Inquiry set up into taping of phone calls from Garda stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Its not so much about corruption and more with inherent systemic characteristics

States are inherently secretive, unaccountable and act outside their own defined legal parameters. Secret police are a reality for most countries and serve this very function. I have no doubt what-so-ever that secret units act above the law here in Ireland. Listening to phone calls without Judicial permission. Storing intelligence on secret databases in parallel to the pulse system with illicitly obtained methods. Certain journalists, perhaps whole media establishments, riddled with Garda shills who repeat and regurgitate garda propaganda for threat of their career or perhaps direct pay. Circulated employer blacklists of trade unionists, republicans, socialists and political activists. Solicitors acting unethically and working with and colluding with the gardai against a defendant or arrestee. Secret DNA databases or the storing of DNA data beyond legally allowed limits.

Tip of the iceberg. Much of the above will never come out or be proved. But anyone who has ever been on the other end of a dubious garda raid, or has been arrested and bungled into a car for expressing their voice or wearing a badge will know all about Garda malpractice. Nothing is beyond them.

What I really find amazing is how all of a sudden these Garda malpractices are coming to the for now.

But its only the tip of the iceberg.

The question people should be asking for whom does it serve? For whom do the Gardaí serve?

Privilege, wealth and power. The status quo. The structural inequalities. The grand theft and upwards wealth redistribution that is taking place.

Traffic incidents, attending your home an hour after you call them about a burglary, your bicycle being stolen etc. All second fiddle to guarding cash vans, political and economic elite and the crushing of dissent.

And yes, this post is probably being stored some place. So hello to the SB/NSU/G2/GSAS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

mikom wrote: »
    Yep...............but the supreme court says no......

"did not believe the man was likely to resist arrest"

That garda may have been of the opinion (foolish opinion) that his prisoner was no threat and he stated in evidence that the only reason he cuffed him was a matter of routine or proceedure.
    Any person sitting behind you in a moving vehicle having been arrested is a threat and a danger both to themselves and others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I am often reminded of the Clare Daly incident. That really did shock me. Would the Gardai have done the same (i.e. handcuffs) to a TD in FF, FG or Labour? No chance. It really showed how superior the Gardaí thought they were. They deserve their humiliation.

Daly herself has showed great patience and courage but they really need to explain their actions 1 year on.

The Gardaí want to bury that story so much, they had actually been tracking her for quite a while. They were very eager to catch her doing something wrong. But now they want it buried because they screwed up, hence the non-cooperation with investigation. How quickly people forget though eh!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

hundreds of people are pulled over and fail alcohol breath tests each week , they are not handcuffed and bunged into cells for a few hours , plus she didn't even fail the test

if you cant spot an attempted stitch up like this , ive some magic beans which might interest you

if your second names wallace mick i wouldn't be surprised if them beans were nicked :pac::pac::pac:

actually most people who are arrested for drink driving are indeed handcuffed so thats just not true , i bet Fine Gael TD, PJ Sheehan was cuffed when he was arrested . o but wait why would they arrest him , isnt he a fine gael man ??

if your second names wallace mick i wouldn't be surprised if them beans were nicked :pac::pac::pac:

actually most people who are arrested for drink driving are indeed handcuffed so thats just not true , i bet Fine Gael TD, PJ Sheehan was cuffed when he was arrested . o but wait why would they arrest him , isnt he a fine gael man ??

It was suspicion of drink driving and no, most people are not handcuffed for suspicion. Where do you get your news?

porsche959 wrote: »
    Rubbish, complete and utter tripe. It is very rare for persons accused of this type of road traffic offense to be handcuffed.

How would you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I think all this is great; first the catholic church falls, then the cops. Which Irish 'institution' will be next? The GAA must be nervous.

withless wrote: »
    I think all this is great; first the catholic church falls, then the cops. Which Irish 'institution' will be next?

Ironically the good people of both institutions had to turn a blind eye for the evil/corruption to prosper.

Birroc wrote: »
    Ironically the good people of both institutions had to turn a blind eye for the evil/corruption to prosper.
    How is that even slightly ironic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

J K wrote: »
    She was handcuffed because she was under arrest. Uncuffed prisoners lead to car crashes. Then if there was people dead you'd be whinging about that.

And the press get phone calls from the gardai every time they cuff someone they suspect of drink driving?

It was suspicion of drink driving and no, most people are not handcuffed for suspicion. Where do you get your news?

Suspicion until a sample is taken !
    Where do you get yours ? because your wrong.
    generally speaking "apart from that idiot recently in the supreme court " anyone getting into the back of a patrol car is hand cuffed in case they become violent or attempt to escape. Some one who is suspected on being intoxicated is of course more likely to be one of those persons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"did not believe the man was likely to resist arrest"

That garda may have been of the opinion (foolish opinion) that his prisoner was no threat and he stated in evidence that the only reason he cuffed him was a matter of routine or proceedure.
    Any person sitting behind you in a moving vehicle having been arrested is a threat and a danger both to themselves and others.

