Bag Packers in Supermarkets

• 19-03-2014 12:21AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,215 ✭✭✭✭

So is it me or are they becoming more common. Every time I go into the supermarket, there is some primary school or a section of a GAA club from a village I have never driven through.

Supporting my local club or school is one thing, but shopping in a supermarket, the last thing I like is being manipulated into supporting schools from other villages.

I wonder do supermarkets feel under pressure to say yes to clubs etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I thought this was going to be a thread about "the old times when a cashier would put your shopping in a bag for you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

TheDriver wrote: »
    Supporting my local club or school is one thing, but shopping in a supermarket, the last thing I like is being manipulated into supporting schools from other village

So basically it's less about the inconvenience and more about internecine bogball feuds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭ArtyC

So is it me or are they becoming more common. Every time I go into the supermarket, there is some primary school or a section of a GAA club from a village I have never driven through.

Supporting my local club or school is one thing, but shopping in a supermarket, the last thing I like is being manipulated into supporting schools from other villages.

I wonder do supermarkets feel under pressure to say yes to clubs etc?

I always try to go to a til without a bag packer - say the basket til.....These days I've to tot up my shopping as I go because money is so tight. I feel like a right dick giving them nothing but I can't help it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Good way to get rid of coppers,otherwise let the parents pay for Fiacra's training gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

You should sneak over there and steal some delicious juicy lemons from their lemon tree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

There's no room for them at the express/10 items or less checkout in either of my local Dunnes or Supervalu. One of the younger managers takes particular joy out of kicking all the aul biddies with full trollies out of that lane and into one of the normal ones. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

If its a relatively decent cause I'll throw a few shecels in the tub.
    But I WONT let them pack my bags.

Bleach in with the tomatoes
    Firelighters in with cheese
    Raw meat in with cooked
    Every fecking time :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

not nearly as bad as chuggers, and they dont mind if you have no change. Ill give some coins depending on what its for and if Im not broke that week. I wouldnt pay for some school trip where the students go overseas to 'help' poor people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,215 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Smidge wrote: »
    If its a relatively decent cause I'll throw a few shecels in the tub.
    But I WONT let them pack my bags.

Bleach in with the tomatoes
    Firelighters in with cheese
    Raw meat in with cooked
    Every fecking time :mad:

and spuds on top of the eggs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Have not seen them in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I have changed my shopping experience to Tesco online with home delivery over this.

...........on top of the bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,371 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Most annoying things ever! I swear they've never packed a bag in their lives! ALL OF THEM!

What we need to do is organise a national bag pack to raise funds to organise a training course to teach bag packers how to pack bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

I just politely say no thanks & pack my own bags but always throw some coppers in the bucket as long as its for a sports club but see the dance clubs.....grrrrrrrrr............

( i know im weird )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Wait til the 1c and 2c coins go out of circulation and pour bags of them into their collection box on your way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I just go to a till without them if there isnt a self service place. Why is it they are terrible at packing a bag? Its like playing for the local gaelic team and constantly trying to the the ball into your own goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Hate them I'm a student and I can't afford to eat decent food sometimes and I don't see why I should be guilted into paying for the coach's ticket to Chelsea while the kids parents pay for everything else
    WikiHow wrote: »
    I have changed my shopping experience to Tesco online with home delivery over this.

I just use the self service worst place is Dunnes as I can't avoid them (no self service)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

I usually call them spongers and tell the to fcuk off.

I find that works quite well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Have never encountered it myself but gaa door to door ticket sellers is very common, even if the club is from miles away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I did it at Dunnes for the local club when I was 11 or 12, it was probably the worst two hours I've ever put down. Except for the sound lady who gave me a KitKat out of a multi-pack, she made it all seem worth while :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

It's usually the local soccer club wanting money for a tournament in Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I usually call them spongers and tell the to fcuk off.

I find that works quite well.

cough (b**ls**t) cough.......

no sorry I believe you ..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Let them pack the bags, pay for your shopping on the debit card. Then say "I've no cash lads, do ye take card?"

I always pay by card, so this has actually happened to me, I never carry coins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

Jaysus, just throw 50c in the tub yas pack of miserable [EMAIL="b@stards"]b@stards[/EMAIL].

If your shopping is substantial enough to warrant a bag packing i'm sure you had no idea how much it was going to cost (give or take 10/20 euro) before you even got to the till. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

That was going to be one of mine. Lets not forget washing powder in with your tiger loaf. It both crushed the bread and leaves a fresh floral scent. Shame the taste is wooful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Jaysus, just pack your bags yourself!
    Most should ask if you want your bags packed anyway. A polite 'no, you're grand' will do!
    Probably getting an increase in them now with the summer coming up, as Fiacra and Sneachta want to head on a sponsored walk across the Great Wall of China. Fair play lads... great use of funds that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Fishyfreak wrote: »
    Jaysus, just throw 50c in the tub yas pack of miserable b@stards.

If your shopping is substantial enough to warrant a bag packing i'm sure you had no idea how much it was going to cost (give or take 10/20 euro) before you even got to the till. :rolleyes:

Not really the point though. Its the method they employ, same as chuggers. Put you on the spot and pressure you into giving them something. Now, if they want to take my list and do my shopping for me thats fine but I will not be pressured into parting with any money regardless of who is standing there in my way. I ignore them so they have to stand with one arm as long as the other. Their own fault for being there. Now feck off ye little spongers. Buy your own fuucking hockey sticks. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭looksee

One of my hates, and I try to avoid them, but I will throw a few bob into the bin, even though I tell them no thanks for the packing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Great way to get rid of old ****e coins from Egypt or Turkey etc