Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cock Blocking

• 17-03-2014 7:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭

So lads is it just me or do people take a extreme amount off pride in cockblocking, I noticed it everywhere I looked last night in the town.
    Seems sort off a If I cant get her, Ill make sure no other lad gets her either
    They do it to there own friends and think its great :eek::eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

So Sydney is 'Town' now.

GTFO :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

It's the worst thing you can do, and should only be done to your enemies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm not sure you know what a so called 'cock blocker' supposedly is.

To me, I think it's the same juvenile bollocks as having a 'wingman' and grading people out of ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Cock blocking?

What's this now?

What do you do to stop your mate getting a girl that's turned you down :confused:

(I've visions of a dismembered penis gaffer taped across a lady's private part tbh)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

(I've visions of a dismembered penis gaffer taped across a lady's private part tbh)

Boy have we got the pornsite for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Nobody can define cock blocking. Is the guy who comes and also talks to the girl trying to be a wingman, a cock blocker, or trying to get the girl.

Who knows. It's a convienient excuse though - I wudda got away with her too if it weren't for that pesky kid. Well probably you wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

What exactly does a cockblocker do - trap a girl in the corner for the rest of the night? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Apparently the female equivalent is called 'Clam Jam'.
    For some reason the image of a toasted cheese sandwich pops into my head...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyvegas22

I Have one friend who always does this, he would always try sneak in there when i go to the jacks or to the bar. just really gets under my skin, any bird i ever go after he try;s it on to no matter what she looks like. The chap is small so i think its a confidence thing and he wants to be the best. one of my other mates is a clock block to, he is a really shy lad and when a girl dosent magically appear to talk to him he wants to leave the night club or pub because its "****e"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Apparently the female equivalent is called 'Clam Jam'.
    For some reason the image of a toasted cheese sandwich pops into my head...
    Chlamydia is the first thing pops into mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

A buttplug is the ultimate cockblocker really.

I knew I'd regret reading this thread. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

This happened to me a few times and the restraint I showed to the blocker by not shoving a ****in glass down there neck is a testament to my moral character,

Make no mistake these people are lower than a slugs bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

What exactly does a cockblocker do - trap a girl in the corner for the rest of the night? :confused:

Two lads with cocks out in an 'X' formation like guards keeping a castle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Two lads with cocks out in an 'X' formation like guards keeping a castle.
    Is the owner of the bigger one the winner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Well I didn't invent the game but who ever keeps it up the longest would be the winner I imagine. Going down a dark path here... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

I haven't experienced too much of it with other men - usually just the mother hen female friend of the girl. I can understand it with the female friends, but if guys are doing that they need to focus on their own nights out and stop being killjoys. If you have any male friends who behave that way, ditch them, because they're not really friends if they're carrying on like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

To me, I think it's the same juvenile bollocks as having a 'wingman' and grading people out of ten.

Preventing your friend from scoring. For example, if your friend is chatting up a girl and your just awkwardly hanging around. In that situation it's your duty to either find someone else to talk to or go home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Mike747 wrote: »
    Preventing your friend from scoring. For example, if your friend is chatting up a girl and your just awkwardly hanging around. In that situation it's your duty to either find someone else to talk to or go home.

Or tell her you used to beat your wife as soon as he gets a chance.

Pug160 wrote: »
    I haven't experienced too much of it with other men - usually just the mother hen female friend of the girl. I can understand it with the female friends, but if guys are doing that they need to focus on their own nights out and stop being killjoys. If you have any male friends who behave that way, ditch them, because they're not really friends if they're carrying on like that.

Ha yeah the mother hen. And they usually act that way out of jealousy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Nobody can define cock blocking. Is the guy who comes and also talks to the girl trying to be a wingman, a cock blocker, or trying to get the girl.

Who knows. It's a convienient excuse though - I wudda got away with her too if it weren't for that pesky kid. Well probably you wouldn't.

It's hard to define... I would in general avoid words like wingman and grenade, and things like rating people out of ten... but cockblocking, yeah that's a thing, be it intentional or unintentional everything was going great until your "friend" came over and just got in the way.

Sure chances are that it was going no where, but now you'll never know and all because someone came over and killed the mood.

