Cock Blocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

What exactly does a cockblocker do - trap a girl in the corner for the rest of the night? :confused:

AFAIK a cockblocker is a girl who doesn't want her "bff" to receive said cock through many means
    I.e
    "Will you come to the toilet with me?"
    "I need to get sick"
    "I'm not feeling well, can we get a taxi?"

Happens when a fella is trying a girl and the cockblocker doesn't want to be left alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

It's not really a juvenile term, and it does genuinely happen. I was out before and a lad who was sort of a friend did everything in his power to prevent me from hooking up with this girl. It was so obvious. I don't understand it, why bother? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Pug160 wrote: »
    That's extremely immature. How old were they? I don't usually see guys who are as clueless as that. Honestly, if anybody has friends who belittle you in any way, ditch them. Going out on your own is a better option than having lousy friends.
    Well they arent really friends more like associates, they were like 25-28 so cant use youth as an excuse. Like the lads I generally drink with wouldnt cock block its a big no no in our group. Its just I was bored and looked around to see a load off lads doing it to each other all over the place
    It's not really a juvenile term, and it does genuinely happen. I was out before and a lad who was sort of a friend did everything in his power to prevent me from hooking up with this girl. It was so obvious. I don't understand it, why bother? :confused:
    Ah this should be clear, well I think it is anyways, the guy is into but cant build up the courage to make the moves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I'm not sure you know what a so called 'cock blocker' supposedly is.

To me, I think it's the same juvenile bollocks as having a 'wingman' and grading people out of ten.

Pffft....says the 4/10.

I know for a fact he wasn't into her.
    Oh well then hes just a dick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Pug160 wrote: »
    I haven't experienced too much of it with other men - usually just the mother hen female friend of the girl. I can understand it with the female friends, but if guys are doing that they need to focus on their own nights out and stop being killjoys. If you have any male friends who behave that way, ditch them, because they're not really friends if they're carrying on like that.

You get those alright. Especially if there's a hen night going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

A cock blocker is the guy you blame when you is fugly don't get the ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

If a girl/guy likes you, you will know about it one way or another. Cock blocking is a excuse for fellas/chicas who can't face the fact that the girl/guy preferred your mate over you.

Not always though. There are always begrudgers around the place. Then there are the unfortunate sad'ohz who will spend the night telling some girl what a saddle sniffer another fella is letting on he is such a salt of the earth man of values and integrity for warning her about this person while himself is the biggest saddle sniffer of all.

Anyone who starts bad mouthing someone they pretend to be friends with to someone they hardly know is bad news themselves

Not always though. There are always begrudgers around the place. Then there are the unfortunate sad'ohz who will spend the night telling some girl what a saddle sniffer another fella is letting on he is such a salt of the earth man of values and integrity for warning her about this person while himself is the biggest saddle sniffer of all.

Anyone who starts bad mouthing someone they pretend to be friends with to someone they hardly know is bad news themselves

This is something that happens a lot among friends? I can't imagine. Surely if the girl or guy is not going to suddenly start fancying the guy who bitches about his/her mate? I'd presume they didn't fancy the original friend in the first place if they were so easily dissuaded. If I fancy a man, I fancy a man and fcuk all is going to stop that.

I dont think its as direct as that. Tis just for want of being seen as the sound man around the place hoping that will get them places or just to have something to talk about

Maybe this is just you, Ive seen loads off guys/gals not get together because off stupid reasons, like if your talking to a guy and his friends came up hitting on you and taking the piss out of there friend, your saying you wouldnt be overwhelmed and leave the group off them

astonaidan wrote: »
    Maybe this is just you, Ive seen loads off guys/gals not get together because off stupid reasons, like if your talking to a guy and his friends came up hitting on you and taking the piss out of there friend, your saying you wouldnt be overwhelmed and leave the group off them

We're talking about multiple friends now and not just one guy? Very strange behaviour. I'd presume they were all mad.

If I'm talking to a guy and his mates came over and started taking the piss and supposedly hitting on me, I'd presume they were just doing what lads do on a night out (take the piss, have a laugh or whatever). It happens. I'd still fancy the original fella if I did in the first place. I wouldn't suspect anything more sinister is going on as they're supposedly friends. I suppose I don't tend to talk to fellas with atrocious taste in mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭kiffer

No... you're missing the point.
    They're not trying get the girl, they're stopping the first guy from getting anywhere.

Sure if you have already gotten to the point where you fancy the guy you might decide the cockblocker can feck off but at the mildly interested stage have you never been talking to someone and have something happen that just turned you right off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

We're talking about multiple friends now and not just one guy? Very strange behaviour. I'd presume they were all mad.

If I'm talking to a guy and his mates came over and started taking the piss and supposedly hitting on me, I'd presume they were just doing what lads do on a night out (take the piss, have a laugh or whatever). It happens. I'd still fancy the original fella if I did in the first place. I wouldn't suspect anything more sinister is going on as they're supposedly friends. I suppose I don't tend to talk to fellas with atrocious taste in mates.

I enjoy your posts. They always make a lot of sense. :)

On topic - cockblocking is a heap of juvenile bollocks. No 'friend' would prevent you from getting the ride. Someone who isn't actually a friend might. That said, you're a dick if you go out with one mate and try to ditch them to shag off with some girl/guy. Who the fcuk leaves their friend on their own just to get a shag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Rhotheta

Cockblocking definitely happens, often it's done by the jealous friend who can't handle the fact his friend will be getting laid and he won't.

