Bag Packers in Supermarkets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Another reason to choose Aldi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Last time I was in super value the cashier packed my bag.

I remember another time in Dunnes, every till was jammers except for a few and when I got to it I realized why, because those few tills had bag packers.

Irish people are funny, they would rather make up some elaborate story or queue for an extra 15 minutes to avoid looking stingy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

No problem with it myself. Gives young people something to do for an afternoon, conveniences elderly customers (or lazy ones i.e. me) and helps fund those brilliant 'internecine bogball feuds' that many people around the country enjoy being involved in. Seems win win to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Lifes hard enough without some 12year old giving me dirty looks for the 6pack and meal for 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

No problem with it myself either. I generally just throw them a bag and tell them it's for soft stuff, then I throw over the bakery products/bog roll as it comes. Fifty cent going to the local under-10s football team isn't going to break the bank and I'm not flush by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I usually do my shopping on a Thursday or Friday, that way I avoid them in my area anyway.

Most annoying are the guys that stand outside the shop representing some cancer organisation or the homeless. It is usually the same guy doing all and I doubt if one cent goes to the proper organisations.

One day he was collecting for lung cancer, my sister passed him on way into shop and gave €2,. When she came out he was sitting in a car smoking a cigarette. She went over to have words with him about the hypocrisy she then saw 2 or 3 different charity vests in the back seat. After a few words he gave her her money back. I think he hides now when he sees her coming!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

I wouldnt go out of my way to avoid them and I would always throw a few coppers in the bucket especially if theres kids doing it BUT.... in dunnes on saturday I had only my card.. didnt even have a euro for the trolley- the security guard gave me a trolley.. anyway, went to a till with no packers, suddenly a packer appears and asks if I want help ... I said no thanks, he said are you sure and I said thanks a million but Im grand. spotted a bucket there anyway, he went off and i said to myself that I'd look in my purse for even a couple of 1c coins...

The packer on the till beside me was doing someone elses shopping and he says to me loud as day.. 'you can still make a donation you know' ... i was so annoyed, its so rude! he was an adult and I was embarrassed as it was. So i found a 1c and 10c in my purse and threw it into his bucket... livid that I was spoken to like that where I choose to shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I've bag packed for a local animal charity a few times, because they really needed the money and all the money went on the animals needs not peoples salaries(everyone volunteered). Then Dunnes banned all bag packs by animal charities. I give to charities that benefit the local community not anyone elses community and I do find it annoying to see bag packs for non local groups.

As for packing, I always say I don't need any help but I'll drop some coins in the bucket/box. The worst experience I had doing bag packs was when I asked a woman if she would like me to pack her bags, she looked at me for a very long minute then said 'Alright,you look reasonably competent) I was 40 for Christ's sake:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Smidge wrote: »
    ...........on top of the bread
    on top of grapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I've bag packed for a local animal charity a few times, because they really needed the money and all the money went on the animals needs not peoples salaries(everyone volunteered). Then Dunnes banned all bag packs by animal charities. I give to charities that benefit the local community not anyone elses community and I do find it annoying to see bag packs for non local groups.

As for packing, I always say I don't need any help but I'll drop some coins in the bucket/box. The worst experience I had doing bag packs was when I asked a woman if she would like me to pack her bags, she looked at me for a very long minute then said 'Alright,you look reasonably competent) I was 40 for Christ's sake:mad:

I'd give to an animal charity alright.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    on top of grapes

This is turning out to be a really big bag of stuff. Hope it's sturdy enough for ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

I try my best to avoid paying them off by packing my own bags and getting out in self service or other queues. I have spoken to managers about this practice and some supermarkets allow only collections at the door rather than at each checkout but it is not as common as it once was.

That and charity muggers get up my nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Next time I see them I must buy some tissues, Vaseline and a magazine while just staring at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Then Dunnes banned all bag packs by animal charities.