Think of the interview scene from the Full Monty... with the gnomes. Your man may well have gotten the job if the others hadn't done what they did.
    Imagine that but while you're chatting with some nice new person, every thing is going well and *boom!* it's all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

For me its guys cockblocking each other that I dont get, sat beside a group off four lads talking to one girl all trying to be louder than each other and just putting down the other one, random nonsense calling other lads "tiny" laughing at what the other was wearing etc. They tried to get me involved I just ignored them, like they are sound lads but put a girl and drink there and they change.
    I just dont get it, if a lad has got talking to a girl and gone off to a quiet corner you shouldnt go up and join them, its just wrong
    Girls cockblocking each other, I havent actually witnessed really besides when the girl is twisted drunk, probably could be there is a 10 guys to 1 girl ratio where I go

Oh it happens all the time in one form or another. The term itself is obviously rather childish and crude, but that doesn't make it any less real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Have to say a couple of yards of chicken wire is great for blocking cocks and other sorts of poultry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

You think you had a bad cockblock?

I was out on Saturday in celebration to Ireland winning the Six Nations so I went to the nearest village to me. Found a 8/10 beour and went to her house where she was having a party. All grand and things were getting hot so we moved into the bedroom. All fine, both of us were naked and then I pulled out my wallet to get my condom. It wasn't there. Instead in its place, there was a packet of chicken powder from PotNoodles.

I was cockblocked by fúcking Pot Noodles.

You'd swear girls are obliged to have sex with the last person to speak to them, hence the jostling to get in line.

astonaidan wrote: »
    For me its guys cockblocking each other that I dont get, sat beside a group off four lads talking to one girl all trying to be louder than each other and just putting down the other one, random nonsense calling other lads "tiny" laughing at what the other was wearing etc. They tried to get me involved I just ignored them, like they are sound lads but put a girl and drink there and they change.
    I just dont get it, if a lad has got talking to a girl and gone off to a quiet corner you shouldnt go up and join them, its just wrong
    Girls cockblocking each other, I havent actually witnessed really besides when the girl is twisted drunk, probably could be there is a 10 guys to 1 girl ratio where I go

I hate being in that situation. You don't want to compete with the other guys but at the same time you can't just sit there like a retard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    A buttplug is the ultimate cockblocker really.

Could be seen as a challenge for some

Candie wrote: »
    You'd swear girls are obliged to have sex with the last person to speak to them, hence the jostling to get in line.

Who said anything about obligation?

That's extremely immature. How old were they? I don't usually see guys who are as clueless as that. Honestly, if anybody has friends who belittle you in any way, ditch them. Going out on your own is a better option than having lousy friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

AFAIK a cockblocker is a girl who doesn't want her "bff" to receive said cock through many means
    I.e
    "Will you come to the toilet with me?"
    "I need to get sick"
    "I'm not feeling well, can we get a taxi?"

Happens when a fella is trying a girl and the cockblocker doesn't want to be left alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

It's not really a juvenile term, and it does genuinely happen. I was out before and a lad who was sort of a friend did everything in his power to prevent me from hooking up with this girl. It was so obvious. I don't understand it, why bother? :confused:

That's extremely immature. How old were they? I don't usually see guys who are as clueless as that. Honestly, if anybody has friends who belittle you in any way, ditch them. Going out on your own is a better option than having lousy friends.
    Well they arent really friends more like associates, they were like 25-28 so cant use youth as an excuse. Like the lads I generally drink with wouldnt cock block its a big no no in our group. Its just I was bored and looked around to see a load off lads doing it to each other all over the place
    It's not really a juvenile term, and it does genuinely happen. I was out before and a lad who was sort of a friend did everything in his power to prevent me from hooking up with this girl. It was so obvious. I don't understand it, why bother? :confused:
    Ah this should be clear, well I think it is anyways, the guy is into but cant build up the courage to make the moves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Pffft....says the 4/10.

I know for a fact he wasn't into her.
    Oh well then hes just a dick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

You get those alright. Especially if there's a hen night going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

A cock blocker is the guy you blame when you is fugly don't get the ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

If a girl/guy likes you, you will know about it one way or another. Cock blocking is a excuse for fellas/chicas who can't face the fact that the girl/guy preferred your mate over you.

Not always though. There are always begrudgers around the place. Then there are the unfortunate sad'ohz who will spend the night telling some girl what a saddle sniffer another fella is letting on he is such a salt of the earth man of values and integrity for warning her about this person while himself is the biggest saddle sniffer of all.

