Guardian PC Bullsh*t ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Most women would get an ego boost but they have to register some manufactured indignation first. This is the kind of PC front that drives The Grauniad readers.

I mean, "Get your tits out for the boys" and you're a Bolshy, sexist pig

"Oi, button up there luv", and you're a control artist.

Sigh, men just can't win

I was going to say "If only women were more like my Mum", but I won't as I'd probably get more stick.

Maybe if people stopped making inappropiate comments.

Seeing an attractive person, male or female, and yelling some obscene inappropriate comment just makes a situation awkward. Yelling a sexual based comment will not lead to sex unless it is porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Most women would get an ego boost but they have to register some manufactured indignation first. This is the kind of PC front that drives The Grauniad readers.

Sigh, men just can't win

I was going to say "If only women were more like my Mum", but I won't as I'd probably get more stick.

I think you accidentally yore ma. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Sure about that?

I'd welcome a few comments from random hottish females about my pants on the floor. They'd get my number...

( the men in the video were surprised not mostly annoyed. And the editing was fast).

That said man are not women. All men who are overly sexual agressive to women are a perceived threat given the reality of the rape stats. So this video is nonsense but it's hardly PC gone mad for women to complain about catcalls. Etc.

What the f'ucking fuk? Ever since "Men should be able to hit women" the other night it seems this stuff is getting crazier. :confused:
    (From a minority for sure, but still... crazier).

Whaaa??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Sigh, men just can't win

How about saying "nice day".

That would make sense, but it'd deny him the chance to be victimised by a false dichotomy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Sigh, men just can't win

Just because you think it doesn't mean you should say it. I can't speak for all women but if I heard "get your tits out" I wouldn't feel good about myself, I would feel uncomfortable, embarrassed and intimidated. The one time it did happen to me I was alone walking at night and was followed by the two twats who shouted it which left me feeling scared ****less. Most humans seem to be able to get through life without shouting random comments of that nature to the opposite sex, its not that difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

I don't doubt that women experience that, but from what I gather, it varies a lot from place to place. I've only ever witnessed it on a couple of occasions and was quite embarrassed for the men. But I do wonder if it's blown out of proportion. The video was mildly entertaining but if they're trying to send out some sort of message, I think there are better ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I'd welcome a few comments from random hottish females about my pants on the floor. They'd get my number...

( the men in the video were surprised not mostly annoyed. And the editing was fast).

As far as I have seen it seems to be woman less of the "hottish" end of things and more similar to a certain Viz comic strip featuring two woman with weight problems in their middle years (that should ruin any PC brownie points I have built up :( )

Does the same apply to men who catcall woman too I wonder though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

As far as I have seen it seems to be woman less of the "hottish" end of things and more similar to a certain Viz comic strip featuring two woman with weight problems in their middle years (that should ruin any PC brownie points I have built up :( )

Does the same apply to men who catcall woman too I wonder though

Yes, IME, as the sneery leer of someone who likes to embarrass/annoy/intimidate others in public will immediately cast ugliness over even a handsome face.

To me, it's just a reflection of someone who's unsophisticated socially. There are obviously no statistics but I'd be amazed if this (in general) is not just a subset of working class men. Most men - working class or otherwise - wouldn't be seen dead behaving that way. It's probably just a case of a small minority repeating the same actions over and over again and making some women believe it's more widespread than it actually is. IMO there are far more men out there who are too shy too say anything to a woman - let alone catcall at them. Pubs and clubs are a different matter altogether but that's a discussion for another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

You know, I know a great way to raise awareness about men's rights.

I'm going to record myself calling random women pedophiles. Oh and randomly running to someone and telling them to 'man up'.

Oh yeah, and if I think someone's staring at my arms, I am definetly going to stare at a a random person's dick/boobs.

It doesn't matter if the person themselves are sexist, but, you know, I gotta turn the tables.

The video is just kind of weird tbh. I could understand raising awareness but it's just...weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Pug160 wrote: »
    I don't doubt that women experience that, but from what I gather, it varies a lot from place to place. I've only ever witnessed it on a couple of occasions and was quite embarrassed for the men. But I do wonder if it's blown out of proportion. The video was mildly entertaining but if they're trying to send out some sort of message, I think there are better ways.

I'd say Ireland is grand for it from my experience. Definitely got more of it living in London. Here in Madrid it happens a few times a day.

The video is pointless though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Evenin', Ma'am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

You have being a knacker being labelled sexism (yelling from a vehicle, it's not just women those type of people yell at, it's everyone with less knuckle hair than them) and then you have hitting on women being labelled sexism. Swing and a miss.

humbert wrote: »
    You have being a knacker being labelled sexism (yelling from a vehicle, it's not just women those type of people yell at, it's everyone with less knuckle hair than them) and then you have hitting on women being labelled sexism. Swing and a miss.

Have ye had a few shcoops tonight? Your post makes zero sense.

I'm drunk and can't understand your post.
    Hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I am so confused right now.

humbert wrote: »
    Hmm.

I've only had 10 beers. How many have you had?

Have ye had a few shcoops tonight? Your post makes zero sense.

I think he means some people simply have no class, and that certain sections of society label it as sexism when it's simply unsophisticated people being unsophisticated. That's part of the point I was making in an earlier post. That's not to say that all rough and ready people are knuckle dragging imbeciles - far from it. But certain people have no class in all areas of their life unfortunately.

I've only had 10 beers. How many have you had?
    In the interest of full disclosure I'm depressingly and entirely sober and will shortly be leaving for the cinema to continue being sober there.

