Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

munkus wrote: »
    Am I missing something here? Young lads talking during mass and the priest told them to quiten down, sounds about right.

Apologies if I have it wrong!

It was younger kids that were talking , toddler age like . They just dont understand where they are . I think if families are good enough to go to mass and listen to a priest waffling crap that he should understand that young kids arent able to sit quiet for the duration .
    I dont like the church anyhow so it doesn't take much for me to have a rant at them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

moy83 wrote: »
    It was younger kids that were talking , toddler age like . They just dont understand where they are . I think if families are good enough to go to mass and listen to a priest waffling crap that he should understand that young kids arent able to sit quiet for the duration .
    I dont like the church anyhow so it doesn't take much for me to have a rant at them

Amazing the difference between a good priest and a sh1te one. Dead right about the waffle, you'd swear some of them are making up the sermon as they're up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 TopCon

I have two tanks. One 2000l DX tank and one 2000l ice bank. The ice bank is a self contained unit that just cools itself.

I think its just the shear volume of milk going into the tank that its not getting time to cool it

Well unless you have really ramped up volume or drastically reduced milking time with electric pump installed it shouldn't be that bad.

If you lift cover at the back of icebank you will see/feel the ice buildup. That'll tell you what ice you have. You will be able to tell if the circulation pumps are running also. Maybe only one is running if there should be two?

If a packo the cold water may not be dribbling down the inside of tank properly.

It could be low on gas thus not able to build enough ice between milkings thus impossible to cool.

Also if its compressor is being run on night rate timer it may need to be left on for longer.

The main thing to keep in mind is the Compressor builds the ice but the water cools the milk. The two work separately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

TopCon wrote: »
    Well unless you have really ramped up volume or drastically reduced milking time with electric pump installed it shouldn't be that bad.

If you lift cover at the back of icebank you will see/feel the ice buildup. That'll tell you what ice you have. You will be able to tell if the circulation pumps are running also. Maybe only one is running if there should be two?

If a packo the cold water may not be dribbling down the inside of tank properly.

It could be low on gas thus not able to build enough ice between milkings thus impossible to cool.

Also if its compressor is being run on night rate timer it may need to be left on for longer.

The main thing to keep in mind is the Compressor builds the ice but the water cools the milk. The two work separately.
    might be an idea to get the tank checked out anyways you are paying for it in your bulk tank contract

... I think if families are good enough to go to mass and listen to a priest waffling crap...

Why do you go, when you clearly have little respect for the church.

in fairness he did day he was going as his son is preparing for communion, that is another rant.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    in fairness he did day he was going as his son is preparing for communion, that is another rant.

Yes fair enough.

Last thing I want to do is open that can of worms!!

I was thinking about not letting the young lad do the communion but he would just be an oddball in the class then , so im just going for that reason . The wife usually brings him but she had to work today . I swear my blood was boiling sitting there listening to the priest telling them be quiet or they would be in trouble .

Well I do agree it is only fair by your child that he receives communion. As you say it would serve only to alienate him from classmates.
    You done the right thing.
    However I wouldn't agree if you were to give out to the priest in the church for attempting to stop chatter.

But I do hope your family has a wonderful day for his communion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ah the cows are milking a lot better than last Year.
    The tanks are very old. The ice bank could be 35 yrs old. It got new gas when we put it in 7 yrs ago.
    The milk was 6 degrees between the two tanks so not great

Well I do agree it is only fair by your child that he receives communion. As you say it would serve only to alienate him from classmates.
    However I wouldn't agree if you were to give out to the priest in the church for attempting to stop chatter.

Let him build a crying chapel if he doesn't like kids talking , im kinda disappointed in myself for not saying something to him after mass .

Should have a good day I think its swimming then lunch then bring him go karting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Yea I would agree with you, I just vote with my feet, if kids are disrupting a service, I just leave, Its just not worth the bother.

