Tired of all the Shatter bashing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

The Anglo trial was to be one of the most significant court cases this country was to ever see.... it is getting a lot less media attention than most of us would have anticipated,... wouldn't you say?

The result of the trial will be of interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Well Denis O'Brien has an interest in Independent News & Media but his radio portfolio is Communicorp - I don't think they're all the one.
    Today FM covered the Anglo trial latest in the news today. If there was a ban on criticism of Anglo on Today FM, a big chunk of Ray Darcy's show would be different.

this is an extract from a post last year on Politics.ie

sopretty wrote: »
    The result of the trial will be of interest.

for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

It's the Spanish I don't trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

this is an extract from a post last year on Politics.ie

Reads like the ramblings of a mad man to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I think many things about Enda Kenny, but I'm not sure he is Machiavellian enough to decide to run with this as a political football

Since he is a man who more than most, has built a career whilst spinelessly hiding behind the ranks of his henchmen. He is more than capable imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

yep, I know it has been in the papers every day for the last couple of weeks, Im following it. But at the same time I cant help noticing that it appears as a sub heading on the dailys, and in the Indo in particular an article about the Anglo trial would appear in the morning on unison.ie main page, and by the afternoon it would be gone without a trace.

Im not saying the media are completely ignoring it, they seem to be prioritizing other stories (which to me are of far less magnitude than Anglo)... it makes me wonder at the timing of this whole phone call taping, Garda commissioner retiring, minister for justice no confidence bolleaux that we are being told is of way more importance, and seriousness than the shower of fcukers in Anglo who have sunk this country into deep debt for the next 20 years.

The Anglo trial was to be one of the most significant court cases this country was to ever see.... it is getting a lot less media attention than most of us would have anticipated,... wouldn't you say?

This has already been explained to you.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89754277&postcount=21

Nodin wrote: »

I understand that, my point is that the reportage on the Anglo trial seems scant, when compared to the media coverage of the Moriarity Tribunal when it was in full swing for example.

Reads like the ramblings of a mad man to be honest.

whatever you think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,029 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Specialun wrote: »
    I hear on tne radio that the guards and bomb squad both went to his gaf with sirens blaring..

Is he playing the victim now to push some of the pressure off him...

A jew with a persecution complex? Well I never...

(I joke I joke)

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I understand that, my point is that the reportage on the Anglo trial seems scant, when compared to the media coverage of the Moriarity Tribunal when it was in full swing for example.

There were not the same restrictions as there is on a court case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As someone who's been utterly outspoken about Anglo and general banking shenanigans around the world, I for one am quite glad that discussion of it at the moment is muted.

It would literally be the most galling thing imaginable if after all that work by the Gardai and various other offices in bringing the case, it was subsequently thrown out on the basis of the jury being prejudiced because of over exposure in the press.

As someone who's been utterly outspoken about Anglo and general banking shenanigans around the world, I for one am quite glad that discussion of it at the moment is muted.

It would literally be the most galling thing imaginable if after all that work by the Gardai and various other offices in bringing the case, it was subsequently thrown out on the basis of the jury being prejudiced because of over exposure in the press.

I get the picture now, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

It's like a Mills & Boon novel lol. Gosh, what a load of drivel.