Anyone who starts bad mouthing someone they pretend to be friends with to someone they hardly know is bad news themselves

Not always though. There are always begrudgers around the place. Then there are the unfortunate sad'ohz who will spend the night telling some girl what a saddle sniffer another fella is letting on he is such a salt of the earth man of values and integrity for warning her about this person while himself is the biggest saddle sniffer of all.

Anyone who starts bad mouthing someone they pretend to be friends with to someone they hardly know is bad news themselves

This is something that happens a lot among friends? I can't imagine. Surely if the girl or guy is not going to suddenly start fancying the guy who bitches about his/her mate? I'd presume they didn't fancy the original friend in the first place if they were so easily dissuaded. If I fancy a man, I fancy a man and fcuk all is going to stop that.

I dont think its as direct as that. Tis just for want of being seen as the sound man around the place hoping that will get them places or just to have something to talk about

Maybe this is just you, Ive seen loads off guys/gals not get together because off stupid reasons, like if your talking to a guy and his friends came up hitting on you and taking the piss out of there friend, your saying you wouldnt be overwhelmed and leave the group off them

We're talking about multiple friends now and not just one guy? Very strange behaviour. I'd presume they were all mad.

If I'm talking to a guy and his mates came over and started taking the piss and supposedly hitting on me, I'd presume they were just doing what lads do on a night out (take the piss, have a laugh or whatever). It happens. I'd still fancy the original fella if I did in the first place. I wouldn't suspect anything more sinister is going on as they're supposedly friends. I suppose I don't tend to talk to fellas with atrocious taste in mates.

No... you're missing the point.
    They're not trying get the girl, they're stopping the first guy from getting anywhere.

Sure if you have already gotten to the point where you fancy the guy you might decide the cockblocker can feck off but at the mildly interested stage have you never been talking to someone and have something happen that just turned you right off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

We're talking about multiple friends now and not just one guy? Very strange behaviour. I'd presume they were all mad.

If I'm talking to a guy and his mates came over and started taking the piss and supposedly hitting on me, I'd presume they were just doing what lads do on a night out (take the piss, have a laugh or whatever). It happens. I'd still fancy the original fella if I did in the first place. I wouldn't suspect anything more sinister is going on as they're supposedly friends. I suppose I don't tend to talk to fellas with atrocious taste in mates.

I enjoy your posts. They always make a lot of sense. :)

On topic - cockblocking is a heap of juvenile bollocks. No 'friend' would prevent you from getting the ride. Someone who isn't actually a friend might. That said, you're a dick if you go out with one mate and try to ditch them to shag off with some girl/guy. Who the fcuk leaves their friend on their own just to get a shag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Rhotheta

Cockblocking definitely happens, often it's done by the jealous friend who can't handle the fact his friend will be getting laid and he won't.

I enjoy your posts. They always make a lot of sense. :)

On topic - cockblocking is a heap of juvenile bollocks. No 'friend' would prevent you from getting the ride. Someone who isn't actually a friend might. That said, you're a dick if you go out with one mate and try to ditch them to shag off with some girl/guy. Who the fcuk leaves their friend on their own just to get a shag?

Woah steady on there, we're talking about leaving agrown adult on their own, not a 6 week old baby.

No... you're missing the point.
    They're not trying get the girl, they're stopping the first guy from getting anywhere.

I suppose I've never been attracted to fellas who had "friends" who would do that.
    Sure if you have already gotten to the point where you fancy the guy you might decide the cockblocker can feck off but at the mildly interested stage have you never been talking to someone and have something happen that just turned you right off?

Maybe. I've never experienced this before tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Rhotheta wrote: »
    Woah steady on there, we're talking about leaving agrown adult on their own, not a 6 week old baby.

I'd find it pretty damb rude for a friend I'd planned to go out for the night with to ditch me for a bloke. Most of my friends feel the same. So we head out in 3s, so the single one can go do what she likes.

Walking out on someone you went out with is rude, simple as.

I'd find it pretty damb rude for a friend I'd planned to go out for the night with to ditch me for a bloke. Most of my friends feel the same. So we head out in 3s, so the single one can go do what she likes.

Walking out on someone you went out with is rude, simple as.

It depends on the circumstances, like how near the end of the night it is. Ditching your friend right after you enter a pub is obviously rude.