Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PGA Tour Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,944 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Hard to see any of these dudes taken Kucher.

This has moved from frustrating to funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Close on 2 hrs for 5 holes... Sweet Jesus.

Yes this is our low when it comes to slow play. It just seems it is a combination of an unusual group of players, nerves - a bunch of slow players in last few groups. Lads looking for rulings on everything, shot penalties, bad shots.

If the pros keep this up - they will have to bring in stricter rules /times on shot routine.

I think it also is an awful advertisement for the game of golf.

That lad Loupe , picked up at least 6 blades of grass on a par 3 - then stood behind ball for a flat lie - jaysus , you did that when you were 7.

Even that - miss a putt - drop the putter , look at hole as if it should have dropped. Just get on with it - you have missed a putt maybe over 3000 times in last year - do you need to do that every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Yes this is our low when it comes to slow play. It just seems it is a combination of an unusual group of players, nerves - a bunch of slow players in last few groups. Lads looking for rulings on everything, shot penalties, bad shots.

If the pros keep this up - they will have to bring in stricter rules /times on shot routine.

I think it also is an awful advertisement for the game of golf.

That lad Loupe , picked up at least 6 blades of grass on a par 3 - then stood behind ball for a fat lie - jaysus , you did that when you were 7.

How are they not on the clock at this stage? This tournament is like watching paint dry but the slow play is making it a complete write-off...

Somebody has got to put up Loupe here.

was that 8 pre swings. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Loopy is some craic, 9 practice swings on the par 3 and then snap hook his tee shot into the bunker and it plugs. Gonna be 15 practice swings to decide how he hits it out of that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

And Looper is on the clock.

I've already lost an hour today FFS ;)

It is just a state of mind lads.

Laughing out loud here.

Even the sky lads are struggling here.

I'm going to get something out of this, I have no routine.

I like the look of Loupe's

Is he on clock - he will fall apart more now.

I'm going to get something out of this, I have no routine.

I like the look of Loupe's

Is he on clock - he will fall apart more now.

on the contrary it could improve him, he'll just stand up and hit it maybe :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I was watching this in my mams about 90mins ago and have just arrived home to see they have moved from the 4th to the 8th hole!!!!

What the hell is going on that it's so slow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

PARlance wrote: »
    And Looper is on the clock.

I've already lost an hour today FFS ;)

He is terribly slow, but, I read an interesting article last week when Na was taking a lot of stick. Everyone seems to say that Furyk is the slowest on tour, it just looked worse for Na, and Loupe here, because they are rarely on tv the cameras are not aware of their routines and how long it takes. Apparently with Furyk and other players who have more screen time the tv directors know how long their routines usually take and delay the cameras until they are ready.

It still doesn't excuse Na and Loupe because it is hugely frustrating to watch, I usually only watch golf on the laptop and have it on in the background while I'm watching tv or browsing the web, between the ads and the slow play it I find it hard to watch at times.

3 hours for the front 9 in three balls what the mother of god!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Does anyone know if a single player has ever been put on the clock before rather that the group? Last year at the Masters when Guan Tianlang got his slow play penalty, it was his group that was put on the clock first right?

Kevin Na is sickly thin looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Do many of the pros use graphite shafts?

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Does anyone know if a single player has ever been put on the clock before rather that the group? Last year at the Masters when Guan Tianlang got his slow play penalty, it was his group that was put on the clock first right?

The group were on the clock, but Guan got the penalty for being slow repeatedly. The professionals he was playing with know how to play the system to avoid getting penalties

Do many of the pros use graphite shafts?

Drivers and fairway woods they do. Irons no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

YayaBanana wrote: »
    Drivers and fairway woods they do. Irons no.

Why not irons?

Rikand wrote: »
    The group were on the clock, but Guan got the penalty for being slow repeatedly. The professionals he was playing with know how to play the system to avoid getting penalties

Alright... that's what I thought. So putting "Looper" on the clock on his own tonight is the first time it's happened on tour? This is what should happen all the time. Happy to see that.

Why not irons?

Loads of choice in different types of steel shafts for irons. Not sure exactly why graphite isn't used on irons.

Kuchar with another bogey, 2 behind, he really should be winning this, he's not putting pressure on Bowditch at all.

And that is where the problem is.. take Looper off the clock and he slows right down again. That last shot took him 70 seconds. Once on the clock... they should remain on it.

The only thing I would say is, golf in general is too slow. Some lads can have an infuriating routine - this then gets everybody talking about them,

There are as many that are as slow - but they get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    And that is where the problem is.. take Looper off the clock and he slows right down again. That last shot took him 70 seconds. Once on the clock... they should remain on it.

Couldn't agree more.
    Its more disappointing that he's a rookie and is coming out on tour with a routine like that, its a f--king disgrace IMO.
    No doubt a symptom of mind gurus filling his head with sh1te about "his process" and "his routine". Rant over :)

Russman wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more.
    Its more disappointing that he's a rookie and is coming out on tour with a routine like that, its a f--king disgrace IMO.
    No doubt a symptom of mind gurus filling his head with sh1te about "his process" and "his routine". Rant over :)

I'm not watching now - she asked for tv - couldn't say no.
    May hit pub for last bit.
    You could drink a pint a hole. :p

What hole they on .

Almost feel sorry for the commentators doing their best to make this event sound interesting.

Why are they only timed when deemed to be out of position ? I realise they can't go anywhere, but if random referees were walking the course and timing players here and there, and penalising accordingly, there wouldn't be a problem.

Wishful thinking I know, but I wonder if a sponsor would ever, just for sh1ts and giggles, insist on a timer with every group.....

What hole they on .

Don't know anymore, something like the 14th, its almost unwatchable tbh.
    I only keep Sky sports for the golf pretty much, many more tournaments like this and it'll be going.