Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PGA Tour Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Goes to show even the top boys have bad days. I actually love seeing the top pros struggle as it helps me suffer my own inadequate game easier.

Hit a shank - arra shur even Henrik shanks it.

Three putt- it cost Scott world no.1, me a scone and coffee...

Don't forget about the back and the allergies in case you are really having a bad day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

Goes to show even the top boys have bad days. I actually love seeing the top pros struggle as it helps me suffer my own inadequate game easier.

Hit a shank - arra shur even Henrik shanks it.

Three putt- it cost Scott world no.1, me a scone and coffee...

Thanks for the scone and coffee by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

There were some questions asked about what Matt Every's caddie was using during the round.... turned out to be a compass which is now legal. Seriously.. a fooking compass? Why? Just something else to help slow up play!

pic - https://twitter.com/ToddFulks/status/447981437384278017/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Valero Texas Open this weekend, Mickelson (+2) and Spieth (+5), two of the pre tournament favorites off to slow starts.

One of the toughest courses on the tour so it might be a bit of a grind, should make for an interesting weekends viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Harro the only Irish interest this week and he's +2 after 8 holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,944 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads - could a good mod start a mega - epic - super - dooper Master's Thread. ?

Will that be a separate Thread ?

I've seen good previews of events on other forums - anybody fancy that ?

Should be a separate thread alright.... think you have just nominated yourself to start the offical thread! :D

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Should be a separate thread alright.... think you have just nominated yourself to start the offical thread! :D

Na - some one else who knows their golf well.

Benice - of someone like him.

Maybe no need for preview - just bloody start it - here we go lads. :D

Lads - this maybe a crazy idea - but can a thread be locked or restricted to people who are golf forum contributors.

Here we go with - jaysus " Sky for the adds"
    " What are his odds now"
    " I hate monty"
    "jaysus the greens are quick"
    "got him at 43/1"
    "choker"

"Is Paddy in this"
    "where is Lowry"
    "In the pub"

I've seen good previews of events on other forums - anybody fancy that ?

Thread set up here ..... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057178354

And now we have two Masters threads... can a mod please amalgamate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Less of your waffle Fix and go and set up that thread :)

This thread was never intended to be "a catch all" for every single tournament, just a catch all for tournaments that normally wouldn't have had a thread created for them.

I think the Masters might just be big enough to host it's own thread.
    I await the crazies coming... fair play to the mods in advance for dealing with them!
    The one week you'd want to be left alone to watch the golf...
    But instead they'll be warning Johnny who thinks
    a hybrid is Jacinta on coke,
    who has backed 50 golfers at................../1 and
    who reckons Rory will be playing up front for England in the world cup in Brazil.

I'm such a golf snob.

Welcome crazies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

PARlance wrote: »
    Less of your waffle Fix and go and set up that thread :)

This thread was never intended to be "a catch all" for every single tournament, just a catch all for tournaments that normally wouldn't have had a thread created for them.

I think the Masters might just be big enough to host it's own thread.
    I await the crazies coming... fair play to the mods in advance for dealing with them!
    The one week you'd want to be left alone to watch the golf...
    But instead they'll be warning Johnny who thinks
    a hybrid is Jacinta on coke,
    who has backed 50 golfers at................../1 and
    who reckons Rory will be playing up front for England in the world cup in Brazil.

I'm such a golf snob.

Welcome crazies

*waves back*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

*waves back*

Respected lurker rather than a crazy... you keep your "crazy" for the forum you Mod :D

PARlance wrote: »
    Respected lurker rather than a crazy... you keep your "crazy" for the forum you Mod :D

Lol, on post.

PARlance - some of the crazzies may have better course management than you.

Do not mention my putting in response. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

*waves back*

What the....

Is Mickie Turner playing in the Masters this year ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Another Aussie running away from the field this week, Bowditch 5 clear at -10. -7 through 13 holes today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

a load of unknown names to me up there in texas this week. Bowditch, Collins, Loupe whoever you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    a load of unknown names to me up there in texas this week. Bowditch, Collins, Loupe whoever you are!

Yeah finding it heavy going to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Yeah finding it heavy going to watch.
    its the calm before the storm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Mad how they were digging up big rocks and moving them away from their ball. Setting a very bad example for the weekend golfers IMO.

In one case Bowditch pulled one out the size of a football and to make it worse threw it onto the fairway and left it there.
    Q.The Definition of "Loose Impediments" states that a stone is a loose impediment if it is not "solidly embedded." When is a stone solidly embedded?

A.If a stone is partially embedded and may be picked up with ease, it is a loose impediment. When there is doubt as to whether a stone is solidly embedded or not, it should not be removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

Wombatman wrote: »
    Mad how they were digging up big rocks and moving them away from their ball. Setting a very bad example for the weekend golfers IMO.

In one case Bowditch pulled one out the size of a football and to make it worse threw it onto the fairway and left it there.

any footage of this,i'm calling BS on it.
    Saw him throwing a biggy into the crap but not the fairway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

Wombatman wrote: »

Ya, partially embedded and moved with ease are pretty grey generalisations alright. What about moved with ease by a man Vs moved with ease by a woman ? The same stone could be a loose impediment for one and not the other ? Seems crazy.

Or for another famous golfer, moved with ease by half the gallery !!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Russman wrote: »
    Ya, partially embedded and moved with ease are pretty grey generalisations alright. What about moved with ease by a man Vs moved with ease by a woman ? The same stone could be a loose impediment for one and not the other ? Seems crazy.

Or for another famous golfer, moved with ease by half the gallery !!:D:D

I remember watching this at the time, talk about using the rules to your advantage...

The pace of play is a joke.
    40 mins 2 holes in 3 balls.

That guy loupe - go away.
    For **** sake.

The pace of play is a joke.
    40 mins 2 holes in 2 balls.

That guy loupe - go away.
    For **** sake.

He is a f**king joke. That tee shot took him 60 seconds. I hope his golf career is very short.

Snowdrifts.

No chance of it being short.

It is obviously like Na. OCD - maybe we should be moreunderstanding like with Bradley and Na. It is actually OCD to remove bits of grass like that.

Well... stroke penalties would quickly sort out their OCD problems! A win win for all. :D

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Well... stroke penalties would quickly sort out their OCD problems! A win win for all. :D

Lol.

can you give penalties for a proven disorder.

Lol.

can you give penalties for a proven disorder.

If they have a disorder which prevents them playing then let them take up another career. Good riddance. I think the world would witness some miracle cures happening however if both tours introduced stroke penalties.