I enjoy your posts. They always make a lot of sense. :)

On topic - cockblocking is a heap of juvenile bollocks. No 'friend' would prevent you from getting the ride. Someone who isn't actually a friend might. That said, you're a dick if you go out with one mate and try to ditch them to shag off with some girl/guy. Who the fcuk leaves their friend on their own just to get a shag?

Woah steady on there, we're talking about leaving agrown adult on their own, not a 6 week old baby.

No... you're missing the point.
    They're not trying get the girl, they're stopping the first guy from getting anywhere.

I suppose I've never been attracted to fellas who had "friends" who would do that.
    Sure if you have already gotten to the point where you fancy the guy you might decide the cockblocker can feck off but at the mildly interested stage have you never been talking to someone and have something happen that just turned you right off?

Maybe. I've never experienced this before tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Rhotheta wrote: »
    Woah steady on there, we're talking about leaving agrown adult on their own, not a 6 week old baby.

I'd find it pretty damb rude for a friend I'd planned to go out for the night with to ditch me for a bloke. Most of my friends feel the same. So we head out in 3s, so the single one can go do what she likes.

Walking out on someone you went out with is rude, simple as.

I'd find it pretty damb rude for a friend I'd planned to go out for the night with to ditch me for a bloke. Most of my friends feel the same. So we head out in 3s, so the single one can go do what she likes.

Walking out on someone you went out with is rude, simple as.

It depends on the circumstances, like how near the end of the night it is. Ditching your friend right after you enter a pub is obviously rude.

Im guessing youve never been part off the small town system where lads out number the girls by crazy amount and have the motto if Im not going to get her no one else is.
    Cause its a staple off a small town night out.
    For example, If I went up to a girl in my home town I could time before another local lad came up and started talking to her beside me and it would be less than 2 mins. He would try every trick to get her which would start with putting me down, now for me it doesnt work cause well it might be sexist but I will just laugh along for a minute and take the girls hand and walk somewhere quiet. I think my favourite attempt at a guy to get with a girl was him walking up to us saying hello to me then to her "So when are we having sex"
    But there is so many lads Ive seen getting on really well with a girl then get totally forced out off a conversation by a louder person, who was never getting the girl but decided to chance his arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭kiffer

I suppose I've never been attracted to fellas who had "friends" who would do that.
    Well, there you go then... you're chatting to a lad, he seems alright, his friend comes over and does something like this and then you realise that you don't fancy people with friends like that and away you go! ;)
    But seriously, yeah few if any of my friends would do it deliberately though there are people on the edges of my social circle that would, perhaps they think it's funny?
    Then sometimes it's just an accident.
    And of course maybe often it's more about just being a blow to the chaps confidence.
    Maybe. I've never experienced this before tbh.

Well then... it must not exist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Im guessing youve never been part off the small town system where lads out number the girls by crazy amount and have the motto if Im not going to get her no one else is.
    For example, If I went up to a girl in my home town I could time before another local lad came up and started talking to her beside me and it would be less than 2 mins. He would try every trick to get her which would start with putting me down, now for me it doesnt work cause well it might be sexist but I will just laugh along for a minute and take the girls hand and walk somewhere quiet. I think my favourite attempt at a guy to get with a girl was him walking up to us saying hello to me then to her "So when are we having sex"
    But there is so many lads Ive seen getting on really well with a girl then get totally forced out off a conversation by a louder person, who was never getting the girl but decided to chance his arm.
    So how do you define getting the girl? Asking for a date and being accepted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

see i'm getting on now married kids dog ect ......but if that cock blocking **** was tried on with me I would probably just get into my time machine where I could fly back to the 90's and then just knock said cock blocker/s out with my forehead..... but that just isn't allowed anymore.

Making a guy self concious by carpet bombing him with insults disguised as banter is another tactic cockblocks deploy. The guy loses his mojo and the girl loses interest in him.

So how do you define getting the girl? Asking for a date and being accepted?
    Getting the kiss, going back to hers/his, date anything along those lines
    Rhotheta wrote: »
    Making a guy self concious by carpet bombing him with insults disguised as banter is another tactic cockblocks deploy. The guy loses his mojo and the girl loses interest in him.
    This is exactly what I meant to say, but went about it the long way :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I'm not sure you know what a so called 'cock blocker' supposedly is.

To me, I think it's the same juvenile bollocks as having a 'wingman' and grading people out of ten.
    Can we add "friendzone" to that list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

If the bouncer says at the nightclub door:

"I'm sorry, sir, you're grand but that cock can't come in here tonight. He's clearly had enough."

Is that cock blocking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

It's really not. The guy I'm talking about made out I was drunk and then pulled the girl away to talk with her, and she wasn't into to him at all. Nothing happened between them. This genuinely does happen. Some people are twisted ****s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

It's really not. The guy I'm talking about made out I was drunk and then pulled the girl away to talk with her, and she wasn't into to him at all. Nothing happened between them. This genuinely does happen. Some people are twisted ****s.

He's not your friend then VC...

I'd drop him from my social circle if I were you.

That's snaking