You had one simple little job to do.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Quick! Somebody please start a thread!

Obviously another poor victim dragged kicking and screaming to the internet and being forced to read threads on Boards against their will.

FFS. It's a discussion forum, and with over 60 comments the topic is obviously being discussed.

Whats your problem with that?
    despot wrote: »
    Proud to say I wouldn't have blinked if I'd walked past that.

You could have made me stare at it for an hour and asked me what was wrong with the Irish flag and I wouldn't have known.

Jesus who gives a f*ck.

I don't know which is sadder. The fact that you happily admit to being stupid or the fact that you're openly proud of it.
    COYW wrote: »
    Very proud to say that I couldn't care less

What people are missing here is the bigger picture. This has less to do with flags and more to do with our acceptance of a shoddy job badly done. Would you be happy to pay someone to do a job if they didn't do it right. It seems the old 'shur it'll be grand' and 'it'll do' attitude to everything still prevails here.

COYW wrote: »
    and like 99% of the general population, I wouldn't have noticed that mistake.

I really don't believe 99% of the Irish people are that stupid. Although it seems some of them are quite happy to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

efb wrote: »
    We are in Crisis!!!!

Nah it's just a clever little trick we have. We pretend to be the Cote D'Ivoire until the nasty thing goes away :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Some of the attitudes on this thread are really pathetic. It's our NATIONAL flag. Just because we're not one of those countries where everyone has one outside their house, people should know the basics about it. It's green, white and orange, not orange, white and green. The green is always at the flagpole, or on the left. It should only be flown within the hours of daylight, it should never touch the ground, it should never be written on, or used as a decoration (i.e. thrown across a table). It should no longer be used when it gets tattered or faded. The only time it should be draped is over a coffin, again with the green at the head of the coffin.

I teach ten year old girls this stuff, and they get it. It's about RESPECT for our country and national identity.

Ireland abu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

despot wrote:
    Proud to say I wouldn't have blinked if I'd walked past that.

You could have made me stare at it for an hour and asked me what was wrong with the Irish flag and I wouldn't have known
    COYW wrote:
    Very proud to say that I couldn't care less and like 99% of the general population, I wouldn't have noticed that mistake
    Do you often have trouble telling when simple simple shapes or patterns are upside-down? Do you find it vexing when your tea runs off the base of your upside-down mug? Does reading a book the wrong way up give you a headache? Do you press the down arrow on a lift when you want to go up? Are you easily confused by anything that doesn't have a 'this way up' arrow on it?

I have to admit that I'm baffled by people who are 'proud' of not knowing the colours of the Irish flag and the order in which they follow. It's not difficult, lads.

Mind you, it's far more worrying that the flag in question is missing a Guinness harp (or other sponsor logo) from its centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Some of the attitudes on this thread are really pathetic. It's our NATIONAL flag. Just because we're not one of those countries where everyone has one outside their house, people should know the basics about it. It's green, white and orange, not orange, white and green. The green is always at the flagpole, or on the left. It should only be flown within the hours of daylight, it should never touch the ground, it should never be written on, or used as a decoration (i.e. thrown across a table). It should no longer be used when it gets tattered or faded. The only time it should be draped is over a coffin, again with the green at the head of the coffin.

I teach ten year old girls this stuff, and they get it. It's about RESPECT for our country and national identity.

Ireland abu.

Finally someone who actually knows how to treat our flag thank god. Of course people say your an IRA nut if you hang our flag outside of sporting events and paddys day. The lack of pride in this country it awful, you may not care about the flag but I'm sure some where in its history your family cared enough to fight and die for what it represents. You don't need to be proud or care just don't insult it.
    Love the way religion is getting a doing, I'm not particularly religious but I'd never poke fun or insult anyone who is. Why would I noting can be achieved by it plus I believe a forum already exists for atheism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

Lapin wrote: »
    Westin Hotel Dublin flies the flag for St Patrick's day....

1012928_10152273121803470_917491623_n.jpg

Arseways.

We're fly our (Italian) flag the wrong way in the 90% of cases.
    The bad thing is that there's no another flag in the world with the reversed colours, so it's a case of total ignorance!
    See the attached photo taken on a national holiday.
    Only one flag is shown the right way (bottom left), all the others are the wrong way. The largest one top of picture is proudly (largely) proving the ignorance of the owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Ireland abu.

