If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Those people who started the rumours about Givney,McKiernan are the real ones that need to be disciplined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭celt262

Those people who started the rumours about Givney,McKiernan are the real ones that need to be disciplined.

I'd say them rumors came from within the panel, maybe started as a joke between the lads about the testing but got out and snowballed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

celt262 wrote: »
    I'd say them rumors came from within the panel, maybe started as a joke between the lads about the testing but got out and snowballed.

Actually just heard what the rumour was rumoured to be about . Such a crock of sh!t
    wouldn't read too much into this weekend's game but still think we should be going out to go through the entire league unbeaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,247 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

He might need a game at this stage he hasn't had one in a few weeks so i don't think he needs a rest.

Maybe I worded it wrongly, not rest himself but rest the hamstring. There's no point rushing him back which could result in a reoccurrence of the injury.

Got a good bit of interest here from new posters. A shame more don't post about the actual matches and our recent good results.

It also appears to have caught your interest seeing as you hadn't posted here in a couple of months and burst into a flurry of activity.

Hopefully you'll have as much interest in what happens on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Ros team named.

R O'Reilly

S McDermott
    N Collins
    R Stack

P Brogan
    D Donnelly
    I Kilbride

K Higgins
    M Finneran

D Keane
    D Shine
    C Compton

S Kilbride
    D O'Gara
    F Cregg

Bolded are changes from the last day. Collins is a positional change too. No U21s as expected but plenty of talented replacements who will want to come into the reckoning for starts in the Croke Park game.

Syferus wrote: »
    Ros team named.

R O'Reilly

S McDermott
    N Collins
    R Stack

P Brogan
    D Donnelly
    I Kilbride

K Higgins
    M Finneran

D Keane
    D Shine
    C Compton

S Kilbride
    D O'Gara
    F Cregg

Bolded are changes from the last day. Collins is a positional change too. No U21s as expected but plenty of talented replacements who will want to come into the reckoning for starts in the Croke Park game.

Looks like a strong team from Roscommon. Would you expect many supporters to travel when ye have promotion already wrapped up?

I wouldn't read too much into the Cavan line out named by the way. Terry generally has at least two to three changes from it to the line up that actually starts, usually with some positional changes as well.

Lemlin wrote: »

It also appears to have caught your interest seeing as you hadn't posted here in a couple of months and burst into a flurry of activity.

Hopefully you'll have as much interest in what happens on the field.

I tend to do most of my talking at the actual games . We don't all have time to be internet warriors these days, time moves on and some of us have less time or grow up and have more important things like family.

But yes it was an interesting topic, do you not think so?

I tend to do most of my talking at the actual games . We don't all have time to be internet warriors these days, time moves on and some of us have less time or grow up and have more important things like family.

But yes it was an interesting topic, do you not think so?

No, not particularly, it's a load of crap that was dreamt up by someone over on that putrid Hogan Stand forum and snowballed.

Well hopefully when you are able to make some time in that busy schedule of yours for the forum in future it'll be to discuss how well the team is going and not idle rumours.

No, not particularly, it's a load of crap that was dreamt up by someone over on that putrid Hogan Stand forum and snowballed.

Well hopefully when you are able to make some time in that busy schedule of yours for the forum in future it'll be to discuss how well the team is going and not idle rumours.

It wasn't made up on hoganstand it was known around the county for 2 weeks before it was mentioned there.

I suppose for someone who rely's on the internet for there information it would seem that way.

It wasn't made up on hoganstand it was known around the county for 2 weeks before it was mentioned there.

I suppose for someone who rely's on the internet for there information it would seem that way.

I'm referring to the idle rumours that the two lads were gone from the panel.

I live and work in Cavan so it's fairly tough to keep away from football talk, as you know yourself, it's everywhere you go. If I go into my local butcher, for example, I'm usually there 15-20 minutes chatting about football.

You can attempt all the slights at me that you want. The bottom line is the posts don't lie. You had plenty of time for the forum when you thought there was a bit of scandal to dig away at.

Like I have said twice now, just a shame you couldn't find time to post about the good stories at the minute.