That incident with the Jack Russell and the sausages huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Fishyfreak wrote: »
    Jaysus, just throw 50c in the tub yas pack of miserable [EMAIL="b@stards"]b@stards[/EMAIL].
    Surely the true miserable bastards are the parents of the kids who will not fork out the money for their kids trip or new jersey themselves.

Its not much different to people putting their kids out to beg on the street, I'd have more respect if they begged/packed themselves rather than trying to get more pity from people by making their own kids do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Next time I see them I must buy some tissues, Vaseline and a magazine while just staring at them.

Maybe you could dig up a few old copies of Mandy to throw in as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

MadsL wrote: »
    That incident with the Jack Russell and the sausages huh?

As far as I know it was a psycho in Galway who was refused an animal by a local animal charity. Said psycho is allegedly from a well to do business family and he took to protesting outside the supermarket where the charity was doing a bag pack. He made a lot of fuss and after that Dunnes banned all animal charities bag packing in all their stores.

So 1 wan*er gets his own way and every animal charity that desperately needed the funds raised from bag packs lost out. Hope he dies screaming.

I don't mind most charities collecting by bag packing, even though I never actually let them pack the bags. They'll always get whatever spare shillings I have.

I really really object to the Killbogger Village School Of Irish Dancing Camogie Sea Scouts getting in my space and making me feel guilty because I don't want to sponsor their yearly hike up Everest. You're not a charity, you're fund raising for non essentials off people who are struggling to make the essentials these days, and you're really annoying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

I say no thanks but I'll give you something anyway
    it does annoy me how they still stand at the till often in pairs leaving me
    no room to pack im claustrophobic at the best of times :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

sorry I carry cards only :)

WikiHow wrote: »
    I have changed my shopping experience to Tesco online with home delivery over this.

Seriously, you have changed your shopping habits because you might occasionally have to optionally put a few coppers in a collecting bucket. I always give something and give more if it is a favourite of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Armelodie wrote: »
    sorry I carry cards only :)

What if said gurrier produced a cell phone with the appropriate app? :)
    OK mister, just slide it down in here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

rubadub wrote: »
    Surely the true miserable bastards are the parents of the kids who will not fork out the money for their kids trip or new jersey themselves.

Its not much different to people putting their kids out to beg on the street, I'd have more respect if they begged/packed themselves rather than trying to get more pity from people by making their own kids do it.
    I'd be more inclined to give them money if they were out begging, holding buckets or something. The whole bag packing thing is attempted emotional blackmail, pure and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Vision of Disorder

TheDriver wrote: »
    Supporting my local club or school is one thing, but shopping in a supermarket, the last thing I like is being manipulated into supporting schools from other villages.

If you're not going to support your local shop by heading to a supermarket instead why would you even consider indignation at the non local teams or schools that operate there? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Wanted at the checkout: Self esteem classes for people who can't say "Nah you're grand thanks" to 11-year-olds. Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭sillyoulfool

Jebus, its just kids trying to make a few shillings for their club by doing something they think is useful.
    Would you prefer they were out mugging oul women because "we have nothing else to do"!:rolleyes:
    Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Jebus, its just kids trying to make a few shillings for their club by doing something they think is useful.
    Would you prefer they were out mugging oul women because "we have nothing else to do"!:rolleyes:
    Fair play to them.

I'd prefer to see them mug oul women as you call them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

mariaalice wrote: »
    Seriously, you have changed your shopping habits because you might occasionally have to optionally put a few coppers in a collecting bucket. I always give something and give more if it is a favourite of mine.

Alot of other factors too from trying to get parking when the shop is busy, having no euro coin for the trolley, having kids running around and hanging off trollies and driving everyone simple.
    People that stop talking and blocking up the isle and they only talking trash, having to talk trash then to someone you meet while shopping, queuing for ages at the till while the people in front search for exact change or sort out countless vouchers and coupons or trying to remember their pin, while talking about their new hair style to the cashier.
    Much easier to do it online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Fair play to them.
    Bull****, it's not useful and they know it. Why not organize a litter cleanup and have buckets around for donations? Go door to door mowing lawns? Bunches of stuff.