If it was being burned or tarnished with intent to show disrespect then I may be inclined to give a shít. But hung the wrong way round despite pretty much everyone with an ounce of cop on seeing it as an Irish flag simply hung the wrong way round (if they even notice) I'm not inclined to get worked up about. Same as it being draped over a table or left up at night or whatever other old bullshít there is about how to deal with a flag.

Its a piece of fcukin coloured cloth sold in pound shops at the end of the day and if I was stuck I'd wipe my fcukin arse with it and it would mean exactly fcuk all in relation to how much I respect Ireland or the national identity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

You can be damn sure if their Westin flag or the Stars n Stripes were hung the wrong way around or upside down someone somewhere would be getting an earbashing. And they would be very quick to sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Its a piece of fcukin coloured cloth sold in pound shops at the end of the day and if I was stuck I'd wipe my fcukin arse with it and it would mean exactly fcuk all in relation to how much I respect Ireland or the national identity...

I find that terribly sad.

If it was being burned or tarnished with intent to show disrespect then I may be inclined to give a shít...

...if I was stuck I'd wipe my fcukin arse with it and it would mean exactly fcuk all in relation to how much I respect Ireland or the national identity...
    What a strange person.

You acknowledge that it could well be a problem if people set out to disrespect the flag (implicitly accepting that it has some symbolic value and isn't just "a piece of fcukin coloured cloth") and then admit that you wouldn't a problem defecating on it. What are we to make of that? Are you confused or is it just okay when you do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

We're fly our (Italian) flag the wrong way in the 90% of cases.
    The bad thing is that there's no another flag in the world with the reversed colours, so it's a case of total ignorance!
    See the attached photo taken on a national holiday.
    Only one flag is shown the right way (bottom left), all the others are the wrong way. The largest one top of picture is proudly (largely) proving the ignorance of the owner.

Ever occur to you that the people who put up those flags were looking at them from inside the apartments and as such, the colours would have appeared to be correctly positioned?

Only the guy on the bottom right actually looked at it from the onlooker's point of view, - or he didn't know the difference....

Reekwind wrote: »
    What a strange person.

You acknowledge that it could well be a problem if people set out to disrespect the flag (implicitly accepting that it has some symbolic value and isn't just "a piece of fcukin coloured cloth") and then admit that you wouldn't a problem defecating on it. What are we to make of that? Are you confused or is it just okay when you do it?

Seems your struggling with pretty basic stuff here. Let me help you.

I may have a problem with intentional disrespecting something.

I don't have a problem with not intentionally disrespecting something.

I wouldnt class that as that strange or confusing tbh.

Seems your struggling with pretty basic stuff here. Let me help you.

I may have a problem with intentional disrespecting something.

I don't have a problem with not intentionally disrespecting something.

I wouldnt class that as that strange or confusing tbh.

Which part of wiping your hole on something is "not intentional"

Do you often wipe your hole with say, your bath towel, non intentionally of course, and in that case, is it all ok then?

You telling me if you were stuck and you had a small Irish flag in your pocket and nothing else you'd fold, kiss and solute the flag then walk home without wiping your arse ?

Do you often wipe your hole with say, your bath towel, non intentionally of course, and in that case, is it all on then?

Just because the wiping is intentional doesnt mean the disrespect is. If I was stuck that flag would become toilet paper and it would mean nothing in relation to disrespecting the national identity.

So when someone defecates on the flag to make, say, a political point, you disagree. When someone defecates on the flag because they've run out of toilet paper, it's fine. Crystal clear.

So at what point does the flag lose its symbolic value and become "a piece of fcukin coloured cloth"? When they find the empty toilet roll holder? When you yourself decide that it doesn't have any value? You can see where I'm coming from here, I'm sure.

Do you often wipe your hole with say, your bath towel, non intentionally of course, and in that case, is it all ok then?
    That regularly happens to me. I've stopped hanging up pictures of the family in the toilets for exactly that reason.