I will post about what I want good or bad. Maybe you could become a mod here and only allow people who post regularly the opportunity to chat with you and delete anything you don't agree with.

You seem to single out anyone who doesn't agree with you and take things a little to serious.

I will post about what I want good or bad. Maybe you could become a mod here and only allow people who post regularly the opportunity to chat with you and delete anything you don't agree with.

You seem to single out anyone who doesn't agree with you and take things a little to serious.

Where did I say you should stop posting? Where did I take things too seriously?

You're the one throwing around accusations and personal comments about people relying on the Internet for football news and "Internet warriors". I know nothing about you so I'm commenting on your posting here, not you.

All I said was it's a shame when the team are going so well at both U21 and senior level that there's a flurry of activity in here about the one negative story we've had in months.

Would you not agree? I suppose it's a negative consequence of the tabloid world we live in. People live to thrive on other's misfortune or mistakes.

If the rumours are all lies I wonder why Declan McKiernan is not on the panel for Saturday? Played very well for Killeshandra last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Looks like a strong team from Roscommon. Would you expect many supporters to travel when ye have promotion already wrapped up?

I wouldn't read too much into the Cavan line out named by the way. Terry generally has at least two to three changes from it to the line up that actually starts, usually with some positional changes as well.

Wouldn't call it a particularly strong line-up but Evans left lads like Donie and Senan so there was still some shape for the replacements to work off. It's more about untested players showing their worth now business is taken care of.

Don't expect much of a crowd from Roscommon for this game, it'll be different for the one next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Syferus wrote: »
    Wouldn't call it a particularly strong line-up but Evans left lads like Donie and Senan so there was still some shape for the replacements to work off. It's more about untested players showing their worth now business is taken care of.

Don't expect much of a crowd from Roscommon for this game, it'll be different for the one next month.

Not surprising that a crowd won't travel to Breffni everything considered as Roscommon usually bring a great crowd and they are a sound bunch. Expect this game to be a tame enough affair but should be interesting nonetheless - best defence in the division against the best attack.

Plus lads will be keen to take the most of their chance to stake a claim for a jersey.

Looking forward to the match.

If the rumours are all lies I wonder why Declan McKiernan is not on the panel for Saturday? Played very well for Killeshandra last weekend.

Hyland is working off a panel of 45. For example, James McEnroe, Ronan Flanagan, David Hyland and Niall Smith have all been involved in games recently but aren't in the 26 for this game.

Such is the competition for places that everyone can't be named. 2 midfielders are starting and there are 3 on the bench - Givney, Corr and Mooney.

I don't particularly rate McKiernan tbh. He's a decent squad player IMO but nothing more. He has been good for the juniors a few times and played well against Offaly in the League I was told.

That said, Offaly have been weak and those were junior games. Last year against Fermanagh he came on and had to be taken back off. Anytime I've seen him he looks big and awkward on the ball.

Cavan 0-14
    Roscommon 1-8

I suppose the fairest thing is to say we played badly and won. It's a feature of this side, both at senior and at underage level in the past, that we don't put teams to the sword and that was a problem again tonight.

But for a poor penalty by Donie Shine, Roscommon could have been right back in the game with 20 minutes to go.

They weren't as good in defence as us but they looked decent on the break, particularly when running at speed. They also tested our back line with a few high balls in, including the one which resulted in the goal. Speaking of which, our back line didn't look half as solid when Rory Dunne went off.

Martin Dunne had a good game when he got the ball in. This thing of playing high balls into him to try and win has to end though. Keating got some nice scores in the first half but then faded out of it badly.

Conroy looked nervous and grew into the game a bit more as it went on. He played a couple of great passes.

All in all, it was nice to win and have a chance to keep a 100% record but I think big improvements will need to be made for the final.

Would agree with that post Lemlin. Really need to give Martin Dunne the right ball. Would also love if we could unearth another scoring forward to take the pressure off Keating and Dunne to get the scores. Not sure Conroy is the answer tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Pretty much the same as above
    thought our shot selection was bad with keating in particular trigger happy
    gillys kick outs were poor and he looks like a lad that hasn't seen a lot of training.
    Other than that we will improve but the rossies will be very tough to beat in the final
    our heartbeat mackey was a big miss tonight
    onwards and upwards a win is a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Martin Dunne was excellent, after a poor performance against Longford. Keating was very wasteful. Poor performance overall and I hope Terry and the backroom team sort out, what I can only call complacency.

