The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

i thought it dried them out

As long as you don't ride on a dry chain it should do nothing to them except get them like new. A lot of lube would be needed straight after cleaning, but it shouldn't damage anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

As long as you don't ride on a dry chain it should do nothing to them except get them like new. A lot of lube would be needed straight after cleaning, but it shouldn't damage anything.

Not straight after give it a few mins to dry out and evaporate. I tend you run a cloth over the chain to make sure its dry and clean. Then lube the chain....but not to excess where its flinging off onto the tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭P.K.M.

Well, yesterday I taxed the Super Four finally (it's four years out of date) and went for a 200km spin, just to get used to being on two wheels again. Jeez, it's two years since I rode in the dark! :eek: Had a nice blast, I missed being on two wheels.

Then this morning I ordered the plastics for the ZX9....18 months after the accident, I finally have them ordered. Like a child at Christmas, can't wait to have my baby back!!

This is them...

IMG_2555.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,269 ✭✭✭thecivvie

Added some "flashy" lights

550A2E9D-3D57-40B0-B3CD-3FBEFFB69F17.jpg
    I removed the wind guards as one was not cut

81E10EA1-04FA-48E8-959D-A09DE992E1D2.jpg

I have a PDM60 and some fog lights to go on as well as heated grips and other bits to wire straight next week

Join Ireland Weather Network

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

^ forgive my ignorance but what are the flashing lights for?

Herding up the lambs boi.....and for the mobile disco's out west. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭designbydan

Been a long time since I posted on here, So I guess i've a good bit to get through.

Yesterday: Fitted a cbr900rr shock to my Bros 400, new back brake pads, then standard stuff like clean carbs , topped up oil, filled tyres etc. Have a new front tyre on the way which was BADLY needed.

Previous work/extras.
    I painted my bike Thai green (matte) a good while ago, put on panniers at the time too,

The tank looks like it has a dent in it in this picture, But its just dirt lol.
    13564072283_2e455b4bb2.jpg
    13564008305_6a0026caaa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Cleaned up around the front sprocket!
    A good few stones stuck in the oil.
    photo1_zps2d68b850.jpg
    photo2_zps7378ba27.jpg
    photo3_zps07afc48b.jpg

Fitted a set of Metzeler Z8 Interact's to my MT-01 today, Goldfren sintered HH brake pads all round, iridium spark plugs, oil filter & oil change, cleaned & re-oiled the air filter, cleaned/lubed chain & bought myself a new Arai Freeway lid :D

All ready for the riding season when the weather is kind to us :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

One of my oxford mercury eyeshot mini LED indicators died on me the other week :( pita as they were pricey enough yokes.. took it apart as much as possible with view to soldering it, but its all a sealed unit (epoxied), and looks like one of the wires broke just on exit - wires were really small diameter too, so just a mater of time. Feckin oxford shíte..

Anyway, pony'd up for the official triumph ones, cause feck it, I dont want to go through this shíte again. Got a few other bits - indicators, LED relay unit, slim rad covers, ohlins rear shock.. Triumph/Ohlins one, not direct from Ohlins, but still pretty swanky

Anyway, indicators fitted, relay done and rad cowls on. Connectors for the front indicators are under the airbox(!), so bit of an ordeal..

Swap rear shock still to do - just looking for my original bolts, as I swapped the original for a cbr600rr one a few years back, and it took different ones + spacers. Must get some pics, as cosmetically, thats gotta be everything possible done now lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Removed both front brake calipers to inspect the pads. First time I have done this since I got the bike so was expecting them to be mostly worn down. They are actually fine so a quick scrub with brake cleaner was all thats needed. I have copper grease in a spray can but im going to pick up a tub of copper grease also. The spray can is hard to apply without copper grease going everywhere.

Did you have a look at the pistons too Joe. Even if the pads are grand one of the pistons could be seized.....just a heads up.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Did you have a look at the pistons too Joe. Even if the pads are grand one of the pistons could be seized.....just a heads up.

Yeah both pistons moved without any problems. Going to do oil and filter soon and finish off ibt with lookbehindyou next week hopefully:)

While you at it change the brake fluid on the bike, recommended you do it every 4 yrs......

Was thinking that. Will a 500ml bottle do the job or do I need more?

Plenty, Mick will help you bleed them when you sorting out the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,906 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Most bikes that don't come with braided lines, recommend that you change the brake lines every 3 or 4 years! Does anyone ever do this?

In the manual of my old CBR6 it said that new caliper bolts should be used every time the front calipers were taken off the fork legs. Yeah right :rolleyes:

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭szatan84

ninja900 wrote: »
    Most bikes that don't come with braided lines, recommend that you change the brake lines every 3 or 4 years! Does anyone ever do this?

Im just after getting a old bike (1998) and changed the hoses to HEL braided ones. I very much doubt the previous owner changed them... ever.

Venhill braided lines are just as good as HEL but cheaper.....HEL are just much better known.

Im blind or Dumb, maybe both. Can anybody link me to the lines I would need for my 1994 cb400 super four http://www.venhill.co.uk/Hoses_&_Cables_-_Motorcycle/HONDA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭deegs

If u wanted to be more accurate you could spay it into the lid then apply with fingers? Similar technique used when using rattle cans to do delicate touchups

I only use the tin of copper grease for that reason Joe, you only need a little bit for the back of the pads. The spray is not ideal of that fine work....but better then nothing. Good tip that to spray into the lid. Dont be tempted to use that grease everywhere Joe! Its only for areas where heat is likely to occur ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

tis good for steel bolts into alloy threads too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I prefer the crimped HEL lines myself. Your adding alot more screw connections with venhill

corkgsxr wrote: »
    I prefer the crimped HEL lines myself. Your adding alot more screw connections with venhill

Whats the difference between the crimped HEL lines and normal lines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Whats the difference between the crimped HEL lines and normal lines?

Crimped in a better join. Its not just hel that do it that way.
    but venhill you have 2 extra screw joins per line. So on the bike you have 6 extra joins to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Today ~ I washed me bike for the first time in about six weeks lol.. Whats the big deal..

I fractured my wrist in a Judo competition and only out of the cast and still bloody sore trying to get into the nooks and crannys.

Tomorrow I'll attempt to change an indicator bulb!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

Today ~ I washed me bike for the first time in about six weeks lol.. Whats the big deal..

I fractured my wrist in a Judo competition and only out of the cast and still bloody sore trying to get into the nooks and crannys.

Tomorrow I'll attempt to change an indicator bulb!.

Riding more than 10 years and you can change a bulb, impressive :)

Hope it's not the throttle wrist Mak...ouch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭batman_oh

New tyres fitted and a clean! Ready for some spins