What was your Confirmation name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,687 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

JASON after my brother

is your username the initials of your real name?

beks101 wrote: »
    Jessica. I have absolutely zero clue how I came up with that. I knew no Jessicas as a child. Probably my 12 year old self saw some Jessica on TV - actually it could've been yer wan out of Sweet Valley High.

Pretty ridiculous when I think about it. What a load of bollix.

Jessica Fletcher from Murder She Wrote. She's an idol! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Sarah, she was a wife of a friend of jesus or something.

Remember the confirmation books? We used to fight over the gold and silver pens to decorate our books.

Looking back now, all of it was a pile of poo.

Shure it was a bit of craic back in the day & it provided kids with in the most part good memories.

No harm in that IMHO.

Your'e memories make you the person you become.

Shure it was a bit of craic back in the day & it provided kids with in the most part good memories.

No harm in that IMHO.

Your'e memories make you the person you become.

Yeah but now I don't want anything to do with the church and can't believe I spent so much time on that stuff. That time spent on maths or english would have been far better.

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Yeah but now I don't want anything to do with the church and can't believe I spent so much time on that stuff. That time spent on maths or english would have been far better.

There's a great fashion now for bashing the Church & all that now.

I'm not Religious myself, but there was an awful lot of good done by 'The Firm' past & present.

There'd be no such thing as MRSA in hospitals nowadays if the Nuns were in charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Claire....It sounded cool at the time!

Mariasofia wrote: »

I had a dishwasher named Claire back in the day........

Good times.

When she moved out, I had to buy an actual Dishwasher.

Breaking up is sometimes hard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭trishawisha

beks101 wrote: »
    Jessica. I have absolutely zero clue how I came up with that. I knew no Jessicas as a child. Probably my 12 year old self saw some Jessica on TV - actually it could've been yer wan out of Sweet Valley High.

Pretty ridiculous when I think about it. What a load of bollix.

I picked Elizabeth- loved the sweet vally high books! What a load of nonsense! My niece chose my name which was sweet and meant alot, thats how it should be I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,300 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Pádraig. Wanted Patrick, then decided that I liked Irish, so combined the two things. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

I had a dishwasher named Claire back in the day........

Good times.

When she moved out, I had to buy an actual Dishwasher.

Breaking up is sometimes hard...
    So I've heard......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Jacob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Boldberry

Gabriella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I chose Claire too, but to make it extra cool I wanted it to be spelled Clair.

It was spelled Clare in the end.

So I've heard......

From who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Not me, but my brother chose Martin as his confirmation name. I guess he forgot that his middle name is also Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Xavier, can't remember why tho, probably just to be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Catherine, it's my mum, granny and great-granny's confirmation name too. Chain stops here though because I won't be raising my kids Catholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭job seeker

etxp wrote: »
    Xavier, can't remember why tho, probably just to be different.

Xavier from home and away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Charles Xavier

job seeker wrote: »
    Xavier from home and away?

I don't remember any Xavier in home and away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Anyone remember how much money they got?

I got 60 quid which was a lot back in 1986

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I chose Martha, the patron saint of cooks. I wanted Agatha but my mother informed me about the cutting off of boobs so I decided not to. I was glad I didn't choose Agatha as the bishop quizzed me on my name choice just before I kissed his ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I chose Martha, the patron saint of cooks. I wanted Agatha but my mother informed me about the cutting off of boobs so I decided not to.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Piero,_sant%27agata.jpg :eek:

etxp wrote: »
    I don't remember any Xavier in home and away.

>>> Click this <<<

I chose Martha, the patron saint of cooks. I wanted Agatha but my mother informed me about the cutting off of boobs so I decided not to. I was glad I didn't choose Agatha as the bishop quizzed me on my name choice just before I kissed his ring.

If you choose Agatha, your boards name would have been spot on.. :P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Mine was Clare, after Saint Clare of Assisi.

Interesting reading here & here :)

/It was my parents who chose this Saint for me & I'm well pleased!

job seeker wrote: »

Definitely wasn't because of him. I done my confirmation 17 years ago. He came into the soap in 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ceo

Monica - after your one from friends! I wasn't allowed Phoebe and I didn't like Rachel.
    We were handed a few holy calendars between us and told if we could find the names we had picked for ourselves in there - we could use them!
    As for writing an essay about them, we were given 3/4 sentences each to learn in case we were asked anything by the bishop or parish priest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Alexandra. My birthday is on the feast day of St Alexander, so that was my name.

Someone I knew chose Callixtus as his Confirmation name (suppose was after one of the earlier Popes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Patrick.
    Was a very patriotic 12 year old.