Anyone here about this tough mudder yoke in punchestown in October. Looks like good craic

Have 14 very very old lime trees on the house entrance here maybe 200+ yrs old.
    Any way the ivy has started to up around the trunks a lot. Anyone know of anything to spray on trunks of the trees or would it be just as easy pull it all off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,883 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Have 14 very very old lime trees on the house entrance here maybe 200+ yrs old.
    Any way the ivy has started to up around the trunks a lot. Anyone know of anything to spray on trunks of the trees or would it be just as easy pull it all off?
    Take out your chain saw and cut the ivy at the base of the tree. It will eventually die off and you can pull it off in the autumn.
    Other than that get some brushwood weedkiller and spray the ivy if it is young.

Base price wrote: »
    Take out your chain saw and cut the ivy at the base of the tree. It will eventually die off and you can pull it off in the autumn.
    Other than that get some brushwood weedkiller and spray the ivy if it is young.

Ah its only young stuff but i hate the job of taking ivy off trees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,883 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Ah its only young stuff but i hate the job of taking ivy off trees
    The one advantage about using brushwood weedkiller is that it does not kill the grass so you do not have brown patches around the base of the trees.
    It is also very effective for briars and creeping nettles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Base price wrote: »
    The one advantage about using brushwood weedkiller is that it does not kill the grass so you do not have brown patches around the base of the trees.
    It is also very effective for briars and creeping nettles.

The danger with spray and Lime trees is that you can get suckering of tree leaf growth well below the crown of the tree. Going at Lime trees with brushwood killer could adversely affect the trees themselves.

If it's young ivy growth - sever the ivy, removing 2 foot or so from the base of the ivy. The ivy above will shrivel and die off and you can use other means to remove roots etc

gozunda wrote: »
    The danger with spray and Lime trees is that you can get suckering of tree leaf growth well below the crown of the tree. Going at Lime trees with brushwood killer could adversely affect the trees themselves.

If it's young ivy growth - sever the ivy, removing 2 foot or so from the base of the ivy. The ivy above will shrivel and die off and you can use other means to remove roots etc
    We pull it off most yrs and irmts a job I hate so be handy if there was a spray or something I could put on the base if the tree to stop it growing

Got kids or nephews / nices ? :D Handy out for that type of job....

Ok seriously do your lime trees have growth below crown in the form of suckers?

Got kids or nephews / nices ? :D Handy out for that type of job....

Ok seriously do your lime trees have growth below crown in the form of suckers?

Have sisters but there house birds...
    Ye we do. Trimmed them 2 yrs ago. Due a trim this yeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,743 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just spend the last 8 hours unloading and reloading a truck with machinery, so much for a day of rest.......I'm goosed

Have sisters but there house birds...
    Ye we do. Trimmed them 2 yrs ago. Due a trim this yeat

Some studies have shown that nearly all irish limes come from a relatively small genetic pool - that sucker once mature. Many lime trees in UK and elsewhere don't exhibit this tendancy.

It is because of this you have to be very careful when spraying near around Lime trees.

If you de-sucker first it will be safer but still carries some risk.

Some studies have shown that nearly all irish limes come from a relatively small genetic pool - that sucker once mature. Many lime trees in UK and elsewhere don't exhibit this tendancy.

It is because of this you have to be very careful when spraying near around Lime trees.

If you de-sucker first it will be safer but still carries some risk.

Will the spray travel into the tree from the suckers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭naughto

I had to bring the young lad to mass there . Its preparation for the communion , talk about crap . The priest kept telling the younger kids to stop talking . I felt like booting him off the alter the fool

Next you will be saying that he can't serve mass.I no there will be a row in this house when it does time,her only 5 months yet so I think I am safe enough for awhile.not a hope in hell will he be serving mass if I have ant thing to do about it

Another calf with pneumonia. Think I'll have to vaccinate next year.
    Any one vaccinate here?
    Would having ibr vaccine in the mothers system help them any bit for pneumonia?

Any one vaccinate here?
    are they in or out? hows the cow that was sick the other night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Will the spray travel into the tree from the suckers?

It could go down to the roots.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    are they in or out? hows the cow that was sick the other night?

In the shed. 20 in a 4 bay hay shed.
    She's okay now but still not eating all the nuts. I'd say she is filling up on grass. Still back in milk though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Any one vaccinate here?

Vaccinate for ibr/phuemonia at 10 days, massive ibr outbreak last year 65 out of 70 calves went down with pneumonia should of got shares in the vets with what i spent on zactran...