This is not standard procedure but personal procedure.
    Handcuff if you wish, but don't be surprised if it is tested in court.

withless wrote: »
    How is that even slightly ironic?

Because they both knew what was going on in the among the clergy and they clergy knew the Gardaí could look the other way. Worked a treat.
    Some guards that did accuse the local priest had their careers ended or seriously curtailed.

I dont know what we are going to celebrate in 2016, some Republic.

Suspicion until a sample is taken !
    Where do you get yours ? because your wrong.
    generally speaking "apart from that idiot recently in the supreme court " anyone getting into the back of a patrol car is hand cuffed in case they become violent or attempt to escape. Some one who is suspected on being intoxicated is of course more likely to be one of those persons

can you read post #115 before you make yourself look more foolish....reply to it where you are confused.

porsche959 wrote: »
    Rubbish, complete and utter tripe. It is very rare for persons accused of this type of road traffic offense to be handcuffed.
    How would you know?

The Garda Síochána Guide

"Handcuffing of prisoners

In Reed v Wastie it was held that the handcuffing of an arrested person is only justifiable where it is reasonably necessary to prevent an escape.

In R. v Taylor it was held that where a person is handcuffed in circumstances where it is not necessary to do so, the handcuffing will be unjustified and constitute trespass even though the arrest itself is lawful.

So it would appear that the handcuffing of a prisoner, as a matter of course is unlawful unless the Garda believes that the prisoner will try to escape or otherwise become violent".

http://garda.blackhallpublishing.com/index.php/2013-05-31-05-54-16/subject-index/109-arrest%20of%20offenders/1051-handcuffing-of-prisoners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

In fairness I agree I don't think there has ever been a case of an initially quite drink driving prisoner every turning violent on police, in fairness all you are doing is arresting them and taking them into custody. Its quite a happy event for everyone!

Because they both knew what was going on in the among the clergy and they clergy knew the Gardaí could look the other way. Worked a treat.
    Some guards that did accuse the local priest had their careers ended or seriously curtailed.
    An ancient Greek is spinning in his grave.

it most certainly is standard proceedure. as set out in the Garda Code.
    all arrested persons are to be handcuffed, there are exceptions, none of which include TDs or suspected drunk drivers.

if you are driving a patrol car and an arrested person is placed in the back without handcuffs, you have no idea what could happen.
    its protection for the driver, for the other passengers and for other innocent road users that could be injured if a patrol car swings out of control.

it is proceedure and i think anyone that allows a prisoner ( thats an arrested person for anyone that thinks theres something wrong with that term) to get into a patrol car uncuffed is a fool.

No it is the difference between 'I believe this person is a threat' and 'I do this by routine without thought or assessment.'
    If every prisoner is assessed on an individual basis and deemed a threat then they should be cuffed.

No it is the difference between 'I believe this person is a threat' and 'I do this by routine without thought or assessment.'
    If every prisoner is assessed on an individual basis and deemed a threat then they should be cuffed.

Expect what "you" believe to be tested so.

they should do it for each and every single prisoner.
    if someone is arrested they should be cuffed.

lets just imagine..............
    Guards arrest a lad for drink driving, they have a bit of banter, bit of craic in the car on the way back to the station. chatting, everyone getting on fine.
    suddenly, the station appears, prisoner in the back suddenly realises '****e, i dont wanna be here'
    kicks out, kicks the drivers seat, driver goes out of control, crosses the road and smashes straight head on into a family coming the other way.....

so, who's wrong now??
    Guards.

can you read post #115 before you make yourself look more foolish....reply to it where you are confused.

and you believe her version of events with out question or proof other than her own statement,

aren't you a trusting soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

and you believe her version of events with out question or proof other than her own statement,

You're pretty trusting in the integrity of TPTB given all that is coming out!

well then lets all just sit in the corners of the room eyeballing each other suspiciously

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 eddie_hitler

consider the series of events

deputy daly is one of the TD,s who draws public attention to the issue of the cancellation of penalty points of well positioned people , she speaks at length about it in dail eireann

she is soon after arrested on suspicion of drink driving and detained in police custody for several hours , it is subsequently discovered that she was not even close to being over the legal limit

who in this story appears to be ( guilty ) of suspicious behaviour ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Expect what "you" believe to be tested so.

The level of force which "I" believe is the minimum required, and proportionate is the level I am entitled and obliged to use. And that which I do so. And it hasn't failed any test yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Err... I don't think the media is only producing super hero cops stuff.. In fact some of the most popular crime/police tv is about criminal behaviour of the police. Plus, considering all of the revelations that came out of the troubles well... I think most people are realistically pretty aware of the fact that lots of cops aren't moral beacons.

Saying that.

If you need a form filled in to claim on your insurance, you call the cops. They have to be trusted and they have to be supported by society.

AND

They have to be held to the highest standard possible.

FYP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 eddie_hitler

ive found that to be the best approach myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

ive found that to be the best approach myself

Hard fcuking man! How do you do it?