cork is the real capital of Ireland despite having 800,000 people less than Dublin.

So I wouldn't say they're weird per se, but they're ****e at maths.

Population size does not determine one's capital city.

What's wrong with tomato bread??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

Cork people are not weird at all.

Fact

Ah they're all mad there. All mad.

Great storytellers though - assuming you can understand them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

In answer to the OP's question...no,we're not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Well, they seem to think that Cark is the real capital of Ireland despite having 800,000 people less than Dublin.

Canberra is the capital of Australia.
    Ottawa is the capital of Canada.
    Brasilia is the capital of Brazil.
    Washington DC is the capital of US of A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

You're telling me. Those pesky people of Washington DC are claiming the same in the USA. New Yorkers must be fed up of them by now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

bluewolf wrote: »
    What's wrong with tomato bread??

Pizza thread >>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

In my experience, they're odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

You're skating on thin ice there Lapin!!.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Ah they're grand. They'll argue that they're way better than grand, but they're grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

smcgiff wrote: »

It's one factor among many. Others include economic impact (Dublin), geographical location (Dublin). I know it's a joke amongst most people, but I'm yet to find a decent reason for Cork being the capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

In fairness, there's a lot of really good food places at pretty much every budget level in Cork, they're right to be proud of their food.

Cork people aren't that weird. They talk a lot and very fast, and a lot of the time what they're talking about is Cork. Some of them are d1ickheads, some of them are lovely, some of them are in between. Same as most places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

You win this round McGiff!

Still, as has been said above, there's nothing about Cork that makes it capital worthy. If it was the centre of the country you'd say something. But then where would we be? Athlone! That's where! You want to do that to this country? Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I never met a Cork person I didn't like.

But there are some quare sorts hanging around Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Lapin wrote: »
    Someone else claimed the best corned beef in the universe is made there. (Well maybe he didn't, but that's what I took from his accent. He could have said 'your hamster is on fire for all I know)'.

Another fella known as the 'mouth of the south' said feckall.

Tomato bread is yum in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I'm working in Limerick at the mo - Cork people are a doddle compared to Limerick people. They sidle up, fire off somthing that sounds like gababbagaggle googaggleraabooglegabblegabbleroobaaah and stand waiting for me to answer. I'm not sure what the Limerick for "not a feckin clue what you just said there old son" is, but as soon as I figure it out, I reckon I'm gonna start enjoying Limerick a whole lot more.

It's one factor among many. Others include economic impact (Dublin), geographical location (Dublin). I know it's a joke amongst most people, but I'm yet to find a decent reason for Cork being the capital.

It's a characteristic rather than a defining criteria.

But, yeah, don't tell Lapin, but it's a joke. Some people take it seriously, now THAT's weird.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

beaner92 wrote: »
    I literally arrived in cork last night for the first time . So far not very weird lol

Admit it now. You didn't really just 'laugh out loud' did ya....:rolleyes:

I'm working in Limerick at the mo - Cork people are a doddle compared to Limerick people. They sidle up, fire off somthing that sounds like gababbagaggle googaggleraabooglegabblegabbleroobaaah and stand waiting for me to answer. I'm not sure what the Limerick for "not a feckin clue what you just said there old son" is, but as soon as I figure it out, I reckon I'm gonna start enjoying Limerick a whole lot more.

This made me laugh, and some of my best friends are from Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

It's a characteristic rather than a defining criteria.

But, yeah, don't tell Lapin, but it's a joke. Some people take it seriously, now THAT's weird.

Most of those people are from Dublin though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

but I'm yet to find a decent reason for Cork being the capital.

eh, because it's Cork, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Weird for extolling the values of their local delicacies? Rrright. What was the question again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

No, but im sure the ability to be understood by anyone not of country extraction might.

Skid X wrote: »
    I never met a Cork person I didn't like.

But there are some quare sorts hanging around Galway.

Oh big time there Skid.

Let me be the first to agree with you on that :)

But we don't spend our days talking about drisheenn and other lard ridden stuff.

We're too busy drinking espresso, getting stoned on cheap gear and writing bad poetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Probably

Tomato bread is yum in fairness.

Stop it now.

You're just trying to be provocative. :)

Lapin wrote: »
    Oh big time there Skid.

Let me be the first to agree with you on that :)

But we don't spend our days talking about drisheenn and other lard ridden stuff.

We're too busy drinking espresso, getting stoned on cheap gear and writing bad poetry.

Ye are.......................Yeah............:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You're skating on thin ice there Lapin!!.....:(

Wait , what there's ice and snow somewhere in Ireland tonight , where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Grayditch wrote: »
    Ah they're grand. They'll argue that they're way better than grand, but they're grand.

They are better than more than just being grand

Wait , what there's ice and snow somewhere in Ireland tonight , where ?

Cork.........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

True, but they're not the seat of government either, or the economic hub of the country.

nc19 wrote: »
    No, but im sure the ability to be understood by anyone not of country extraction might.

But you are just extolling its uniqueness and separateness from the rest of the country...

mmm...

Maybe Cork is different... Should possibly even set up its own Republic.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

Have to say though that drisheen and crubeens are more of a city thing. Purely IMHO .
    Only person I've known to eat drisheen is from limerick city.
    Think I'm lucky that my parents are very fussy eaters and I was never exposed to random bags of weird fat.
    Other than black pudding of course.

True, but they're not the seat of government either, or the economic hub of the country.

Economic hub is not a criteria either. Neither, necessarily, is seat of government. Look at The Netherlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Cork people are as weird as 9 euro notes but you wont find a more willing to help bunch. My car broke down before the toll bridges and was just about driveable one early morning bringing someone to the airport. I advised him to start thumbing and hope for the best, which in this day and age, isnt much... Not only did a stranger stop, he ended up going out of his way and dropping him off at the airport while I hit the next exits and limped back!! (I did not want to chance the car stopping altogether in the middle of the city :eek: ).
    A right sound bunch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Have never met one in my life.

Cork City has the worst brogue in Hibernia judging by what i've heard

orangesoda wrote: »
    Have never met one in my life.

Cork City has the worst brogue in Hibernia judging by what i've heard

You must never have met anyone from Belfast either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Economic hub is not a criteria either. Neither, necessarily, is seat of government. Look at The Netherlands.
    It's usually a combination of the above criteria though. Cork doesn't answer any of them.

Are you seriously defending the status quo and arguing Cork isn't the capital city. Because if you are you're losing. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

You must never have met anyone from Belfast either.

It's bad but not as bad as Cork, I blame the Vikings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Never ate tripe and drisheen. I'd say that's more of an old person, really old-skool clichéd Frank O'Connor/the bells of Shandon kinda thing.

orangesoda wrote: »
    It's bad but not as bad as Cork, I blame the Vikings

That's probably because you're more climatised to it. ;)

In fairness I love Cork people. The have a great sense of humour and know how to have a laugh. (Mayo take note).

I just think they're a bit odd.

And one of my faourite songs is a Cork song. Sung here (badly) by a true legend.

A true legend who can't sing but is allowed to get away with it because we all love him !

There is a more lively version of that song somewhere. By Finbar Wright I think. But I can't find it.