Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sayings.....Rural/Regional even Funny!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

In the early days of bovine AI. the technicians were often referred to as " the bull in the bowler hat."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

In the early days of bovine AI. the technicians were often referred to as " the bull in the bowler hat."

That's like the one about the special nail hammered into the wall near the crush for the AI man to hang his trousers up on:eek:.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Reggie. wrote: »
    When having a pi$$
    Just straining the spuds

"Shed a tear for Parnell"

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    "Bad cess to it", when things go arseways, was used all the time by my long dead Clare grandmother.. Still used by me!
    Never heard it used anywhere else, I believe the 'Cess' was a hated tax from pre independence days.

A little rhyme I remember from when I was young.

Brian O’Linn and his wife and wife’s mother
    Were all going home o’er the bridge together
    The bridge it broke down and they all tumbled in
    "Bad cess to the mason" said Brian O'Linn.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 cloverleaf

my farther in law, who was a cattle dealer in his day, used to say " the curse of the american Jayus on them"

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

warfie35 wrote: »
    yer man is so safe he'd mind mice at a cross roads for ya

He'd mind white mice at a crossroads on a snowy night.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭fastrac

If your not there yourself you wont be there long.

They all have money til they're searched.

I never saw a cow in a circus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

A little rhyme I remember from when I was young.

Brian O’Linn and his wife and wife’s mother
    Were all going home o’er the bridge together
    The bridge it broke down and they all tumbled in
    "Bad cess to the mason" said Brian O'Linn.

It's actually a very famous song:
    Bryan O'Lynn
    Bryan O'Lynn was a gentleman born
    He lived at a time when no clothes they were worn,
    But as fashion went out, of course Bryan walked in
    "Whoo, I'll lead the fashions," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no breeches to wear
    He got him a sheepskin to make him a pair,
    With the fleshy side out and the woolly side in,
    "Whoo, they're pleasant and cool." says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no shirt to his back,
    He went to his neighbor's and borrowed a sack
    Then he puckered the meal bag up under his chin
    "Whoo, they'll take them for ruffles," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no hat to his head,
    He thought that the pot would do him instead,
    Then he murdered murdered a cod for the sake of its fin,
    "Whoo, 'twill pass for a feather." says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn was hard up for a coat
    He borrowed a skin of a neighboring goat
    With the horns sticking out from his oxters, and then
    "Whoo, they'll take them for pistols," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no stockings to wear,
    He bought him a rat's skin to make him a pair,
    He then drew them on and they fitted his shin,
    "Whoo, they're illegant wear," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no brogues to his toes,
    He hopped on two crab shells to serve him for those,
    Then he split up two oysters that matched just like twins,
    "Whoo, they'll shine out like buckles," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no watch to put on,
    He scooped out a turnip to make him a one
    Then he planted a cricket in under the skin
    "Whoo, they'll think it's a-tickin," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn to his house had no door,
    He'd the sky for a roof and the bog for a floor,
    He'd a way to jump out and a way to swim in,
    "Whoo, it's very convanient," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn, his wife, and wife's mother,
    They all went home o'er the bridge together,
    The bridge it broke down and they all tumbled in,
    "Whoo, we'll go home by water," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Brian O'Lynn and his wife's mother
    Went under the bridge to piddle together
    One piddled needles and one piddled pins
    "That's mighty sharp piddling," says Bryan O'Lynn.

Bryan O'Lynn had no watch for to wear
    He got a big turnip and scooped it out fair,
    He put a live cricket right into it then,
    "Sure, they'll think it's a-ticking," says Bryan O'Lynn.

A cousin of mine had a crowd in doing a bit of landscaping with a 1 ton mini digger. While it was idle he decided to have a go. He's almost 6ft and 17 stone and a bit awkward. One of the lads nearly collapsed watching him trying to get up into the seat and get comfortable. When he's finally seated Yer man pipes up' Chrisht Jer that was like watching a cat trying to ride a match box!'

• Registered Users Posts: 24,388 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

A cousin of mine had a crowd in doing a bit of landscaping with a 1 ton mini digger. While it was idle he decided to have a go. He's almost 6ft and 17 stone and a bit awkward. One of the lads nearly collapsed watching him trying to get up into the seat and get comfortable. When he's finally seated Yer man pipes up' Chrisht Jer that was like watching a cat trying to ride a match box!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

You can bate the wife , but you can't bate the craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

moy83 wrote: »
    You can bate the wife , but you can't bate the craic

Reminds me of an auld joker, he was out one weekend a few years back and he was talking to a couple of yanks for a good start, when he was leaving them he said ''Tis getting late lads, I must go home and beat the wife'' cue some bemused looks from the yanks...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

One I never heard before, talking to a couple of lads the other day when a very tall attractive girl walked past, we turned to the shortest lad there " she'd be no use to you Billy" , his reply, "huh! A fallen tree is easily climbed"...

Reminds me of an auld joker, he was out one weekend a few years back and he was talking to a couple of yanks for a good start, when he was leaving them he said ''Tis getting late lads, I must go home and beat the wife'' cue some bemused looks from the yanks...

I remember a variation of that one, an oul lad years ago when leaving the pub," must go home and get the wife out of bed, I'd murder a mug of tay"

• Registered Users Posts: 24,388 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    One I never heard before, talking to a couple of lads the other day when a very tall attractive girl walked past, we turned to the shortest lad there " she'd be no use to you Billy" , his reply, "huh! A fallen tree is easily climbed"...

Love it :D

Someone who is wearing ill fitting clothes.
    He was screwed (poured) into the pants.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭enfield

There's none so pure as a reformed hewer.
    All things look yellow to a jaundiced eye.
    She's always 'me deep' in conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭enfield

The curse of Oisín and her nine blind illegitimate children, may she chase you so far over the hills of desolation that God Himself can't see you without a telescope.

Another one I haven't heard in a long time.. " May your balls turn square and fester at the edges!"

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Timfy

Are you busy Seamus? - "Sure, I'm tearing away like a tinkers shirt!"

No trees were harmed in the posting of this message, however a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

sweatin` like a bookie with a cheque

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

PMU wrote: »
    sweatin` like a bookie with a cheque

Sweating like Mike Tyson on Countdown!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Often said around here about a cute h**r.....'He'd build a nest in your ear.'

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Concentrate and don't make a mistake....
    " Watch your p's & q's "

• Registered Users Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

As a Galway friend would say "I'm kilt with the busy"

A cross cow. "She'd kick salt out of holy water".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Sweating like a knacker trying to read!

Sweating like a nun in a field of cucumbers!

As ripped as a knackers dress!

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Sweating like a pedo in a playground!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Damo810 wrote: »
    Sweating like a pedo in a playground!

Sweating like a pedo in a barney costume!

A mixture of everything like a tinkers ****e!

Flat out like a badger on a by-pass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭jack of all

Someone giving you a cross/ angry look: "he looked at me like I'd just pissed in the holy well"