Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

czechlin wrote: »
    I've been thinking to buy one of those dearer ones (can't think of the brand name at the moment) that are built for the wind, not sure how effective they really are. It's either that or some sort of a spacesuit like rainsuit :mad:

All kidding aside, I suggest paying a visit to a motorcycle shop and looking at the one-piece zip-up rain oversuits. I used to use one back in the day when on foot as well, in the more ridiculous weather. For example, this is quite an affordable one, and Spada are a pretty good make, available from our own Lee Honda Centre in Caaark, like:

http://www.motorcycleshop.ie/spada-eco-oversuit-339-p.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Stupid people. Or even worse, stupid and obstinate people. Too stupid ot even know how stupid they are. Maddening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

jimgoose wrote: »
    All kidding aside, I suggest paying a visit to a motorcycle shop and looking at the one-piece zip-up rain oversuits. I used to use one back in the day when on foot as well, in the more ridiculous weather. For example, this is quite an affordable one, and Spada are a pretty good make, available from our own Lee Honda Centre in Caaark, like:

http://www.motorcycleshop.ie/spada-eco-oversuit-339-p.asp

Thanks! The idea of strolling into the office wearing this puts a smile on face! Now what about the head jim, any suggestions? :)

Hell yeah:

http://www.motorcycleshop.ie/shoei-gt-air-journey-tc5-2946-p.asp

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

The fúcking eejit that stood at the Luas door this morning with his stupid pram and child blocking everyone from getting off.

Wheel your little angel off the damn tram, get the fúck out of the way, and then get back on. Don't just stand there. Príck.

The weather has affected my mood it seems.

Nice one.
    I feel like a real badass now just thinking about walking around town in the weatherproof overall and a helmet. Nice and dry. :D
    The fact that I don't own a bike spoils it a bit :eek:

Nice one.
    I feel like a real badass now just thinking about walking around town in the weatherproof overall and a helmet. Nice and dry. :D
    The fact that I don't own a bike spoils it a bit :eek:

"Some say his only living relatives are ducks. Some say if you tune your radio to 88.4 MHz you can hear his thoughts. All we know is..." :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Ring4Fea wrote: »
    You mean like already having had my writing and novel original characters and dialogue accepted by one of the oldest and more respected publishers in New York. Unlike snotty writers who can't seem to do so, thus seek artists and actors as crutches because they can't get an agent or film desl on their own, as you suggest. Mainly due to gormless lack of originality which mandates they have to use someone else to give them a leg up. ;)

I just got a mental flash of you looking like "Withnail"

"I demand the finest wines known to humanity, I want then here and I want them now!, then I am going to buy this place and install a fcuking jukebox":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Mrs. Blennerhasset - we are multi-millionaires!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

don't get the snifflysnarkies with my posts on this thread.[/QUOTE

snifflysnarkies? Is that some of your own work?

Wotsername wrote: »
    don't get the snifflysnarkies with my posts on this thread.[/QUOTE

snifflysnarkies? Is that some of your own work?

Did you not recognise it, it's on the back page of the "Beano"

...snifflysnarkies...

jimgoose likes this. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,806 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Colleagues who come to your desk to discuss a spreadsheet.

Then they offer advice by pointing at every cell directly on the screen with their finger leaving greasy fingerprints on a hard to remove LCD screen.

It really drives me mad!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

My girlfriend telling me how much money she is saving this month.......what she is forgetting is that she is using my debit card so her bank balance isnt moving.

When you think you have a bargain...

I went in to a disc shop and bought a pack of plasters (supermarket and chemist wanted stupid money for same) for 2 euro/euros, contains 80, yes 80 plasters, great, until , when I sever an artery and go to my trusty pack of plasters, I discover 70 small round corn plasters!! who the fcuk needs these?, five very small plasters like you put over a stud on your eyebrow if you work in a fast food joint, and five proper plasters!!! In the same shop they sell condoms?? would anyone really trust a pack of 2 euro condoms?

I am now off to the chemist, with tail between legs to buy some proper plasters...................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

mauzo! wrote: »
    Kids and their big mouths.

My son is 4 in a few weeks, a very large woman just walked by us and he shouts 'look at the big fat woman'.

I almost died. I'm sure she did too :( so embarrassing!