Reekwind wrote: »
    So when someone defecates on the flag to make, say, a political point, you disagree. When someone defecates on the flag because they've run out of toilet paper, it's fine. Crystal clear.

Well I wouldn't be defecating on the flag, I'm be using it to wipe my arse.
    So at what point does the flag lose its symbolic value and become "a piece of fcukin coloured cloth"? When they find the empty toilet roll holder? When you yourself decide that it doesn't have any value? You can see where I'm coming from here, I'm sure.

It only has whatever symbolic value someone wants to give it. As soon as the need arises its value as toilet paper is greater than its value as a symbol of the national identity.

I can see where your coming from but I think your looking for something to be upset about, which is why you say defecating on the flag. There's gonna be many flags in bins after Paddy's day. Their use is no longer required so they become rubbish instead of flags. Is that disrespectful of our national identity or simply disposing of pieces of coloured cloth ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Seriously I'm more annoyed over the fact the American bands that were in the parade had more energy, more spirit, more smiling faces and more likeability than our own Irish participants.

What is it about Irish people that they're too embarrassed or too inhibited to show enthusiasm for anything for fear of looking "like a spa".

You telling me if you were stuck and you had a small Irish flag in your pocket and nothing else you'd fold, kiss and solute the flag then walk home without wiping your arse ?

What? Nobody ever leaves the house without a small Irish flag in their pocket just in case they happen to find themselves in such a predicament. Would ya feck off outa that and stop digging.

I'm not digging at all. I'm stating that if I had to I'd use a flag as toilet paper and it would mean nothing in relation to showing disrespect to Ireland or the national identity.

Which makes my point that a flag is simply coloured cloth and any perceived disrespect from the mistreatment of it is just an eagerness to get offended.

This thread has put me off my lunch :-(

I'm sorry about the toilet humour :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

Ever occur to you that the people who put up those flags were looking at them from inside the apartments and as such, the colours would have appeared to be correctly positioned?

Yes, this is the usual excuse they use when you point it out to them :D
    My opinion is that the flag must be seen from the street not form the inside ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,169 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Only the guy on the bottom right actually looked at it from the onlooker's point of view, - or he didn't know the difference....

They cant use that as an excuse, it is impossible to hang an Irish flag that way. The white strip with the loops for holding up the flag is on the orange side. An Irish flag would only have them on the green side.

They either dont have an Irish flag but somehow have an Ivorian one, or bought an Ivorian one thinking it was Irish and were too lazy to get a proper Irish one so used it anyway.

It's a trivial small point. But that's the entire point of flags really. Flags are nothing but order, colour, small details etc. If a flag meant the same thing no matter what changes you made, it wouldnt be a flag.

Flag flag flag....sounds strange to say now.

They cant use that as an excuse, it is impossible to hang an Irish flag that way. The white strip with the loops for holding up the flag is on the orange side. An Irish flag would only have them on the green side.

They either dont have an Irish flag but somehow have an Ivorian one, or bought an Ivorian one thinking it was Irish and were too lazy to get a proper Irish one so used it anyway.

It's a trivial small point. But that's the entire point of flags really. Flags are nothing but order, colour, small details etc. If a flag meant the same thing no matter what changes you made, it wouldnt be a flag.

Flag flag flag....sounds strange to say now.

Maybe click the link in the post I quoted.... nothing about the IRISH flag in it, or in my post.

Idiotic response is Idiotic.

I don't think it's super patriotism to get some basic details correct tbh

bluewolf wrote: »
    I don't think it's super patriotism to get some basic details correct tbh

No but its approaching it when you take offence at basic details not being correct and start crying about disrespect to the country and national identity.

Who did that?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89497344&postcount=64

And the people who thanked it and the people (including you) who were arguing against me when I said its just coloured cloth to be used for whatever purpose we want and there's no inherent disrespect unless intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Ireland abu.
    Ah I kinda like the way we don't (in general) get overly hung up over the finer details of flag protocol or take it too seriously, like the US for example, or the clusterf*ck up North.

That said, a group marketing themselves as a top-end hotel chain should be expected to get these things right. Anyway don't most flags contain eyelets on one side for hoisting on a flagpole, so no way an Irish one (as opposed to IC) could be put up incorrectly.