Pug160 wrote: »
    I think he means some people simply have no class, and that certain sections of society label it as sexism when it's simply unsophisticated people being unsophisticated. That's part of the point I was making in an earlier post. That's not to say that all rough and ready people are knuckle dragging imbeciles - far from it. But certain people have no class in all areas of their life unfortunately.

Well does the fact that it might come from a person with no class make it any less sexist or any less of an issue for the "victim"? You don't respect those individuals if you do it repeatedly in public places.

I think you'd actually be surprised by the kinds of people who are guilty of this stuff, particularly when you leave Ireland (which again, is pretty alright for this kind of stuff, thanks be to the holy mackerel). Latin countries are particularly bad for it ime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Sigh, men just can't win

Have you ever considered not telling women what to do with their bodies?

Well does the fact that it might come from a person with no class make it any less sexist or any less of an issue for the "victim"? You don't respect those individuals if you do it repeatedly in public places.

I think you'd actually be surprised by the kinds of people who are guilty of this stuff, particularly when you leave Ireland (which again, is pretty alright for this kind of stuff, thanks be to the holy mackerel). Latin countries are particularly bad for it ime.

Some people are just ignorant in all areas of life. They may not even be enlightened enough to realise what they're doing. With people like that, sexism is probably only one fault of many. You can't chastise primitive people in the same way as you would others. For a start, they probably have no interest in these discussions and probably don't even read newspapers, except the odd rag or two maybe. It's no less of an issue for the victim I'm sure, but I'd imagine that women would be a lot more worried about educated/civilised men who are sexist. That would be a lot more worrying and sinister.

Yeah, with certain other countries it's just their culture. Some of those countries are backwards in many ways though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

I think the additional point made is that some people are just pig ignorant to pretty much everyone. Sexism, racism, ageism, blondeism, brunetteism, wheteverism have nothing to do with it and indeed the individuals in question may even be incapable of understanding the concept.

They're just ignorant scumbags basically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Zillah wrote: »
    Have you ever considered not telling women what to do with their bodies?

Feel better after your little rant?

Or are all metaphors literal allegories to you?

It's no less of an issue for the victim I'm sure, but I'd imagine that women would be a lot more worried about educated/civilised men who are sexist. That would be a lot more worrying and sinister.

Contradiction in terms there as far as I'm concerned. Nothing civilised about sexism. No more worrying or sinister than anyone else tbh. Why would it be? Strange thing to say. It shouldn't be taken seriously or considered sexism because the individual doesn't have an education? And did you really use the word primitive???

Yeah, with certain other countries it's just their culture. Some of those countries are backwards in many ways though.

Nah, people who make comments on the street here are considered sexist too and is not excused as simply "part of the culture". Spain is no more "backwards" than Ireland and as I said, I came across it a fair bit in London too.

tritium wrote: »
    I think the additional point made is that some people are just pig ignorant to pretty much everyone. Sexism, racism, ageism, blondeism, brunetteism, wheteverism have nothing to do with it and indeed the individuals in question may even be incapable of understanding the concept.

They're just ignorant scumbags basically

Fair enough. Doesn't make it any less pleasant though. It sort of sounds like an attempt at playing it down, which I don't think is fair.

Contradiction in terms there as far as I'm concerned. Nothing civilised about sexism. No more worrying or sinister than anyone else tbh. Why would it be? Strange thing to say. It shouldn't be taken seriously or considered sexism because the individual doesn't have an education? And did you really use the word primitive???

Nah, people who make comments on the street here are considered sexist too and is not excused as simply "part of the culture". Spain is no more "backwards" than Ireland and as I said, I came across it a fair bit in London too.

That's why I said it would probably be more worrying - because it's not a civilised thing to do. Some people are not enlightened enough to know better. You could be right about Spain, I was just thinking about their culture of being cruel to animals and one or two other things, but I don't want to stray too much from the topic at hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Completely odd, cheap frills story that will get the Social Justice Brigade all giddy and excited
    lol. Think before you type? I don't even know what that means.

It's a bit funny in parts but gets dull fairly fast. Can see the idea behind it but it's not really executed well...it just felt like she could have been a little more animated in approaching people, the reactions were fairly zombie-like in parts. Perhaps it's the case that the men are just completely not used to being approached like that.

Personally think sexism is a little more subtle than the moronic 'get your tits/arse out'

zetalambda wrote: »
    And surprise surprise, she got the same reaction that Men get when they behave like that!
    I think a much bigger issue the the amount of female only gyms around. I wonder what would happen if we had male only clubs and organizations? Oh, hang on a minute, we do, golf clubs spring to mind and look at the fuss some women have kicked up over that. Cases in the high court and everything.
    This isn't very popular as an opinion (well...it depends on what kind of feminists you talk to) but I think the movement of certain groups of women regarding themselves as weak and vulnerable by default, does no good in creating the image of women as independent, capable, just as able to achieve in life. Whatever about women who have experienced it (that's fair enough), I've noticed there are many women who haven't been in those situations of abuse who are very loud about telling women how they should conduct themselves and portraying all men as creepy, domineering, nasty. Both sides at blame sometimes.

(oh, the so-called Social Justice Brigade would be very mad at me for saying that. They're probably ringing their 'people', whoever or wherever they exist)

Gotham wrote: »
    Catcalling for example can offend people, but it's not always sexism. Replace many of those scenarios with entirely gay men and you can see there's nothing sexist about it, it's based off attraction not sex.
    You're missing something integral though. There is not that cultural/societal divide as there is with women/men. Trust me though, sometimes gay men can be rather pushy when hitting on someone, and it isn't always wanted attention. (not too long back someone literally grabbed the back of my head and forced me into a kiss. Was not pleased at all...)