What was your Confirmation name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

What's the story with people having to write essays on why they picked their names? Mine was Mark btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

Owen to commemorate wrestler Owen Hart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Schwiiing wrote: »
    What's the story with people having to write essays on why they picked their names? Mine was Mark btw.

That was news to me too, or that it was supposed to be a Saint's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭sunbeam

ElleEm wrote: »
    I didn't make my confirmation, but a girl in my class picked Toni... after Tony Mortimer, the lead singer of East 17!!

Way back in the 80s I picked Alison as I was an Alison Moyet fan at the time. Nobody told us it had to be a saint's name though I think there was a saint Alice who became a child nun at the age of seven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Martin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Mine was Luke after St Luke, very imaginative.

Does anybody use their taken name as part of their full name, I add it in whenever I'm filling out forms, I like it it, it rings well with my two middles and first name. I can do cool initials with it.
    Say it was because of Star Wars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Gemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

Cinnamon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Joan.

Had to be a saint, and this was the only one acceptable to little girl me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

Beelzebub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭3mm

Colm , after the gooch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Martin

Martins a lovely name. :)

I picked Oliver, was the name of my best friend at the time. Did anyone ever hear of a name getting rejected by the bishop? A few of the lads dared each up to come up with ridiculous names to tell the bishop but dont think they went through with it. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Just plain aul Anne. I wasn't like the rebels that took the 'out there' names like Fidelma and Agnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Anto after saint anto of the soap-bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Patrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭scottp68877

I took the name Martin. Never even thought about it but my other middle name was Austin. Took me a few years to realise my middle names were Austin Martin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Cathriona :(

I had picked Emma but the morning of the confirmation, the beeatch teacher handed me the badge with "Cathriona" on it.
    Turns out, the class swot got Emma. It seems she picked it first :mad:

We didn't really have a big pool of names to pick from back in the day so I was delighted to have found an "unusual" name.
    Sure everyone we knew were called Mary, John, Michael and Teresa!!!

Anyway, years go by and it's my own childrens turn to face the bishop.
    At the time, my son was madly in love with Baby Spice and my daughter with David Beckham so my son took David and my daughter took Emma.
    Pure coincidence :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Ruubot2 wrote: »

I picked Oliver, was the name of my best friend at the time. Did anyone ever hear of a name getting rejected by the bishop? A few of the lads dared each up to come up with ridiculous names to tell the bishop but dont think they went through with it. :p

Well the Bishop looked very confused for a minute when I said Alison, but was grand when the priest repeated it loudly and slowly to him. I reckon he was just a bit deaf. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I took the name Martin. Never even thought about it but my other middle name was Austin. Took me a few years to realise my middle names were Austin Martin :)

You should change your surname to Vanquish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

My youngest picked "Sylvester" for the laugh, then decided he quite liked it, so Sylvester it was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

My daughter only has a first name too.

I can't remember what she chose as her confirmation name *bad mummy* :(

Didn't take the bestowing of The Holy Spirit and sealing of the covenant of baptism seriously then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Jessica. I have absolutely zero clue how I came up with that. I knew no Jessicas as a child. Probably my 12 year old self saw some Jessica on TV - actually it could've been yer wan out of Sweet Valley High.

Pretty ridiculous when I think about it. What a load of bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Ruubot2 wrote: »

I know someone who wanted to take Jessica and the nuns kicked up a huge fuss saying it wasn't a saint's name. Her grandmother sent a letter to the parish priest referencing St Jesse from the bible. She was allowed take the name but the nuns were not happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I picked the name Colm. I wasn't given a middle name.

JASON after my brother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

You should change your surname to Vanquish.

Just to clear this up, before it gets out of hand.

No such thing as an Austin Martin. It's Aston Martin.

James Bond would not have been seen dead in anything related to a Metro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Dermott.

With 2 Ts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭job seeker

My first name is Pete, named after my uncle who was named after my grandad on my mothers side. My Second name is named after my father Gerard and so I decided I would pick Christopher after my grandad on my dads side.

Im OCD. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Sarah, she was a wife of a friend of jesus or something.

Remember the confirmation books? We used to fight over the gold and silver pens to decorate our books.

Looking back now, all of it was a pile of poo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Anne Other

Lucy.

I remember having to write about the saint. Theymade me do three essays because there were three different stories about how she died. :mad:

I picked Lucy also, but I only had to write one story:p:p:p:p:p