Farming Chit Chat sallies Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,743 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Haha that's her actually :D

Score :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Not long in from a walk around the very wild West, nothing popped as yet tonight but I spied my best crossbred ewe a little ways off on her own. Reckon I'll be hearing alarm bell around 1.30am.

Have you them confined to a paddock or do you have to walk the ranch every time to check them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

rancher wrote: »
    Have you them confined to a paddock or do you have to walk the ranch every time to check them

They're in about ten acres of rougher ground, takes a while to check the usual lambing haunts at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Not long in from a walk around the very wild West, nothing popped as yet tonight but I spied my best crossbred ewe a little ways off on her own. Reckon I'll be hearing alarm bell around 1.30am.

Tis artic out with the wind chill, won't be long waking you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Lads I was looking for that funny pic of paul o'connell where it looks like hes gone to the elbow in some welsh lad. Can any of ye held if yere up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭C0N0R

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Lads I was looking for that funny pic of paul o'connell where it looks like hes gone to the elbow in some welsh lad. Can any of ye held if yere up?

4d29b31bfd059917bfddc778ba5c6e32.jpg

Hope that's the one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

C0N0R wrote: »
    4d29b31bfd059917bfddc778ba5c6e32.jpg

Hope that's the one

Well fair play to you. That's the one.
    Was just in from calving a big 63kg Charolais Bull with the mother.she loves the Rugby aswell so she'd appropriate it
    Thanks Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,294 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Mamma Mia! its an Italian lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

They're in about ten acres of rougher ground, takes a while to check the usual lambing haunts at night.

Con, did you get the poly tunnel or change of plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The good poly tunnel is just for show. Sure where would the hardship be in lambing in that?! He's off out stuck in a ditch now somewhere in his element :D

Muckit wrote: »
    The good poly tunnel is just for show. Sure where would the hardship be in lambing in that?! He's off out stuck in a ditch now somewhere in his element :D

Jees I built a shed where I winter the cows for calving and it's the best 3k I ever spent.. Bad night throw her in and once calf sucks I'm off to bed.. No worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,743 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »

Yeah he realised once it was built that it took all the fun out of lambing. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Aga keeps on cutting out here. Twice yesterday and had to be taken apart to get it to relight.
    Font why its doing it. Couple if hundred litres of kero in the tank.
    House gets awful cold without it and the Sunday roast wouldn't be the same out of the electric oven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Lads,

What's the annual subscription to ICBF?

I'm subscribed and set up with direct debit - but I cannot find where they took the payment? If I knew the amount then I might find it in the statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

reilig wrote: »
    Lads,

What's the annual subscription to ICBF?

I'm subscribed and set up with direct debit - but I cannot find where they took the payment? If I knew the amount then I might find it in the statement?

€60.

Bodacious wrote: »
    Con, did you get the poly tunnel or change of plan

Yes I bought it but time became too tight and the weather hasn't co-operated in finishing it. So, it's on the back burner now to be honest. Groundwork is done, low concrete walls holding the ground pegs are in, hoops are on site - they will be the next stage.

Think I'll have to buy a bigger plate cooler sooner than I had anticipated.
    Finished milking at half 8 and ice bank is still at 8 degrees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Is it set up right?
    Water flow opposite to milk flow.
    High enough water flow
    Plates not too tight
    Could you add more plates, there's usually space
    Is it clean, they can build up inside and reduce cooling.

bbam wrote: »
    Is it set up right?
    Water flow opposite to milk flow.
    High enough water flow
    Plates not too tight
    Could you add more plates, there's usually space
    Is it clean, they can build up inside and reduce cooling.
    Ye flow coming direct from well.
    Uncle is fullwood fitter for all of Wicklow so its fairly right. Worked up until this year but there's a lot of milk going through it now.
    I can add a few more but not many. Have the grant in for new tank and cooler and parlour so was going to try wait till then to do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Aga keeps on cutting out here. Twice yesterday and had to be taken apart to get it to relight.
    Font why its doing it. Couple if hundred litres of kero in the tank.
    House gets awful cold without it and the Sunday roast wouldn't be the same out of the electric oven
    must be dirt in the line somewhere, i relit mine no bother the other day when i ran out of kero. The time before i had to get a man to come and clean it out

biddy2013 wrote: »
    must be dirt in the line somewhere, i relit mine no bother the other day when i ran out of kero. The time before i had to get a man to come and clean it out

Ye I'd say week have to the same. Lighting now but don't understand why it keeps going out. We have awful trouble trying to relight it if she runs out of juice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

was at a wedding yesterday, woody wood pecker doing over time in my head today and my chest in bits must have smoked 40 benson yesterday, think bed till milking this evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I had to bring the young lad to mass there . Its preparation for the communion , talk about crap . The priest kept telling the younger kids to stop talking . I felt like booting him off the alter the fool

Bloody fcukin lawn mower. Went missing last week it broke the belt for the bed. Fixed it and father went mowing today. Belt for drive broke.

At this rate well never get the first cut in the pit :(

Yes I bought it but time became too tight and the weather hasn't co-operated in finishing it. So, it's on the back burner now to be honest. Groundwork is done, low concrete walls holding the ground pegs are in, hoops are on site - they will be the next stage.

It'll be great motivation to have it done in Summer months when weather is more forgiving .. And you'll have the good of it next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 TopCon

What setup have you on the ice bank. Is the ice bank cooling both plate cooler and milk tank or have you direct expansion for the milk tank. How many compressors etc.

Sounds more like an ice building problem. If water is 8 degrees in the ice bank three hours after milking its not due to plate cooler size too small.

If you have a service contract, put in a breakdown call. If not let me know your setup and problems and ill try help ya best I can.

moy83 wrote: »
    I had to bring the young lad to mass there . Its preparation for the communion , talk about crap . The priest kept telling the younger kids to stop talking . I felt like booting him off the alter the fool

I blame the parents :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I blame the parents :p

I know , if a few of the backed me we could have smartened up the priest , but no they just let him off

TopCon wrote: »
    What setup have you on the ice bank. Is the ice bank cooling both plate cooler and milk tank or have you direct expansion for the milk tank. How many compressors etc.

Sounds more like an ice building problem. If water is 8 degrees in the ice bank three hours after milking its not due to plate cooler size too small.

If you have a service contract, put in a breakdown call. If not let me know your setup and problems and ill try help ya best I can.

I have two tanks. One 2000l DX tank and one 2000l ice bank. The ice bank is a self contained unit that just cools itself.

I think its just the shear volume of milk going into the tank that its not getting time to cool it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

moy83 wrote: »
    I know , if a few of the backed me we could have smartened up the priest , but no they just let him off

Am I missing something here? Young lads talking during mass and the priest told them to quiten down, sounds about right.

Apologies if I have it wrong!