For the Rossies, Shine was terrible. He missed a lot of frees although one of them was fisted to the onion bag. Wonder what Joe Brolly thought of thaat.

Main positives I suppose is that Alan Clarke got 70 mins and with Mackey out, Cavan managed to win without him.

Im not sure how strong a team the Rossies picked, but Im sure they will be a lot better in Croke Park in a few weeks.

As for the rumours mentioned earlier in the thread, I heard some ridiculous rumours over the w/e. I really hope there is nothing to it, as one of the stories I heard had 5 players involved. Lets just hope it is keyboard warriors making up crap. I trust one of the sources though, as he is a former player and would have connections all over the GAA in Cavan

I wouldn't give rumours like that a second thought tbh. It's fairly well known a few football-related individuals in the county aren't too happy with Terry in that he is his own man and doesn't give them the time of day. Because of this, you get rumours started to unsettle the panel. We have a very committed bunch of players and need to support them.

I thought Terry handled the Givney situation and rumours superbly by giving him a run out to show that the rumours of him leaving the panel or being kicked off it were complete and utter bull.

Maybe Mackey will bring back a bit of penetration to our game but we can't always rely on him. Martin Reilly covers back well but I'd like to see him get forward a bit more and shoot more.

In relation to the full forward line, it's a pity Tierney can't get further up more but because we are relying on Reilly dropping back from the half forward line it appears we are then using a two man full forward line which means one has to drop back. Tierney showed when he was left in at one occasion he can sniff out a goal chance.

My own hope for a third scoring forward is Jack Brady. I am told he is now back training and it'd be great to see him get a run vs Limerick in the last game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

So you're up with ease. I've no doubt you will do decent in Div 2 next year and with Westmeath and Kildare replacing Donegal and Monaghan promotion is possible. But I think Roscommon could struggle. Well done anyay and best of luck in the final. Presume it's in Croker.

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    So you're up with ease. I've no doubt you will do decent in Div 2 next year and with Westmeath and Kildare replacing Donegal and Monaghan promotion is possible. But I think Roscommon could struggle. Well done anyay and best of luck in the final. Presume it's in Croker.

I'd agree that there is nobody for us to fear in Division 2. We beat yourselves and Monaghan last year and ye have held your own and Monaghan are looking at promotion.

It'll be a tough division though and definitely a step up in class for our lads. We owe Kildare one for that drubbing they have us in Breffni two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I'd agree that there is nobody for us to fear in Division 2. We beat yourselves and Monaghan last year and ye have held your own and Monaghan are looking at promotion.

It'll be a tough division though and definitely a step up in class for our lads. We owe Kildare one for that drubbing they have us in Breffni two years ago.

Exactly. If I was a betting man I'd back you to beat us next year. And I hope you stuff the lillies!

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Exactly. If I was a betting man I'd back you to beat us next year. And I hope you stuff the lillies!

We'll wait and see how we go. We're certainly a very changed panel from that game in Breffni but we took a good beating that day. Some of the lads, like Killian Clarke I'm sure, will be eager to show how they've improved.

Being a 19 year old, as he was at the time, and marking a player like Tommy O'Connor can't have been easy.

Another big game this evening vs Monaghan in the U21 semi final.

After a barren few years for games, we're spoilt for choice these days!

Looking forward to the game tonight against the auld enemy. I expect a tight game and Monaghan will be well up for it. Still confident that Cavan will win by a point or two. Wouldn't be at all surprised if it went to extra-time.

5 finals in a row would be an extraordinary achievement at this level.

Cavan leading 1-5 to 0-4 at this stage. It was 0-3 to 0-2 at half time. Conditions are apparently terrible.

It's unfortunate to think that either team will go out based on a game in that weather.

Cavan win 1-7 to 4 points. What a victory. 5 finals in a row. Some achievement.