I hear ya!

Over the years, from the mouths of my 3/4 year olds within hearing distance of the person.

'Why is that person chocolate coloured' (black person)

'Does Debbie have a massive tummy because she is having a baby?' (our 80 year old neighbour Debbie)

'Mummy, mummy, mummy look at those tiny grownups' (two dwarves)

'That man is fat because he eats too much food' (a fat man)

'Good girl mummy, drinking water will make your nipples grow big and strong' (to me, on a crowded Luas at the top of her voice as I took a drink of water)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

My 4yr old Niece once asked a family friend "Are you very sad?"
    "No not at all, Why?. Do I look sad?"
    "Not really, But that jumper makes you look very very sad."

Sensitive skin. The state of my face at the moment, I don't know what facial creams to buy any more :mad:

The way the trailer for Les Mis (lest there be any confusion - the one where Anne Hathaway and Russell Crowe essentially bast*rdise the original) actually looks good, but the film itself is pure sh1te. Another annoyance would be her OTT face as she assaults "I dreamed a dream" with her silly boy haircut and stupid stupid whingeing. Come back Ruthie! All is forgiven!

If anyone mentions the welsh bint I'll swiiiiiiiing for them :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

people who complain when they should not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OldNotWIse wrote: »

Now I've got Susan Boyle (#susanalbumparty) stuck in my head after she too butchered "I dreamed a dream", even though I know you meant... yeah :D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Now I've got Susan Boyle (#susanalbumparty) stuck in my head after she too butchered "I dreamed a dream", even though I know you meant... yeah :D

I have yet to say this without being screamed at but I shall try again anyway:

IMO, the positive reaction to Susan Boyle was actually symptomatic of society's preconceptions and prejudices towards overweight and unattractive people. If a slim, good looking participant had walked out onto that stage, the reaction would not have been the same because people would not have been as surprised, due to their own prejudices. The fact that they were surprised speaks volumes, about them...and they dont even realise it.

I firmly believe if she was a few sizes smaller and more conventionally attractive, she would not have got as far.

I have yet to say this without being screamed at but I shall try again anyway:

IMO, the positive reaction to Susan Boyle was actually symptomatic of society's preconceptions and prejudices towards overweight and unattractive people. If a slim, good looking participant had walked out onto that stage, the reaction would not have been the same because people would not have been as surprised, due to their own prejudices. The fact that they were surprised speaks volumes, about them...and they dont even realise it.

I firmly believe if she was a few sizes smaller and more conventionally attractive, she would not have got as far.

Or, more concisely, the Susan Boyle phenomenon is another example of Special Olympics Syndrome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

When you burn your tongue...:(

Soup and tea are the worst culprits for it!!:mad:

Or, more concisely, the Susan Boyle phenomenon is another example of Special Olympics Syndrome.

Aw man I was gonna say that and I chickened out :( Had this whole "its inappropriate...buts its AH.....but its inapporopriate" conflict going on.

I remember seeing a poster once advertising the special olympics as "The Real Olympics" and thinking, gawd imagine if the original olympics advertised that way. There'd be war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I think it was less to do with her appearance, and more to do with the fact she came off a bit erm, 'feisty' in her pre-audition chat with the judges :D

Ant summed it up perfectly "Yiz didn' expect that now, did ye!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

The way the trailer for Les Mis (lest there be any confusion - the one where Anne Hathaway and Russell Crowe essentially bast*rdise the original) actually looks good, but the film itself is pure sh1te. Another annoyance would be her OTT face as she assaults "I dreamed a dream" with her silly boy haircut and stupid stupid whingeing. Come back Ruthie! All is forgiven!

Les Miz]

[Les Miz

That film needed 10x more Philip Quast singing 'Stars' - As big of a mancrush as I have on Russell, he'll never even come close to Quast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

maguic24 wrote: »
    When you burn your tongue...:(

Soup and tea are the worst culprits for it!!:mad:
    I'll see your burned tongue and raise you a bitten tongue:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I'll see your burned tongue and raise you a bitten tongue:(

Oh god......my tongue is hurting just thinking about it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Going for my monthly check up in the hospital,waiting three hours and in the end being prescribed something that would look more at home being shoved up the back passage of a sniper rifle never mind me own.